We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique luxury steps from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“boutique luxury steps from the beach”
Reviewed December 24, 2011

As mentioned in many of the other reviews, this small luxury hotel is very special.
All of the rooms have a walk out to a private patio and some have pools!. The views from the rooms are spectacular. Erica and her team personally prepare breakfast with a true mexican passion for food. They will also recommend daily activities and arrange reservations in Zihua's best restaurants. A must stay for visitors to Zihua peaceful and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirtravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stay at Casa Don every year for 5 to 6 weeks. . . this year I stayed in Pez Vela. The view was incredible and as usual the service and food were excellent. A delicious full breakfast is included in the price of the room. Mis amigas, Erica and her sister Edid do a wonderful job of making the stay memorable. I can't say enough about this special place. The previous reviews say it all. The same returning guests, year after year, is a testament to the quality you get at Casa Don for a price lower than comparable places to stay on La Ropa beach.

This year Erica made reservations for a whole group of us to go and have the Thursday 3:00 lunch/dinner at El Pueblito. Erica did the ordering for us and we were served a delicious traditional Mexican meal including my favorite tameles with pork in red sauce wrapped in banana leaves. My mouth waters thinking of them. The special "Chiles en Nogada", a traditional dish, was really good and worth the calories. The entertainment was wonderful, a singer /musician who had a beautiful voice. Our whole group had the best time laughing and eating. It was truly a fun experience that I won't forget anytime too soon.

Thanks to Edid, too, where I found a great dress for my son's rehearsal dinner by the Canadian designer, Joseph Ribkoff. She has ladies and children's clothes in El Centro that can't be found in other shops in town.

As always, I am already looking forward to my return trip in January 2012 at Casa Don.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenoritaClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We chose the Casa based on other reviews and we were absolutely not disappointed. The location (a few steps) to the Playa Ropa was great. Erica and her staff were kind, helpful and as good as any 5 star hotel. We stayed in El Ostion which has a fantastic view out over the Bay of Zihuatanejo. It is so peaceful and relaxing at this location that all we wanted to do was sit on the deck and read! However, the beach called so of course we went down to enjoy some cold beer and margaritas.
One of the other reviewers called the Casa a hidden gem in the hidden gem of Zihuatanejo. we could not agree more. This is absolutely the best of the many places we have visited in Mexico. Like most other places around the bay the Casa is built on a hillside and requires climbing some steps to get to the rooms. Ours, almost at the top, needed 72 steps but they are shallow to maybe about 60 normal ones. This could be a problem for some people. I am 68 and in reasonable shape and it was no problem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My husband and I made a last minute, quick trip to Z/H for business. We discovered Casa Don Francisco & sure glad we did! The location was perfect, room very nice & grounds amazing & the service even better. Just wished we couldn't have stayed longer. Thank you Erica & staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose081879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The staff is so kind and helpful you feel like they truly care about you and your stay. Erica, the owner is very protective of her guests you can tell she knows everyone so she keeps the bad guys out and gives you real advice.
Someone stays up until the last guest returns at night so we have an extra pair of eyes making sure we stay safe. Great place, and great people. We're leaving today and I'll be back as soon as I can afford another vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicanFoodMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

With only 8 suites, Erica and her staff can cater to each guest. My husband and I stayed here with another couple in two of their suites. The accommodations were GREAT with made to order breakfast daily. Each of our suites had their own pool, and the views were wonderful. The friendly staff assisted us with dinner and activity reservations, as well as arranged for taxis and currency exchange. The hotel exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay there again! We have already recommended it to our other friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenjenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The staff, (or rather I should say FAMILY), as that is how they make you feel, were Very friendly and pleasant! The rooms were gorgeous and very clean. The view from our own "infinity pool" was Incredible!! Erica and the staff all had such caring Spirits about them and they were doing everything possible to ensure that you had an enjoyable and worry-free stay at their hotel! Never before have we stayed at an accommodation in a foreign country and felt so safe and secure. We never worried about our dive gear or other valuables while we were away from the room! You can't find a better value for your money and "peace of mind" than this hotel. We will definitely be returning!! STAY HERE AND YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!! STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE AND WHO KNOWS WHAT YOU WILL GET!! JUST READ ALL OF THE REVIEWS!! Thank you again Erica!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Luz
Villa Luz
#31 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
17 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#32 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
51 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
36 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#19 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Don Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Don Francisco

Property: Hotel Casa Don Francisco
Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n | Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL CASA DON FRANCISCO,the one of the most exclusive small hotels on La Ropa Beach, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. With only eight rooms you can be sure we will give you our undivided attention. The hotel is surrounded by lush tropical exotic gardens. Relax with the sound of the ocean and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Don Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Don Francisco Hotel
Casa Don Francisco Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing