We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amuleto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amuleto
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

What an amazing place! Amuleto is pure paradise. The views, the food, the service are all 5 star. All of the reviews I read before booking Amuleto for my honeymoon were true. The rooms are gorgeous, we stayed in # 1. It has the most amazing view, the most comfortable bed, and the coolest outdoor shower and stone bathroom with a view of paradise as well! We absolutely loved our stay there.

The staff are extremely professional and sweet. And we never heard the word 'no' on our entire stay. No matter what we needed or wanted. It was like imagine what you want and then it's yours!

The food was amazing! Breakfast was an unbelievable 3 course experience every day.
And anything you wanted that wasn't on the menu could be whipped up as well.
Lunch and dinner at the hotel was also incredible. Everything about this hotel is 'above and beyond 5 star!'

Sadly, 5 days into our honeymoon my husband got very ill, and the hotel staff called a doctor to our room. Once we realized how sick he was, Ricardo and his wife drove us to the hospital and stayed with us for hours, translating and making sure we were comfortable and well taken care of. I don't know what I would have done without them! And Ricardo came back each morning we were there to check on us and make sure my husband was fine. I can never thank them enough for their kindness and support as such a crazy time! A few days of antibiotics and he was back on his feet in no time. But without their help it would have been horrible and a disastrous end to our honeymoon. As it turned out, we left feeling like we couldn't wait to come back!

And ask for Jose Luis if you want to tour around Zihua. He was our driver that Ricardo lined up for us to be picked up and dropped off from the airport. He has the only Towncar in Zihua. Such a nice guy, speaks perfect English and has amazing knowledge of the area and great things to see and do. He took us to a small fishing village that was incredible, and to a beautiful church in Petitlan, and to the local markets, etc., in the air conditioned town car with cold beverages. Nice. He also came to the hospital on the second day there and sat with me for a day translating with the nurses and even brought me lunch that his mother had made for me (chicken mole)! Honestly I have met the most incredible people on our honeymoon, who I know will remain friends long into the future.

Thanks to Bebe (one of the managers at Amuleto), Ricardo and his beautiful wife, and to Luis. Can't thank you enough for our beautiful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maury310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    3
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
291
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

When my wife and I arrived at Amuleto, we were overwhelmed by its serene beauty. We knew immediately that we had arrived at a magical place—no front-desk check-in, no rush to get us to our room, no busy guests coming and going through a lobby—and as we sipped our welcoming margaritas and looked at the breathtaking views of the bay and the beautiful grounds, we took a peaceful moment to reflect on how blessed we were to be there.

We stayed in the Palapa Suite, a spacious and luxurious retreat with a private plunge pool, a daybed with lots of comfy cushions, a sumptuous kingsize bed with crisp linens, an outdoor garden shower, and a wonderful view of the bay. We were fascinated by the architecture, the attention to detail in the stone- and woodwork, the interesting art pieces, and exquisite colonial furnishings. The main level of the suite remained shaded and cool throughout the day (there was always a pleasant Pacific breeze) which was ideal for my wife and me who can no longer take the intense heat and sun (like we did in our youth when we baked ourselves in the Mexican sol). Although the bedroom can be closed off and air-conditioned, we preferred to keep the area open to the fresh night air. For sun worshippers, the suite includes a completely private sun deck on a higher level with two loungers, a patio umbrella, a hammock, table and chairs, another outdoor shower, and another breathtaking, sweeping view of the bay and Zihuatanejo. We had an opportunity to see a few of the other suites (only six in the entire hotel); each is unique, but all are luxurious with fantastic vistas. The amazing views and the calm retreat from the busy-ness of other hotels, restaurants, and bars are the real advantages of staying at this hotel nestled in the hills, high above the ocean and the town.

At Amuleto, you are pampered in a romantic setting—divine bed (did I already mention the wonderful bed?) with a billowy mosquito-net canopy, the sensuous rain shower, lots of fluffy white towels, fragrant artisan amentities (soaps, shampoos, conditioners, body oils, etc.), nightly turn-down service, intricate floral decorations on the bed, and attention to every simple question and request. Adjacent to the bar is a library with plenty of current books by best-selling authors (you can leave your paperbacks and Kindle at home).

I cannot write this review without mentioning the staff. They are relaxed (unlike in some hotels where personnel seem stiff and overly formal), always gracious, polite, and friendly. They want your stay to be perfect , and they succeed! You feel that you are among friends—in fact, they become your friends. I am tempted to mention names, but then I risk leaving somebody out. So, if any of the staff at Amuleto is reading this, you need to know that we are so appreciative of the way you looked after us and that we will always have loving memories of you.

Another outstanding feature of Amuleto is the cuisine. By far, this is the best hotel food we have ever enjoyed. Breakfast is included (we had it brought to our suite each morning, but other guests preferred to eat in the outdoor restaurant). Unlike the typical buffet and continental breakfasts of other hotels, there is a large selection of juices, yogurts, fruits, and hot and cold items. Everyday there was a different special, which I always chose—the lime pancakes, huevos rancheros, and chilaquiles were delicious. We also enjoyed lunch and dinner at the hotel—why go elsewhere when you can enjoy food and service of such high calibre and at such reasonable prices? We highly recommend the restaurant, which is open to the public—a reservation is required for those not staying at the hotel. (I have submitted a separate review in TripAdvisor’s Restaurant section.)

We met Ricardo, the owner, the last morning of our stay. It was difficult to truly articulate our deep appreciation of our wonderful time at Amuleto. And then Bibiana, one of the staff who had looked after us so well, came to say “hasta luego”. My wife and I gave her a big tearful hug ... and then I think Ricardo understood how we felt.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Just returned from a fab stay at Amuleto. We spent the Christmas holiday there and throughly enjoyed ourselves. My wife's business is taking high end travellers on amazing veacations all over the world and Amuleto matched up to the best places. It is small , cozy and unique with amazing service and food from a staff that felt more like a family then staying at a hotel.
The owners Ricardo and Neglia, native Brazillians who have spend a great deal of time living in LA, were both there and not only were great hosts but have become good friends. Pablo, the manager, and Bibi were there for every need and the rest of the staff was highly attentive and very sweet. The rooms were absolutely charming and very well appointed and the views, giant terraces and plunge pools were breath taking. Hanging in the spectacular infinity pool wile watching the sunset with a delicious margarita was the cherry on top.
We loved everything about our visit and can't wait to get back.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

One guideline (a tip) is that we would warn anyone who cannot navigate steps not to go to Amuleto. There are numeous stone steps leading to rooms, pool, dining room and bar area and up to the driveway to catch a taxi. We found the steps for us to be user friendly and navigable, but one has to be very careful. The steps add to the charm, but be warned if you have any physical issues that limit your ability to get around easily.... think twice. This "boutique hotel" is the tops with perfect service, attentive staff, and all aspects rating an A+. We cannot say enough positives about our stay at Amuleto and will remember it always. The peace and quiet were refreshing and the view!! Well, we thought we were on the Riviera! Thanks for everything most sincerely.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We just returned from a four-night stay at Amuleto. Our only regret was that we could not stay longer. Owners Ricardo and Neglia were gracious hosts; the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. This was our third trip to Zihuatanejo and our first stay at Amuleto. (We had dinner at the hotel on a prior trip and, inspired by that experience, made plans to return for a stay. We will do so again.)

Truly a special place to stay while enjoying Zihuatanejo.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seven_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

We have stayed at Amuleto four times now, with each stay surpassing the last in terms of duration, enjoyment, service, warm, excellent staff, and value. We found it by way of Casa Que Canta, which we sought out in 2006, and which only had 4 days of our planned 7 days available. Rather than scrub the plan, we decided to spend the remaining 3 days at a small place called Amuleto. There we spent the remaining three days in a new room known at the time only as "Suite #1 (the other 5 have names). That did it for us. We have never had the slightest desire to return to CQC, or, for that matter, to vacation anywhere else, since that stay. Much is made of Zihuatanejo beaches, and beach access-hotels. Located near the top of a Southern cliff overlooking the Bay, Amuleto is a brief walk tfrom the beach, while at the same time offering magnificent, panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay and the Pacific. I assure you, we did not regret our selection, nor, in retrospect, do we view ourselves to have compromised in the least. Amuleto's staff defines, rather, re-defines service. They truly care about your experience - your comfort, needs, satisfaction, and happiness, and will do all they can to ensure them. For me, this is a separate story - 3 of the four trips have involved medical recovery of some type: shoulder, then back surgeries, and (successful) chemo. In each case, we had special needs and requests, some unique and personal, many way beyond the scope of conventional hospitality; and in each case Amuleto delivered flawlessly. The fourth, most recent stay was a very personal celebration of completed recovery for us. Though Ricardo and his team were unaware of these special circumstances, we knew we could count on them to come through for us, and they did, as always - flawlessly.

The details of our Amuleto experiences comprise a travel story well beyond the scope of this comment. In summary, my wife and I consider Amuleto to be our one and only destination (Susan's travel background is Europe/U.S., mine Far East/S. America/U.S. In addition, we have .75 and1 million domestic miles respectively) for tranquility, hide-away-like privacy, predictably ideal weather, and, of course, unparalleled value, all in a magnificent, romantic setting.

Not nearly enough said. Try Amuleto and see.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Our stay at Amuleto is difficult to put into words. We spent the most romantic, magical, tranquil, relaxing, luxurious 5 days and 4 nights of our lives at Amuleto. Typically we are traveling around in our RV…which is fun but no luxury involved! But we thought we’d splurge since we were eloping. The only time we left Amuleto was to get married on Playa la Ropa, and for dinner on Tuesday night, but only because Amuleto does not serve dinner on Tuesday nights.

We fell in love with Amuleto! We felt like we stumbled upon an enchanted hillside villa that no one else had discovered yet! The staff is impeccable. We were provided service without feeling like anyone was around. They come and go in a manner that is gracious, detailed, and unassuming. The grounds are so tranquil, very clean, and so interesting! The vegetation and decor seem to melt together and you have to really look hard to see each detail individually. The food is excellent and interesting! Our favorite meal of the day was breakfast…lime pancakes…yum! We stayed in Suite #1 which is superb; however each room is special in its own way. There is no lack of view in ANY of the rooms.

The best part of the stay was when we arrived back to our room at Amuleto from our ceremony on the beach. The staff had made a path of fresh flower petals from the door to the bed, and decorated our bed with “I love you” in fresh flower petals (the bed was decorated every night with fresh flower petals, but they went all out on our wedding night). They also set up a dining table surrounded by candles in our room for our own private wedding night dinner!

The owner, Neglia, is so gracious and easy going. We could tell she put every ounce of herself into Amuleto! We can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
1.0 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
5.9 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#18 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#7 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amuleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuleto

Property: Amuleto
Address: Calle Escenica La Ropa 9 | Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amuleto Hotel Zihuatanejo
Amuleto Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing