We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are considering it....”
Review of Amuleto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amuleto
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
1 review
“If you are considering it....”
Reviewed March 12, 2009

......look no further...just book it. Our stay at this hotel felt like a snapped tight white sheet with flower petals bouncing in the air. The intricate designs of floral art the staff left in our room were like undeserving gifts. The food was creative, fresh, intricate and each item on the menu stood out individually rather than as a group of certain types. Thankfully we ventured out of our comfort zone and ordered the beet mouse with tomato tapenade for dessert and it was amazing. The wine we had was local, wonderful, and affordable. The personalities of the owners comes through in details such as lighting and artwork hanging in the trees but the brightest night light of all is the reflection from the ocean below. This hotel is refreshingly secluded and removed from the noise of everyday life. Anything you need is not a problem.
We did not have a room with a pool due to the fact that we were a last minute guest but the infinity pool had so few people and such an incredible view that we did not mind. The owner’s presence and hospitality were, for us, a highlight of the trip. Their openness to communicate and share their personal experiences is the underlying tread that makes this hotel so unlike anything else you will find.
I feel confident in saying you won’t be disappointed with your stay at Amuleto.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    3
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
305
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2009

My husband and I were just married at Amuleto. We rented the entire place out and had our best friends there to celebrate with us over the course of 5 days. I can't imagine a more special place to be. Everything about Amuleto is perfection. The staff are like family. Everything is done to make you feel like you are at home. The only bad part is having to leave. We want everyone to get the lucky chance to experience staying at Amuleto - we just require them to have availability all the times we want to visit! Thank you Ricardo, Lucio, and everyone else for making this a dream wedding and vacation for us!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallieGrokenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2009

My husband and I are fresh off our second visit to Amuleto and it was just as perfect as we remembered from a year ago. After staying at Amuleto last January, we decided Zihuatanejo was the place we wanted to get married. Before we selected a location for our wedding, we knew that our honeymoon would be spent at Amuleto because it is such a special place.

When we arrived at Amuleto we were so happy to see Lucio when we walked through the front doors. We were a bit early, but our room was ready, which is a testament to the quality of their staff. The whole Amuleto family provides the highest level of service at all times and goes above and beyond to make every aspect of your vacation a world class luxury experience.

When we returned from dinner our first night we returned to our room eager to see the flower petal design on our bed. To our sweet surprise the flower petals spelled out "happy honeymoon" and there was a beautiful floral bouquet waiting for us in our suite. I could go on forever about the food, the service, the rooms with plunge pools and outdoor bathrooms, and the unforgettable sunsets. My personal favorite addition to the hotel is Neglia's boutique that sells beautiful resort clothing as well as jewelry (I bought a couple pieces before we snuck out).

If you want to stay in a truly unique and world class hotel in Zihuatanejo, Amuleto is the place for you. You will wish you could stay forever. We certainly do. Our sincere thanks to Ricardo, Neglia, Lucio and the whole Amuleto staff for another perfect vacation. We can't wait to see you again!!

Dean & Nicole

**On a side note, I read a review earlier that discussed the "noise" surrounding the property (the reviewer mentioned construction thru the end of the 2009) and we really must have been in another world because we did not hear a thing. As I wrote in my review last year, I suggest bringing an i-pod dock - Not because of noise, but only because I take music with me everywhere I ;)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolezahrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We have traveled extensively along the coasts and for the last 5 years we have called the Amuleto hotel in Zihuatanejo our home away from home. With only 7 rooms (5 with private dipping pools) and a full staff, Amuleto quickly becomes more than just a hotel.
There is a 5 star restaurant that serves dinner to the public, but for breakfast and lunch it is all yours to enjoy. There are several days that we choose to not leave the premises because there is simply no need to.
Breakfast is included with the room and the kitchen will always aim to please you, even if what you desire is not on their menu. The rooms are fabulous with bathrooms that are built into the surroundings. Your shower is outdoors and very exotic. Don't even get me started on the comfy beds!!
We have 3 children and go to Amuleto to have time away from soccer & baketball schedules (kids under 16 are not allowed unless with a special group arrangement) and always return home rejuvinated and looking forward to our next trip. This year we brought our neighbors with us and they were so impressed and enjoyed themselves so much that we all booked our 2010 trip before paying our bill!
If you are looking for total rest, beautiful surroundings, top notch service and ultimate privacy...book your reservation NOW!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Amuleto for our 25th anniversary. We have traveled world wide, and have stayed in many fine hotels, but Amuleto ranks at or very near the top of the list. The room was superb, with a great view of the bay and excellent outdoor spaces, including our own plunge pool (which could have been slightly warmer but nonetheless was very refreshing). We particularly liked the outdoor (but very private) shower and bathroom facilities. The staff was extremely friendly and the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMN_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Our first impression on entering Amuleto was one of being suspended in air, two hundred feet above Zihuatanejo Bay. There are only six guest suites in this charming boutique hotel, each oriented for a spectacular view and also total privacy. It is built into the side of the hill in an organic way, so the outdoor shower under the eaves of a palapa roof has a Garden of Eden feel to go with the view. The large overhead showerhead, by the way, is pure luxury.
The bathroom wrapped around front to a large patio complete with a decorative string hammock, a refreshing little pool and a pair of lounge chairs and parasol. The large room (#4) offered the option of air conditioning or a ceiling fan, which when we were there was sufficient. The mosquito netting was unnecessary, although reassuring. Two sets of screen doors open onto the bath and patio.
The gourmet restaurant has sophisticated interpretations of traditional Mexican dishes along with other continental fare, all of it imaginative. Try for example the dessert menu’s beet mousse with mango sorbet and apple preserves, a pink fantasy that we will order every time we return to Amuleto. There is seating for more than thirty on the dining patio, but the placement of the tables around the flagstone garden produces a sense of space.
Don’t miss the shop, a recent addition. Neglia, the co-owner from Brazil via LA is a successful fashion designer in her own right, distributing her apparel under the name of Ticci Tonneto and Ticci Cabana for the resort wear. Hers and other LA designers’ wares are on display in the little store, unique in the Zihatanejo/Ixtapa area, which has plenty of Mexican folk art but nothing like this. She offers costume jewelry, straw hats, cotton tops and dresses, sandals, bags and organic skin products.
We have been going to Zihuatanejo since the ‘70s when it was a fishing town of about 4,000. Today the whole area has a population of something like 80,000 and architectural gems like Amuleto make the growth seem to be an improvement. Attention to detail and a helpful and friendly staff made Amuleto a real highlight of our time in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Amuleto for the first week of February and it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. The hotel is beautiful and impeccably designed- and the views are just stunning, even from the treadmills in the small gym area! The photos on their website just dont do it justice. The staff was fantastic- the service was impeccable and friendly. Small things that make such a huge difference- we were going on from Zihua to a wedding in another part of Mexico and, when I asked for an iron for a wrap I needed to wear, they instead took it from me and returned it perfectly steamed and hung.

The rooms are stunning and the peace and quiet of our own deck and pool area was just fantastic. We were not disturbed at all by construction noise while we were there.

The food was excellent-we ate breakfast and lunch at Amuleto every day. The fruit in the morning was great, with some of the best pears I've had in a long time. The lime pancakes are to die for, and we are still missing the shrimp tacos with freshly made blue corn tortillas which we had for lunch most days. The Amuleto restaurant is one of the best in Zihua for dinner and we loved it. Fantastic fish and a great atmosphere.

We met the owners Ricardo and Neglia while we were there who are a lovely Brazillian couple- you can see how much of their personalities are reflected in the hotel. Neglia has a great little boutique which is tucked away in the hotel but has some beautiful things- ladies dont miss this when you go.

Our stay at Amuleto was just the right balance of luxury yet relaxed friendliness- perfect for us. We will most definitely be back- we cant wait.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amw11574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
1.0 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
549 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#21 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
778 reviews
3.8 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amuleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuleto

Property: Amuleto
Address: Calle Escenica La Ropa 9 | Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amuleto Hotel Zihuatanejo
Amuleto Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing