We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Our stay in Villa Guadalupe was the first time in México. Friends have been in this beautiful cozy place and recomended to us.
They was short in their comments. This place is...fantastic!
Small and quiet property, intimate, enchanted decoration...ideal for couples in love!!
Our suite faces the ocean plenty!
The staff is friendly and always in care of us. Sofy, made our breakfast every morning..yummm! and refreshing the room..she is great..Daniel and all the other folks were so helpful!!
We are thinking in come for our anniversary!!

Dave and Sara.

We reccomend seriously

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2010

My wife and I traveled to Zihuatanejo for our honeymoon. We chose to stay at the Villa Guadalupe Hotel for a few reasons and thanks to its Tripadvisor comments. At first we were looking for a small boutique hotel.
With just three rooms Villa Guadalupe sounded like the ideal retreat. We also wanted to come and go as we pleased and the location was also important for us. From villa Guadalupe Playa la Ropa was no more than a five minutes walk. And it would take us about ten to fifteen minutes to walk into town.
The view from the hotel is also very nice. It faces Zihuatanejo bay's entrance atop a rocky point in the middle of the bay. It is a great observation point.
Of course we were also looking for a special place for our very special holiday we wanted to be sure to get a one in a lifetime experience. Villa Guadalupe was designed in a very local style with a great attention to details. Our Lilia Candelaria suite was amazing. It is really spacious has a private terrace for sunbathing and an incredible bathroom. We never expected to have such a large room. The suite is made in a very special way so one does not really feel being inside. Thanks to large windows and sliding doors it was more like sharing a moment with the Pacific Ocean and the fauna and flora from the bay.
Because of where it is built this hotel is divided in several levels. At the very bottom and closest to the sea are a couple of suites. Then the main area with a large terrace adjacent to the infinity pool is just above them. We had breakfast there every morning. It was so nice right after waking up to be able to enjoy your first meal of the day looking at the waves trying to see fishes or sea turtles. Going up there is another suite and on top of everything stands the restaurant Espuma.
It is a fusion restaurant designed in a more modern style with local influence. It gives the impression of being on a deck floating above the bay. The cuisine there is really good. We were surprised by the kind of experience the chef has and his ability to prepare dishes with very different flavors from far away places.
Our stay was really complete also thanks to the staff from Villa Guadalupe. We were overwhelmed by their kindness. They made us feel at home and were there when we needed a piece of advice. Our honeymoon was like a dream come true.

We felt very special while we were in Villa Guadalupe. This small hotel is nothing like a big resort. It offers an authentic charm from the region. It was even better than we thought it could be. It is perfect for couples. It could suit a larger party or a family if they booked the whole place.

I will also had Villa Guadalupe has a sister hotel just a couple of minutes away with a very good restaurant as well. It is set higher on the hillside. Also has a very interesting architecture and is a boutique hotel. We had dinner there a couple of times or we would just walk up for cocktails. The staff and chef are in the same vein as in Villa Guadalupe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMPKNONO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stay in Zihua every year (this was our 9th trip and we have stayed at Villa Guadalupe for the last 4 years). The location is almost unbeatable. One of my favorite places in the world is in the corner of the infinity pool watching the bay with the crashing surf below. My favorite time of day is breakfast on the terrace. The service has always been great but especially this last year with Daniel and his team who were fantastic and the breakfast service is exceptional. This year they have built the new restaurant Espuma above the rooms. We were worried about possible noise but found nothing more than the ambient music from the restaurant floating down to us. (The restaurant was fabulous, by the way.) Some folks might not be able to handle the many stairs and the 10 minute walk down to the beach, but it's not really a problem. This year I shot a little video showcasing the new restaurant and views. You can find the video on YouTube by searching for "Villa Guadalupe Surprise". Here's the direct link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnbwuFHU-uo

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZihuaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We carefully selected a special place for our 10 year anniversary and Tentaciones delivered the rest. Every aspect of this hotel is impressive, and the hotel staff took extraordinary care to ensure our every want and need was met.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsrainingoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in the Lilia Candelaria room for 4 nights. It was absolutely beautiful. The view from our room was amazing --even from the bathroom windows. We had a lot of space too which was nice. The private terrace was gorgeous. I loved the yellow seat cushions on the wooden chairs. Amazing flowers all around and in a variety of colors. The staff led my Daniel, could not have been more attentive or gracious. You have a to walk a bit if you actually want to go swimming at the beach (but the walk isn't bad) plus I'd much rather be high up for the view. This was probably my favorite vacation ever. Also we lucked out in that we were only people at villa guadalupe for the first three nights so we had the place all to ourselves. They have a fridge, sink, stove, and microwave in the common pool area so you can hit the supermarket and get food and drinks. The restaurant (Espuma) is good - wonderful appetizers, but the main courses were so, so. Great drinks! One of the best dirty martinis we ever had (who wuld have thought we'd find that in Mexico). Watching the sunset at Espuma is a must! On another night take a walk to Kau Kan right down the street for a delicious meal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This was one of the most relaxing and safe trips that we have been on.
We do not like resorts much, and prefer the off beaten places.
This is a gem in Zihuat. Rooms are slightly highly priced, but the value returns in the excellent service. Danielle and the hotel staff are impecible.
The restaurant in the hotel has amazing cuisine.
A little noisy with the renovations going on in an accompanying suite. However in Mexico you cannot go anywhere without some level of construction around.
Close to town, many restaurants, and although not beach front, a close walk.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajivejassal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The view here iof the bay was "The Best" to watch the boats go out in the morning and return in the afternoon was great. We had 2 families share the whole place and the service was the best. We have been to Zihuatanejo nine times and really enjoyed the hotel. Would highly recommend. Only drawback was the walk to the beach, but you need to walk off a few corona's anyway. Very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#23 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa Luz
La Villa Luz
#30 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#45 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#8 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guadalupe Hotel

Address: Carretera Escenica Playa la Ropa | Lote 4, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $136 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small cozy fishing village of Zihuatanejo is where you´ll find our quiet but unique panoramic hotel perched exactly above Zihuatanejo cliffs completly surrounded by the Mexican Pacific Ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing