We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for pick up-take home”
Review of Fonda Dona Licha

Fonda Dona Licha
Ranked #59 of 324 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for pick up-take home”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is our favourite place to pick-up and take home. The chicken is always moist and delicious and the take-out always includes all the condiments and rice. It's fast, so you can just drop in and be on your way very quickly. Prices are very affordable. A must for something quick to take home and eat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Authentic regional home cooking”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have visited this restaurant more than 20 times while staying in Zihuatanejo and it never fails to satisfy. Fresh home cooked meals is what they offer. I don't think you can get better than that.
The food is consistantly excellant, I love the handmade blue corn tortillas. They are underneath the other delicious corn tortillas in the basket.There are families that eat here who are Mexican. I love the Pozole, The Dorado with garlic is really special. The rotisserie chicken with spaghetti is a great take home convieniece and delicioso. I haven't eaten anything I didn't like. Every server is attentive. The price is right. Bravo!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thurday is Pozole Day!!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I love this restaurant. Slowly working myself through the menu. This should be the standard for which you judge Mexican restaurants in Zihuatanejo. See how many Mexican families eat there. Pozole and Botanos are the best. Chiles rellenos are marvelous. Ditto the mole. Very clean place and attentive servers. Stops serving after 6 p.m.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sandman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is it for authentic Mexican! Great food. We go for breakfast everytime we are down. Everything is wonderful and SUPER priced! After you are done, stroll on down to the market and buy your lunch for later!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetSusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LICHA S, Gerente at Fonda Dona Licha, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por su preferencia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“tasty authentic mexican food”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Surprised there arent more reviews for Dona Licha...it has always been the place we look forward to returning to for breakfast when we come to Zihua. My husband thinks they have the best chilequiles in town (tortilla chips cooked in red or green salsa, topped with fried eggs or chicken or queso). I am addicted to molletes (soft white bread covered in refried beans and cheese). The salsas and side of beans served with every order iet you doctor up your meal as you wish. Most tables seem to be filled by locals, but theres always a few other tourist/expats too. Very reasonable prices! Easiest way to find it is to head inland on Paseo del Palmar from the Kyoto roundabout, take a left on Los Cocos, and it's just a block or so up on your left. Only open for breakfast and lunch (lunch seems to be roasted chicken plates, havent tried it though)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank contactcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda Dona Licha also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Fonda Dona Licha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing