We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miguel and family will leave your tastebuds in decadent frenzy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galeanas

Galeanas
Ranked #189 of 317 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
Restaurant details
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Miguel and family will leave your tastebuds in decadent frenzy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been eating Miguel's seafood creations for several years, both at his former location and now his beachfront establishment, and I've never been disappointed. His margaritas are simply the best I've ever had- authentic Mexican, smooth and intoxicatingly refreshing after a day on the water. His coconut shrimp is what I now use as a comparison to all others, none which have approached the flavor and freshness of his. And the location, which at first may seem a bit like "tourist trap row," is perfect for digging your feet in the sand and listening to the ocean lap at the beach. His simple setup of chairs and tables in the sand is humble, furthering the zen-like vibe one feels after fully settling into this relatively affected, authentic Mexican fishing village. The menu is extensive, but stick with a fresh-caught fish prepared at his suggestion. The prices, as with most "local" restaurants, are very reasonable. Seeing the entire family all working together also enhances that feeling of REAL Mexico, which makes dining with Miguel all the more enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
209 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beach location, yummy reasonable food, great drinks and Jimmy Mamou, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Every dish we ordered here was great! The chicken quesadillas were marvelously flavorful, the salsa perfectly balanced, the grilled calamari was tender and with just the right amount of garlic, and okay, yes, one of our party had a hamburger (!) and he proclaimed it a winner! All the staff here is attentive and pleasant. And for anyone who's been lucky enough to enjoy the jazz and R&B performances of Jimmy Mamou over many years around Zihuatanejo, you'll be pleased to know he's playing here Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays right now! We even helped him celebrate his 75th birthday (I swear he still looks 55)! Missing the very pleasant long-time waiter David from his days at Bandido's? After a brief sojourn away from Zihuat, he's back as the bartender here at Galeanas, and created magical palomas and margaritas for us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamRealMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New location, new look same wonderful family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been dining at this restaurant over the past 4 years and have always enjoyed.
The tortillia soup is magnificent.
The restaurant has moved to a new location, right on the beach, spacious seating , very clean and lots of music.
The owner Miguel and his family run this establishment and he is always so very Mucho Gusto, happy to see old and new customers.
Give it a try you will not be disappointed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank momaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to sit back, have a margarita, and enjoy the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the first restaurant on the south end of playa madera. We came here our first and last nights in Zihua and greatly enjoyed it. The prices are very good, the drinks are large, the food is tasty, and the people are incredibly friendly. The ceviche is amazing! I ate the entire plate by myself. The fish is fresh and yummy, but the coconut shrimp is a little too sweet unless you drown it in lime juice. We'll absolutely be back :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galeanas also viewed

Playa Blanca, Zihuatanejo
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Galeanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing