We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking experience”

El Suspiro Restaurante
Ranked #49 of 320 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Novato, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having been here last year, we decided to check it out and see if El Suspiro had maintained it's 5 Star rating. Well, it has. Celebrated our 46th Anniversary there and truly enjoyed the evening. We shared a Caesar salad that was prepared table side while we enjoyed the spectacular view of Zihua Bay. Though Camerones con Ajo was not on the menu, the waiter assured us the chef would be happy to accommodate. I ordered the Risotto with Shrimp. It was the best I have ever eaten. After main course the waiter surprised us with a wonderful Tiramisu like dessert with a candle and chocolate sauce writing wishing us a Happy 46th Anniversary, just a wonderful evening overall. This is not the cheapest establishment, but it is certainly worth the price. We are going back in a couple of days with new friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Wids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Coconut Shrimp with a View.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

After reading about the quality of this restaurant and the proximity to our hotel we decided to try it out. The restaurant is located under a large shade structure that is attached to the side of a hill with great view overlooking the Zihuatanejo Bay. Some friends of our dined with us and the food service was very friendly but a bit slow but not a problem because it was such a nice location. Just about everyone ordered the coconut shrimp and the presentation was outstanding and flavorful. I ordered a shrimp and chicken kabob and when it arrived it was a shrimp and steak kabob. Everything was great until it came time to pay the bill and when we tried to pay with a credit card the wait staff insisted that their card machine wasn't working. My advise it to bring cash to this place to avoid the hassle.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chehalis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset, good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Pacifica Grand and this restaurant is part of their facility. We had a week of all inclusive so ate here at least 5 nights. The service and the people are amazing, Breakfast menu and dinner menu are limited. Breakfast is reasonably priced when not buffet, Dinner is very expensive, very good but costly. I think our favorite was the Norweigen Salmon and Beef Filet, but each was like $25.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
160 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Presentation Gorgeous, Food OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The view is perhaps the best in Zihua. The service was very nice, Armando was wonderful! Food came out looking amazing and some dishes were good but overall overpriced for the quality. Duck was extremely overcooked and was not served as described on the menu. Garlic shrimp were good but not as good as other places in Zihua for half the price. They brought us dessert for our anniversary which was very thoughtful! Here you pay for the view. It's worth going to for the setting but keep your expectations low. I don't think we'd go back except maybe for a drink or dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelincritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Service and view excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a small restaurant in the hills above the bay of Zihuatanejo. No one can beat the view and as the night falls, lights come on in the town. Remember to bring a jacket in April. Very good service. Trying to excel by offering a predominantly italian menu in Mexico, however, is a difficult task. Clearly the chef has not spent enough time in Italy. The food was good, but it would have been more successful perhaps if they had made an explicit effort to fuse mexican and Mediterranean (rather than being predominantly european). We would go back though, the view is worth a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Suspiro Restaurante also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Suspiro Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing