We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Don Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

We just returned from our daughter's wedding in Zihuatanejo. We stayed at Casa Don Francisco. The staff was wonderful. They cooked us breakfast to order, greeted us with cold drinks, arranged taxis, and just made us feel incredibly welcome. Our room had a private infinity pool and beautiful view, so even at night we could enjoy cooling off under the stars. The beach is a very short walk away, and they reserved beach chairs and umbrellas down the beach in front of their restaurant. It is a beautiful place to relax at very affordable prices.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFSSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

The ambiance, rooms and tropical gardens were gorgeous. Erica and her staff made us feel like family visiting from out of town. With only 8 rooms available on site, they were able to provide a personal touch that one would not get at the bigger resorts. The price includes a full service custom breakfast on a common terrace with the other guests overlooking the ocean.

The sounds of the ocean were relaxing and in the mornings we were greeted by pleasant bird chirpings.

Located on a hill overlooking the ocean and seconds to the beach.

I would definitely return to this quaint and special hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfermom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madcity
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Although the property is unique, they certainly can not control their "neighbors". Unfortunately, this made our stay a challenge. A loud barking dog 3 nights in a row that everyone in all 8 rooms were up. Finally, a dog catcher was called and it was muzzled and removed. Then, of course, never travel during Holy Week. The guy next door rents out his bathrooms for a buck....long lines....and then he made a fire pit burning trees, stumps, etc and the lovely pool area was filled with noxious smoke, you had to either lock yourself in your room or leave the property. Although the place is adorable, the surrounding area is NOT!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wine&*vines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay St. Louis, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

Hotel Casa Don Francisco exceeded our expectations for a romantic belated honeymoon. The boutique style hotel was an absolute piece of paradise. The rustic architect featuring stucco, ornate tile work, thatched and tiled roofs, beautiful pools, indian relics and awesome wood craftsmanship added to the great views offered by this lush tropical escape. The room, El Ostion, was just awesome, views to die for, a truly romantic experience. The staff was extremely professional and accomodating; they truly took pride in their work and all of them had endless smiles that greated you every leg of the stay. My wife and I are counting the days until we can go back.

  • Liked — Views, Accomadations, Staff, Architecture
  • Disliked — stairs, need to be able to handle a little walking!!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BayKingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2008

OK...stop your search. You've found it. This is the place you have been looking for. I spent a day looking at many different hotels in Ixtapa and ZIhuatanejo and nothing can compare to the quality and care of Don Francisco.

The views? Unbelievable.

The staff? Professional and accomodating.

The grounds? Immaculately landscaped and well maintained.

Do yourself a favor, don't look any further. There is no need. You have found what you are looking for...and you'll love it.

I can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank worley333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

Hotel Casa Don Francisco is perfect in every way! The hotel itself is like a gorgeous treehouse. The views from every room are amazing... it sits on the side of a hill and is surrounded by the most gorgeous trees and landscaping. Everything is extremely well maintained. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and equipped with a mini-fridge, stereo, hair dryer, beach towels, and anything else you request. It is basically right on the beach... EXTREMELY easy to get there, but more difficult on the way back (up a hill and up several stairs)... but it is worth every single step.

What made CDF unbeatable was the staff... Erica, Lorena, Edith, Juan, and Uribe were helpful and accommodating... made us feel safe and secure... got us anything we needed... cooked us a delicious breakfast every morning. They totally exceeded our expections at every turn. You cannot get service like this at any resort in town.

We got married at La Perla and had our wedding party stay at CDF with us. None of us wanted to leave! We stayed at Casa Kau-Kan for our honeymoon, and it was gorgeous, but it did not compare to our experience at Casa Don. You will not be disappointed!

We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Liked — the staff!!!
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank geordang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

Most of what has been written about Hotel Casa Don Francisco regarding the positive is fully accurate. It was the main reason we thought that we would give it a try and were not disappointed. If you are looking to get away from the regular hotel scene, such as the all inclusive, then this is most likely the best choice for overall value. You will experience tranquility and solitude in a very appealing, authentic Mexican atmosphere. The hotel is relatively new, approximately five years old, and is well maintained by a friendly courteous staff. Hotel Casa Don Francisco is more like a boutique hotel with a walled compound feeling which helps create the quaint feeling one finds in an eight room hotel. We stayed four nights in the El Ostien and three nights in the Almeja. I believe that our overall preference was the El Ostien because of the views and the size of the room. The bathroom is very unique in that the open shower area provides a view of the ocean and is creatively tiled. I have never been in a bathroom like it. The deck was large, rustic, covered and provided a great view of the bay. While it did not have its own plunge pool the main pool was available to us in both the evening and during the daytime with really no one else using it. It is a bit of journey to take the long flight of stairs to the room but well worth it. The Almeja is slightly more affordable and less of a climb and has the plunge pool which was very nice for the period of time we were there for – end of July. The plunge pool was not heated and may be cool in the winter months. Below our room, the El Ostien, was the El Dorado and the Pez Vela. Both rooms are larger and come with their own larger plunge pool. The staff; Erica – owner/manager, Miriam, Raphael, were very helpful and attentive in providing suggestions on places to go or things to do and in taking care of their guests. Breakfast is included in your lodging fee and provides something for everyone from cereal and pastries to huevos rancheros. It starts at 9am and may be a little late for some, but based on their location it is a convenient amenity. It is the only meal that is served there. The mini fridge is stalked with beverages which we removed and replaced with our own drinks purchased at Commercial Mexicana which is a large all purpose retailer in Zhiua.

Cab rides into downtown Zhiuatanejo averaged $5 one way. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and banks in the downtown area which has more of a Mexican feel. The cab fare to Ixtapa is about $10. Ixtapa is created to cater to the North American/ European traveler. This is where you will find the all inclusive hotels and a livelier night life. We preferred the beaches in Ixtapa versus those of Zihua and especially enjoyed Isla Ixtapa. Well worth the trip and if you go, playa coral is less crowded with good early morning snorkeling.

The end of July was a good time to go for the rate discounts found in almost all hotels. The weather was good with the exception of one day of solid rain. It was the rainy season and the humidity did seem higher, but overall the weather was great. We both agreed that if we ever go back to Zihua/Ixtapa that we would split our time between both cities and that we would definitely spend three to four nights at Hotel Casa Don. The family also has some properties in Ixtapa to rent such as condos, but nothing like Hotel Casa Don. Overall the stay at Hotel Casa Don Francisco was a great experience and we both would recommend it to anyone staying in this area.

  • Liked — the room with its decor and view
  • Disliked — playa la ropa was not as nice as those the beaches in Ixtapa
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mapleleaf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
4.1 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#34 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
3.9 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#30 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#18 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#28 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#45 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Don Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Francisco

Property: Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n | Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA DON FRANCISCO,the one of the most exclusive small hotels on La Ropa Beach, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. With only eight rooms you can be sure we will give you our undivided attention. The hotel is surrounded by lush tropical exotic gardens. Relax with the sound of the ocean and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Don Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Don Francisco Hotel
Casa Don Francisco Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing