We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oceanfront in Mexico-beautiful, serene and close to distraction if you want it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oceanfront in Mexico-beautiful, serene and close to distraction if you want it.”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Situated on playa la ropa a fifteen minute walk from the little fishing village of Zihuatanejo, Club Intrawest is a beautifully designed resort. It has interest, well designed rooms and amenities, and a great restaurant. We went in shoulder season as we prefer less people and it's much easier to get a lounge chair on the beach! Overall the staff are very congenial and friendly. The food is very good, and there is void variety. We are members of club Intrawest and this was our second trip back there in as many years. Love it!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    128
    22
    19
    9
See reviews for
146
233
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Just got back last week. Everything was wonderful. We pre-purchased 70 credits each (4 in our party) and stayed in a 2 bedroom (705). The idea was to eat 3/4 days at resort and enjoy surrounding restaurants when we felt like it to supplement our meal plan. Please note - it is virtually impossible to eat 3 meals a day = you will be STUFFED. We typically ate twice a day and either skipped breakfast or lunch. The new credit system is good - Breakfast = 2 credits, Lunch = 2 Credits, Dinner (3 course) = 6 credits - credits work out to about $4 each so dinner at $24 is a huge bargain - the cost, if you walk in and pay cash for the same meal is around $75 USD. The food is wonderful and offers a good selection - I recommend the beef tenderloin :). Watch drinks - "rum" and coke is 1 credit - however "Baquardi" and Coke is 2 - same for Margarita vs "Special" Margareta. Regardless, we are average drinkers and average eaters and 70 credits was more than enough for a 7 day stay - the last day got a bit messy making sure we got rid of all our credits :(. We met some new friends and staff was VERY friendly and accommodating. Rooms are amazing - much nicer then the pictures. I would go back in a minute - in fact many of the people there were on their 7th trip to Zi which is a great testimony in itself. We only hit a couple of local restaurants - they were good but paled when compared to Zi. BTW - Zi is 100% safe - walked into town twice - in the dark. Very clean - Mexico wise, friendly merchants. Shopping district is large and well laid out - prices are "reasonable". Don't over shop at Mexicana Commercial (giant Mexican Walmart) - we threw alot away of food. We did buy some rum, pineapple juice and coconut milk, pre-mixed pina collates in blender, filled insulated coffee pot, took down to beach and were "discrete" - no problems :). Oh and if you get a chance to do the turtle release it was fun, even for adults! Didn't do any offsite excursions although we heard good things about the Sunset Cruise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Markamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We went Thanksgiving week and have 2 girls, aged 9 and 11. Easy arrival by cab from the airport, and the lobby is open air on a cliff looking over the Pacific. Wow. The room is more like a townhouse than a condo. The walls collapse turning the one bedroom into a giant deck with a dipping pool (cold hot tub), outside breakfast table.

We loved the resort, uncrowded, 85 degrees every day, wam water in the ocean. Very laid back, great staff, very friendly. Buy the credits, but just enough to eat a couple times in the restaurant. We ate dinner there once and it was very gourmet, fantastic, but we wanted to wander around and try different places. We had dinner in town one night (short walk, or $3 cab ride) and also there are great restaurants on the beach (The Tides for one). We had lunch by the pool every day and tried most of the menu, all quick and good.

It is best to use credit cards at the restaurants, pesos in he shops, and dollars when dealing with the beach attractions. We scuba'd (fun, but relatively dark waters) the guys running it out of Ixtapa were wonderful and really made sure we were safe and had a good time. They even brought along an underwater photographer. We jet skied, parasailed, all bargained for on the beach.

The resort is very relaxing, they do a nice job with a small kids club, which my girls loved. Lots of nice people and fun kids to play with. Very easy to get around, no bug or rodant troubles, not sure where those posts came from. Our unit was only about three flights of stairs to the pool, I hardly noticed the walk, and actually liked the little exercise. We walked the beach a few times as well.

Lots of beach recliners, great drinks at the pool. The most remarkable thing was how amazing the design of the resort is. Even the stairwells want you to pose and take a picture. The resort was built by artisans, with tremendous views from all over.

We are not late night people and loved the quietness of the place. They are building a condo building next door, but you could barely hear anything, I forgot they were still working. I guess the heavy work is done, becuase it is hardly noticable. I was worried needlessly about that.

Thanks to the resort to resort trading program, we own in Colorado and this was our first time trying it out. It worked as promsied, very easy, and they overdelivered on all counts.

You should not have any hesitations, this place is wonderful! Can't wait to go back (and we never go back anywhere twice), and thanks for taking care of those little sea turtle babies! These are good people.

Thanks all, we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Just spent a week here and can't wait to go back. Beautiful "vacation homes", all with amazing views of the bay. Not very crowded during our stay. The waiters, bartenders, and reception staff were all very welcoming, and knew our names after the first couple of days. We opted for the 3 day meal plan, which turned out to be a great decision. The food there is excellent, and the meal plan made it a great bargain. We ended up not eating any of the food we brought!
A few cautions: Not a place to go if you are looking for nightlife - Ixtapa would be a better choice. There are LOTS of stairs up and down the cliff, and no elevator. Although there is a shuttle available 24 hrs/day, you can't avoid the stairs completely. Only gripe -- no DVD players in the rooms. There is ongoing construction next door, but the only time we noticed was sitting at the pool. Got used to the (minimal) noise quickly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laveen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Aside from all the construction noise and the resort's intermitten power outages, we managed to have a great time. Without hesitation, we would return. Our whole family is in construction so the noise was not as distracting as the intermitten loss of power. Hubby spent hours watching demolition/remodel of neighboring resort/hotel. All in all, we traveled into town frequently to visit with other vacationers at the local cantinas! The humidity subsided somewhat about midweek. The private dip pool was a great escape in the evening. We purchased prepared food for the Commercial deli's and reheated in the micro as opposed to cooking. I would recommend talc powder and bug repellent if plan to spend lots of time outdoors in the evening! It is truly a great place to vacation. Staff are very accommodating to your needs. Hubby did alot to tipping because they really made us feel special. Also, remember that this resort has no elevators. We stayed on the third level (fine for us retirees) but I heard complaints for those who wanted great views from higher level rooms! Plenty of TV programs in English. To be fair to others, we rate the resort 4 stars because of the noise and power issues. Also, rumor has it that construction will continue for about two more years! So plan your trip to this resort accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 85339az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed at the resort with a baby and a young child. The 2 bedroom apartment is big and beautifully decorated with minimalistic yet warm mexican decor.
The pool area was nice and mostly empty since it was low season. There is a family pool and an adult pool; since they are adjacent but separate as a parent I did not feel too isolated from the adults nor guilty for my kids making noise.
The staff at the pool bar was attentive, but not pushy, which was nice. They gave us free tap water with ice, which is completely safe.
The beach is only steps from the pool. This is a beautiful long beach. The water is calm and clear with dolphins! Vendors can be annoying, if so just avoid them.
The food was the best discovery of this place. There was no pressure to buy the meal plan and we did not at first. After a couple of meals we realized that the food, mexican contemporary cuisine, was so good that we had no desire to go elsewhere for our meals.
I personally found the "mexican buffet night" less interesting and I think it is mostly done to give the chef and some staff a day off, but my husband enjoyed the option to try different things.
Massages are great as well as beach availability.
Overall a great place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaAlberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Staff was very helpful--and all seemed to have fairly good English skills. Beautiful swimming pool w/ both adult-only and kid-friendly sections. Walk down directly onto beach w/ several restaurants w/in easy walking distance. Cab to downtown 45-60 pesos--or a twenty minute walk. We walked to downtown and took a cab back up usually. Minor remodeling at the resort--but they waited until 10AM to do anything noisy. There's sig construction going on at the next property and the jackhammers got a little tiresome--but I don't think there's much the resort can do about that--at least they also didn't start until 9 or 10 AM.
We had a 2 BR exchange through RCI and our 'home' was spacious and spotless--just like the pics on the website.
Free dial-up Internet available--use their computers or plug in your own. There is wireless but it seemed to be an unsecured network.
Didn't eat at the resort restaurant much--food seemed average and relatively expensive.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#9 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
350 reviews
6.0 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#5 of 22 in Ixtapa
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#6 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Property: Embarc Zihuatanejo
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#5 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing