We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
1 review
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

After a very long flight from England and an overnight stay in Mexico City we arrived at Cinco Sentidos with great expectations and were not disappointed. We made the trip to Zihuatanejo to meet up with relatives from San Francisco and chose Cinco Sentidos after reading other people's reviews and I have to say we were a little sceptical but it was absolutely fabulous and more than we were hoping for. Araceli and Heiko were great hosts, our suite (room 3) was spotlessly clean, very spacious and well appointed. We particularly loved the plunge pool on the terrace which was much appreciated after the walk back from the beach in the afternoon sun and the breakfasts were amazing. I cannot recommend Cinco Sentidos highly enough - we are not a couple that usually return to the same place but Cinco Sentidos is an exception to our rule and somewhere we will definitely be returning, we only wish we lived a little closer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
204
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

If you like a large, clean, bright room, fabulous view, privacy, great location, beautiful garden/pool, yummy breakfast and delightful host/staff...this is the place to stay! When making reservations in January for our visit in March I mentioned that it would be my husbands birthday...we came back after being gone all day on his birthday to decorations and a delicious cake! Araceli is a sweetheart, thoughtful, gracious host and her vision for Cinco Sentidos was very well executed. I cannot say enough about how nice it was to be there!!

Room Tip: We stayed in #4 which is great but they all look to have the same great view and details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I have just finished our 5th visit to Cico Sentidos.
The consistency of excellence is something that Araceli & Heiko strive for and certainly it shows.
Every year there has been a small upgrade to the hotel. Nothing that you would think was needed, but something that always makes you think that the owners are constantly paying attention to your needs and overall experience.
The rooms are all comfortable and well appointed, the grounds immaculate.
Each room has an incredible view of the bay.
Heiko's breakfast's are a reason to look forward to waking up early on vacation.
Araceli's knowledge of the area can help you plan for days of excursions or you can opt to just hang by the pool and soak up the warm sun.
The beach and restaurants are just a short 5 minute walk away.
We are looking forward to returning for our 6th trip to CInco Sentidos!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugenioinSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I just returned from celebrating our wedding anniversary for 3 nights at Hotel Cinco Sentidos. Not really much else you can say about this place that hasn't already been captured in the stellar reviews, which are all very deserving. We chose this place based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and our familiarity with the location of the hotel. What we were surprised by was the sincere graciousness and friendliness of the hosts, Araceli and Heiko (as well as the rest of the staff). They do such an amazing job of making you feel welcome and part of the intimate Cinco Sentidos family but also respect your privacy. The breakfasts that Heiko serve up each morning are worth the stay alone. They are amazing! It was also my birthday while we were there and they went out of their way to celebrate my birthday which was not necessary but very much appreciated.

The hotel certainly caters to couples and with five rooms, the hotel is small enough that you are able to see other guests, particularly at breakfast or the common pool area, and exchange stories but also have a lot of privacy in your own suite. We stayed in the Grand Suite which was amazing but from speaking to other guests all the rooms are outstanding. Our room was large, clean, elegant and difficult to leave each day! We spent a lot of time in our plunge pool/hammock just relaxing or taking in the views. The hotel is perfect for honeymoons, anniversary's or just relaxing for a week and recharging.

The location of the hotel is also a huge plus! You are only a 5-10 minute walk down the hill to La Ropa beach which has all the activity you could need for entertainment during the day and evening. We would run each morning from the hotel down to the beach and back. One afternoon we rented stand up paddle boards (right in front of Paty's restaurant on La Ropa beach) and paddled over to Las Gatas beach for lunch (about a 25 minute paddle each way), which I would highly recommend. It cost us $400 pesos for 2 hours of rental for both boards. Had some great happy hours at Paty's bar on La Ropa beach and a good beachside dinner, immediately to the left of Paty's. You are also only a 15-20 minute walk into the heart of Zihuatanejo or a 5 minute cab ride. Either way, Araceli can make a number of great suggestions for places to try for lunch or dinner or basic necessities like locations of banks or grocery stores. We found a market that sold water and beer just outside of Paty's restaurant on La Ropa Beach that we would walk to and refill our refrigerator in our room. If you are in town on Sunday evening, make sure you head into town (Zihuatanejo) at the central square as all of the locals come out for celebration and include great street food and some form of local entertainment (music, dance, art, etc.). A really fun way to take in some of the culture and feel connected to the warm and friendly people of Zihuatanejo.

We will be back for sure and will recommend this hotel to our friends. The hotel and the rooms are amazing and you will not be disappointed (great value in my mind) but Araceli and Heiko are the real difference makers and are what you will really remember about your stay at their hotel. I can't recommend this hotel enough! Thank you again Araceli and Heiko!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Grand Suite on the top floor which was amazing. Did not see the other rooms but hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BornToTravel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
393 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our 25th year visiting the Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa area and we stayed at Hotel Cinco Sentidos for one week in January. We booked the Grand Suite and it was so beautiful that we did not want to leave our room. The Grand Suite is located at the top of the hotel and it has a large sitting area, small refrigerator, hammock, infinity plunge pool, sitting area with loungers and an umbrella. All of the above are open air but we never felt like it was too warm. The bedroom with king size bed and large flat screen television is located in a separate room with air conditioning. The bathroom was extremely large with a separate room for the toilet. The room was immaculate and well maintained. The owners, Araceli and Heiko, were so welcoming and accommodating. When I told Araceli my husband's birthday would be during our stay, they brought in a bottle of champagne for mimosas for everyone at breakfast, decorated our table and served a WONDERFUL chocolate cake for dessert. Words are inadequate to describe the breakfast each day at Hotel Cinco Sentidos. Each day we were served fruit, toast, pastries, coffee, juice or a special shake and main course. Heiko really goes out of his way with the presentation each morning and every breakfast was an absolute delight. Breakfast is served on the terrace near the pool any time between 8:30 a.m. and 10:30 a.m., so you don't feel like you have to eat at a designated time. They are happy to serve you whenever you arrive. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast and hearing all of the fun travel stories. The hotel is a short walk from LaRopa Beach. It is a somewhat steep walk down the road to the beach, but it is very doable. If you have a margarita or three on the beach, just flag a taxi at LaPerla and for only 30 pesos, you will be driven back to the door of the hotel. When you stay in the Grand Suite, you have a wonderful view of the bay and you feel like you are on top of the world. The only drawback to being on the top of the world is the 78 steps from the entrance of the hotel to get up there. If you can afford to splurge, definitely book the Grand Suite. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Splurge on the grand suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TahitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Everything about our experience was amaizng! Aracelli and Heiko are excellent host. The hotel is pristine, the grand suite is amazing, and the daily breakfast is delicious! We cannot wait to return to Cinco Sentidos and are evening considering tying the knot there! Also it is so close to the beach, the recommended restaurants are delicious, and the taxis are extremely fast. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the grand suite but from my understanding everyroom is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_A512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Cinco Sentidos is by far the most beautiful place we have every stayed and we've traveled quite a bit! Araceli and Heiko, the owners treat you like family. The suites are beautiful and immaculate, the infinity pool on your terrace and the large one in the center of the hotel are exquisite and the breakfasts are divine. The view is amazing and we sat for hours each night of our 2 week stay watching the sunset over the harbor. The staff was friendly and accommodated your every wish. We enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast, and had the large infinity pool to ourselves every afternoon after coming up from the beach. Although there were many things to do and places to go in Zihautanejo we were most interested in just relaxing by the ocean, walking the beach and lounging around in the pool. I've read the other reviews on Trip Advisor and they do a beautiful job of adding more detail, Sammy M captured it perfectly! We are looking forward to our next visit. Marcia and Whitey from Issaquah, WA, USA

Room Tip: All of the suites are beautiful. The Grand Suite would be a wonderful luxury, but all of the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#17 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Cuitlateca
Casa Cuitlateca
#24 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#46 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#36 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cinco Sentidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cinco Sentidos

Property: Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Address: Calle 8 | Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a hillside by la Ropa beach overlooking the very center of Zihuatanejo bay, Cinco Sentidos is a small boutique hotel ideal for those seeking tranquility. The private terraces of the suites feature infinity mini-pools, perfect for soaking up the spectacular vista. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cinco Sentidos Hotel
Cinco Sentidos Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing