We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise with fantastic views”
Review of Embarc Zihuatanejo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This club is one of the top I have visited. As far as I can tell all the rooms have spectacular views of the bay. The building/units cascade down a steep hillside, making problems with some with disabilities, but the staff is great about providing golf cart service up and down, as there are no elevators. The staff is attentive, friendly and funny. Unfortunately,like several of the intrawest resorts we have visited the wifi is truly poor and unreliable. I think the club is behind in realizing how much many of us rely on our devices to keep up with news, etc.

Room Tip: All rooms have views. The suites have fantastic decks, and the dipping pools are only an added bene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraCelise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 537 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited Club Intrawest in mid March, 2013. First the rooms were beautiful, spacious and airy. We had a two bedroom suite near the Main Reception area. That being said there was always a cart to bring us to the pool/ beach. Everyone was very attentive and went out of their way to make the vacation enjoyable. The food plan was a little tricky to figure out. BEFORE we went we got a pre paid plan. We ordered two $660 plans as there were 4 of us. Two used one and two used the other. We had great meals. Although many mornings we didn't make breakfast as we just had coffee and Danish or cereal in the room and relaxed. Lunches at the Surf Club were enjoyable and dinners at the Z were delicious. You received a bill at the end of each meal as you would at a restaurant and they charged your account. The only problem was the pool bar. The happy hour was exactly that one hour and you waited 45 minutes to get your drinks. When you got your bill it was always wrong! One day they tried to charge me over 300 peso for a soda. They actually looked annoyed when I refused to sign it! They finally gave me a bill for 20 pesos. No tip that day. Speaking of tips...they are not charged to your food plan so if you don't leave cash you will get an extra bill checking out. I left cash fortunately. At the end of the vacation I ordered a $120 bottle of champagne to use up my food credits. Actually checked out with $100 in credit left. NO refunds. That was OK the vacation was wonderful but do check any bill before you sign it especially at the pool bar. Would love to go back again and this time get a $440 plan for two.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilgrim607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for a vacation that will meet all of your expectations, this is the place. This was our first visit to the hotel and it will not be the last. The facilities, the beach, the view, the rooms, the hospitality and most importantly, the staff will meet and exceed your expectations.

The beach is beautiful, no weeds, garbage or anything that is an eye sore. There are a few merchants but they are respectful and polite. It actually adds to the charm of the town.

We cannot say enough about the staff. They all go out of their way to meet your needs and will always go the extra mile to do that "something special".

One comment worth mentioning, their are many stairs as the hotel is build on a cliff. Depending on your room location, it can be quite the walk from the beach. They do have a shuttle if you need assistance so don't be timid to ask. I believe that the staff will almost carry you up if that is what took.

Highly recommended and worth the visit. Great value all around.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Room 106 (one bedroom, 2 bathrooms) has an exceptional view. I loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Zihuatanejo is an idyllic resort! Firstly, we booked a lookout suite which are the smallest rooms in the place so we were a bit apprehensive when we arrived. However, the staff were very friendly from the first moment (I'll mention Marie, Eloy, Jorge and Miguel) and our apprehension turned quickly to awe when we entered our room in the sky with a panoramic view of Zihuatanejo Bay. Just absolutely beautiful with a very large deck, dip pool, outdoor shower and incredibly romantic bedroom with the same view as the wall opened up to the terrace. We checked out several other one bedroom rooms and villas and they were all spectacular, even those with less of a view. Having said that, I'd certainly try to get a room with some ocean view given the beauty of the surroundings! The suites only have an electric grill so really suited for breakfasts only (although some friends did cook meals).

The resort is built on a cliff and you enter from the top so there's some walking up and down to the beach but we tested out the response to shuttle request (particularly coming up from the beach) and they were there within a minute or two every time! And I could name many of the staff because they are really friendly and engaging people (obviously some great hiring practices). There are two nice pools and a small gym, a main dinig room (for breakfast and dinner) and the Surf Club for lunch. While the beach is public, the resort has a private, roped off section and there was never any problem getting chairs in the shade or the sun. Very comfortable with continuous service and a smoothie bar right there.

The beach is beautiful (I'd guess a mile long or so) with fine sand, great for taking walks! The water is warm with some decent waves crashing onto the beach. The resort is on one end of Playa La Ropa and there are very few resorts on the beach or in the area (probably only four smallish low rise resort/hotels on the beach) and the rest is lined with restaurants which serve up some great seafood. This is really mainly a spot for locals with an 80/20 ratio of local tourists to foreign tourists. You really feel that you're in Mexico not at some nameless resort which could be anywhere. The locals are very friendly and family oriented. So many families out at the beach with picnics, playing in the sand. Having said that, the beach isn't crowded but all types of water activities are available right from the beach (except scuba diving where you have to go to main pier in Zihuatanejo, a 20 min walk). We felt totally safe everywhere and in fact, would definitely recommend eating out (cheaper and often better food) or taking advantage of other services on the beach (for instance, the massage tent just 50 paces from the resort offered better massages at less than half the price of the resort). We also went of some fishing and snorkeling trips with Fernando, one of the salesman just outside the resort and had a great time (although you will want a hamburger by the end of the week despite all the good freah fish!).

There some good snorkeling right outside the resort around the rock island and formation. A little tricky and poorer visibility when the surf is up but saw lots of interesting sea life ( full adult turtles, some very unusual angel fish, moray eels and large schools of tropical fish). You probably see the pelicans swoop in for a feeding frenzy when a large school of fish swims by. Not something to miss, they'll divebomb right beside you if the fish are there! We also saw a few sea snake swimmimg into the water from the beach and fairly uniquely, Playa La Ropa has a mangrove swamp bordering it at one end (just past the Arena restaurant over a little wood bridge) where you will find some full size ( read BIG) crocodiles and some large iguanas. Apparently, the sometimes wander on the beach in rainy season when the water is high enough! There are also several unusual birds in there.

Personally, I would skip Ixtapa Island (snorkeling there is tricky, very rocky and strong waves, saw several people with scrapes) since it not really that special. Manzanillo Beach is a better area for snorkeling (although not teaming with fish like the Caribbean side) BUT there are often whales! And big bloody humpback whales! The size of school busses and more! We saw a pod of 3 or 4 from 150 feet, takes your breath away.

Final note on an area for some improvement: Food. Particularly the dinner fare at Zi Restaurant. Firstly, the service is again great (I'll mention Francisco and Nick) but the food is average not great. And the desserts are just weird! Don't get me wrong, there are some nice dishes but it's really hit and miss.

Finally, several reviews mention mosquitos but we didn't notice any at all in early April (I might have seen one but can't be sure!)

Room Tip: Towers 4, 5, 6 and 8 have the most amazing views. The higher , the better! But none of these towers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo twice already, and i must say, i am always satisfied, i mean be reasonable we can't always get what we want with regards rooms, especially if we book late, but they always give you a choice, so we are always happy and besides we hardly spend time in our room anyways. I am positive if people book early they will get what they want. The surroundings is very safe as well, we even walk to the market and back, we went shopping and it was good, 75% of the time we cooked our own food too, which was good as well.
We also visited Ixtapa island , it is beautiful, the fishes come close to your feet when you are in the water, this is a place you must visit, the seafood is great, they bring the catch and you choose and they cook it on the spot for you.
I would highly recommend Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo ,

Room Tip: Book early,if its not possible, then make sure and check the rooms that are offered before you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriniMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all Zihua is highly enjoyable if you intend to kick back, enjoy fresh, unpretentious seafood, and warm ocean water. From the perspective of Cancun, it's Night&Day. Just what I expected. Loved it.
We stayed at Club Intrawest, swapping a timeshare, since we had read good reviews. And we were not surprised nor disappointed.
Great beach views and access. To an extent, secluded at edge of the beach. Rock formation allows for enjoyable snorkeling.
Food selection was limited, but tasty. Restaurant with creative take on Northamerican fare, with Mexican ingredients.
One drawback is lack of true kitchen, since electric grills don't cut it if cooking more sophisticated fare.
Not for party-people. Not for eaters of volume. Not for people who avoid some physical activity (the stairs are notorious).
Would definitively choose Zihua over Ixtapa on next trip, and again Club Intrawest.
Although make sure you do buy Insect Repelent...mosquitoes are ruthless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaybe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have "traded" with REI and others, utilizing our time share to visit Cabo, Cancun and the like. We enjoyed each experience but the visit to Club Intrawest - Zihuantanejo was truly relaxing, fun and memorable. Upon check in we found our accomodations were not to our liking, just kind of small and too close to the entrance. The Manager immediately took it upon himself to search for and find a nicer, roomier and more private accomodation. We are not members of Club Intrawest and but that didn't seem to matter, the staff was there to help and make our stay memorable. I can say, in the many other resorts we have stayed, none were even close to the service provided by this fine staff. From the manager to the porters to the maid and restaurant staff, excellent. The food was very good on site and the drinks quite strong (bring your drinking shoes if you want to really enjoy happy hour at the swim up bar). We read about the mosquitos, and there are some, but they are not a "problem" they are just there from time to time. We were able to enjoy the balcony of our room and be totally free to take in the sun at will, of course you had to be somewhat discreet so as to not offend sensitive persons, but overall, you could be as free to soak up the natural sun as you wish.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firedawg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.2 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa del Sol Resort
Villa del Sol Resort
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Zihuatanejo

Address: Camino Escenico a Playa la Ropa | Zona Hotelera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#9 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $268 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Embarc Zihuatanejo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Villas on the Mexican Riviera Club Intrawest is a private vacation club. From time to time, Guests are invited to stay at the Club on a nightly, cash basis. The Club is located on Playa la Ropa – the most exclusive beach in Zihuatanejo. Vacation Homes cascade down the hillside offering panoramic views of Zihuatanejo Bay. Enjoy casual dining by the infinity pool or in the restaurant under the giant palapa roof. Club Intrawest – Zihuatanejo reflects its spectacular oceanfront location in a stunning open-air design and innovative architecture. Terraces offer sweeping ocean views from every angle. Uniquely designed villas feature hand-cut tiles, wood furnishings and bright fabrics, all locally crafted to reflect the rich culture of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Embarc Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Zihuatanejo Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Intrawest Zihuatanejo
Intrawest Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing