We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Pullman, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first trip and it couldn't have been better! We went in mid-September and little did we know that this is the slow season. Therefore a lot of activities are not operating and some stores/restaurants are closed. HOWEVER, that meant less people at our hotel and the staff focused on us!! They all took very good care of us and all knew us by our first names!

The hotel was great! We had the very top floor studio...220 steps to the pool each direction, but the views were well worth the climb and the room was very private. Our room had all the amenities we needed....a dip pool, lounge chairs, a small kitchen (we used the coffee pot and fridge) air conditioning, etc. It was perfect for when we needed to be inside and also allowed us to be outside to enjoy the wonderful views and weather!

The food was great and they also offer a Sunday brunch buffet. We ate breakfast each morning at Zi and tried almost everything on the menu! Great start to each day!

If you are a turtle lover...Club Intrawest operates a turtle sanctuary and does releases for the guests weekly, which was fun to see!

Its a short walk into town by way of Hotel Irma and walking along the beach. There are a few good restaurants downtown.

Would recommend--destination and resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mann1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    132
    22
    22
    9
See reviews for
156
240
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lelystad, Flevoland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is our first time in Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Me and my husband had a great time at Interwest. Our accomodation has 1 bedroom, 2 showers, 1 outside tub, a kitchen and a big balcony.

Upon arrival, Elroy welcomed us with a refreshing cold towel and cold bottle of water. The reception employee were kind and helpful. Marie, the manager, is friendly and makes us feel at home. She invited us to see the turtle release at the beach. This is a unique opportunity to witness how they do it. They releases the one day old turltes early in the evening, around 6-7pm. The first week of our stay were 22 and 2nd week were 70 turltles place on the delicate sand. Those cute little creature swims all by itself into the waves.

The white sandy beach of La Ropa is great. The water is warm and the current is smooth but sometimes high. We tried to visit the beach, Las Gatas, next to La Ropa but due to slippery rock we could' nt reach the beach by foot. It is also possible to take a water taxi but unfortunately, it was holiday and no available boat (16 september 2013)at that time plus the typhoon Manuel just left the place.

The food at Zi restaurant is superb. We enjoyed the sunday brunch at Zi restaurant. When you are looking for typical Mexicaan food try to eat at Zi restaurant. If you are looking for the best view in Zihuatanejo then you are on the right place, because it is the best lounge in the bay. The view is stunning.

We did snorkling and sunbathing at Ixtapa island. According to Flip, my husband, down under he saw a lot variety of fishes. Also we did birds and crocodile watching at Ixtapa. At the park we saw, blue heron, brown booby, white ibis, hummingbirds etc. Not only birds but also scorpion, snake, crocs and lots of leguaans. Up at the Ecological Park, a tarantula, crawling free at the garden, be aware!

September 15 and 16 was a feest in Mexico. They celebrate their independence days. On this days, a tropical depression hit Mexico. Manuel, the storm hit Mexico. It was raining non- stop for 3 days. The events in Zihuatanejo were cancelled. Despite of bad weather, people witness the speech of Pres. Enrique Pena Nieto at Mexico City.

For us, our vacation is done and have to go home. Great days at Zihuatanejo...viva Mexico.

Room Tip: Our room is located in front of the reception. We stayed from september 3 till september 17, 2013. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I have vacationed in Zihua on 2 occasions and can't wait to go back again. The resort staff is very friendly and the Mexican Buffet at Z's was great. The location of the resort is great. You can walk into town and have access to 3 different beaches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Superflyfisher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The location of the resort is on a steep side of a hill, could be a challenge for those less energetic my legs especially my calfs were suitably tested on the many stairs. The views are fantastic we enjoyed some great sunsets. Both rooms we had, studio and beach cottage were very good and we could not fault anything. The staff were also very good and met all of our needs and requirements. We only had B/fast on two occasion in the resort, one was the Sunday brunch which was a very good standard of service, food selection was also very good. There are plenty of places outside of the complex within walking distance to eat out, varying costs depending on your tastes. Marie the manager was fantastic, not just to us, to all customers. She makes everyone so welcome, and is keen to help and guide you to fit your needs/plans. All of the staff were very helpful and made us feel special. The beach is very close and there are plenty of activities to do if that is what you want, prices are reasonable too. Overall we had a great stay and we ail go back again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, will depend on your own needs and wishes. we had a studio for 3 days and then mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grant1417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The accommodations and staff were amazing we felt like royalty! The whole vacation was a great value. We ate at the resort and a few restaurants nearby and had spa treatments on the beach. We took a fishing excursion with Fernando and Christian, we caught many tuna and they had it prepared for us at a little restaurant across the bay. We bought some beautiful silver jewelry from Eric

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NKabasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful views, a definite workout to the beach, stairs, stairs and more stairs, rooms are fabu. The pool was nice and the beach is great, take the 25 peco shuttle everywhere, it stops right in front of intrawest

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redfish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a beautiful setting! We stayed there for a little over a week. The staff is very helpful and polite. The views from the rooms are spectacular! Be ready to do some exercice, as there are ALOT of steps in this resort!
My boyfriend and I stayed in a studio - which was plenty of space for two. Not much room for cooking - but just enough to make the basics. There are some very good restaurants in the area that are worth trying. The property and rooms are extremely clean. There is not much nightlife in this complex, so if you are looking for a place to party - this will not work for you.
Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loloduhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
778 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#34 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Property: Embarc Zihuatanejo
Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing