We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have loved it for years (updated review with video)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stay in Zihua every year (this was our 9th trip and we have stayed at Villa Guadalupe for the last 4 years). The location is almost unbeatable. One of my favorite places in the world is in the corner of the infinity pool watching the bay with the crashing surf below. My favorite time of day is breakfast on the terrace. The service has always been great but especially this last year with Daniel and his team who were fantastic and the breakfast service is exceptional. This year they have built the new restaurant Espuma above the rooms. We were worried about possible noise but found nothing more than the ambient music from the restaurant floating down to us. (The restaurant was fabulous, by the way.) Some folks might not be able to handle the many stairs and the 10 minute walk down to the beach, but it's not really a problem. This year I shot a little video showcasing the new restaurant and views. You can find the video on YouTube by searching for "Villa Guadalupe Surprise". Here's the direct link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnbwuFHU-uo

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZihuaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

We carefully selected a special place for our 10 year anniversary and Tentaciones delivered the rest. Every aspect of this hotel is impressive, and the hotel staff took extraordinary care to ensure our every want and need was met.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsrainingoutside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed in the Lilia Candelaria room for 4 nights. It was absolutely beautiful. The view from our room was amazing --even from the bathroom windows. We had a lot of space too which was nice. The private terrace was gorgeous. I loved the yellow seat cushions on the wooden chairs. Amazing flowers all around and in a variety of colors. The staff led my Daniel, could not have been more attentive or gracious. You have a to walk a bit if you actually want to go swimming at the beach (but the walk isn't bad) plus I'd much rather be high up for the view. This was probably my favorite vacation ever. Also we lucked out in that we were only people at villa guadalupe for the first three nights so we had the place all to ourselves. They have a fridge, sink, stove, and microwave in the common pool area so you can hit the supermarket and get food and drinks. The restaurant (Espuma) is good - wonderful appetizers, but the main courses were so, so. Great drinks! One of the best dirty martinis we ever had (who wuld have thought we'd find that in Mexico). Watching the sunset at Espuma is a must! On another night take a walk to Kau Kan right down the street for a delicious meal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This was one of the most relaxing and safe trips that we have been on.
We do not like resorts much, and prefer the off beaten places.
This is a gem in Zihuat. Rooms are slightly highly priced, but the value returns in the excellent service. Danielle and the hotel staff are impecible.
The restaurant in the hotel has amazing cuisine.
A little noisy with the renovations going on in an accompanying suite. However in Mexico you cannot go anywhere without some level of construction around.
Close to town, many restaurants, and although not beach front, a close walk.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajivejassal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The view here iof the bay was "The Best" to watch the boats go out in the morning and return in the afternoon was great. We had 2 families share the whole place and the service was the best. We have been to Zihuatanejo nine times and really enjoyed the hotel. Would highly recommend. Only drawback was the walk to the beach, but you need to walk off a few corona's anyway. Very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We traveled to Zihua for a friend's wedding and were pleasantly surprised when we pulled up to Villa Guadalupe as we did not know what to expect.

We were immediately met by Octavio who made sure our every need was taken care of the entire trip (he even picked limes off the tree for our ceveza's!!).

This quaint hotel sits on the rock separating La Ropa and La Madera beaches. There are four rooms and a small communal pool area sitting overtop of the rocks and crashing waves. The pool area has gorgeous views, and is the perfect spot to eat your morning continental breakfast.

We called the Guadalupe our 'treehouse' as it has many steps leading down the side of the rock to the guest rooms. Ours was the lowest room, with our private terrace sitting over the rocks and crashing ocean waves... it was beautiful! The room was moderately sized, with a nicely updated shower. They did a great job keeping the Mexican charm while adding modern touches. I have to agree that the bed was a little stiff, but after a couple of margaritas you really didn't notice.

Most of our time was spent on the beach or in town and Villa Guadalupe is perfectly positioned in between the two. Be prepared to walk up and down some hills!

Make sure to also check out their sister hotel Tentaciones, which sits on the hill across the street from Guadalupe. Make a dinner reservation there - you won't be disappointed (by either the food or the spectacular views!)

Overall, our experience at Villa Guadelupe was wonderful. Octavio and all of the staff were absolutely fabulous. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAtrav8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had an amazing experience. There is not a bad room here. Upon arrival, we were greeting by Octavio as we walked in the gate and he immediately gave us a tour of our room and the hotel.

Breakfast every morning by the mail pool was a nice start to the day as we over-looked the bay. Besides that, we didn't spend much time at the hotel during the day, however for those who want to lounge, each room has it's own sunny / shaded lounge area in addition to the shaded pool area.

Air conditioned rooms also are a nice reprise from the hot days. Only complaint is that the beds are fairly stiff, so be ready for that.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LA_Traveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#22 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
148 reviews
3.1 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#32 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#38 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#44 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Villa Luz
La Villa Luz
#29 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Guadalupe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guadalupe Hotel

Address: Carretera Escenica Playa la Ropa | Lote 4, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $132 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Guadalupe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small cozy fishing village of Zihuatanejo is where you´ll find our quiet but unique panoramic hotel perched exactly above Zihuatanejo cliffs completly surrounded by the Mexican Pacific Ocean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Guadalupe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing