We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning view and open-air living”
other travelers have booked this property
Penthouse huge living room with vaulted ceilings...imagine cocktails at sunset.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penthouse huge living room with vaulted ceilings...imagine cocktails at sunset.
Dining in the open air. The view from the top of the world
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Penthouse huge living room with vaulted ceilings...imagine cocktails at sunset.
Dining in the open air.
The view from the top of the world
Private Pool. Let me say that again...private pool! In your Penthouse.
Watch the world slowly turning from open air living room.
Chaise lounge, hammock or couch...great places to relax with friends.
Are hammocks your thing?
A cook's kitchen
The kitchen is huge and gorgeous and functional .
Two king sized en-suite bedrooms with A/C
Every detail is a sensual delight
Ample closet space for all your things: unpack and kick back
Every room is perfect in this spacious penthouse.
Marble, tile and mexican details throughout.
Three bathrooms, each with Mexican decor.
Third bedroom or study.
You might never want to leave...
Two infinity pools at Casa que Ve al Mar.
Gorgeous infinity pools overlooking the bay.
Wow. Look at htese pools!
Sunset is a perfect time for a swim.
Two infinity pools at Casa que Ve al Mar.
Playa La Ropa, an arc of glistening white sand
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Zihuatanejo, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurie_St...
Snoqualmie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning view and open-air living”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment you step off the elevator into the common living area, the panoramic view of the Entire Zihuatanejo Bay takes your breath away. I arrived at the condo a few days ahead of the rest of my family and was immediately shown to the PH, given the keys and a gorgeous floral arrangement and introduced to Sonia and Eliezer, the housekeeper and property manager. Because we would be using the TV room as the 3rd bedroom, Sonia even asked if we wanted the two twin sofa beds made into a single queen bed! I wasn't even aware that it was possible and it settled the issue of which couple would have to take that room. It was also very fun to listen to the responses of my family as they stepped off the elevator 3 days later! Lots of OMG's, Wow's, and Are you kidding's....
The kitchen was well stocked with anything we needed for food prep, even though we only ate breakfast at the unit. I was able to walk down the driveway and often get a taxi within seconds. After going to the Commercial Grocery, another resident kindly offered to help carry my bags to the elevator. Everyone we met around the pool was friendly and welcoming too!. The housecleaning was thorough and flexible based on how often you wanted Sonia to come.
Because of the open air living and the fact that the building is up against the undeveloped hillside, we did experience some of the critters mentioned in the owners' reference book for their renters. Even though Sonia kept the place immaculate, ants had to be kept at bay by sealing all food in Tupperware or keeping it in the fridge. Bats were kept away for the most part by leaving a light on at night. If I had to find one thing to take issue with, it would be the extent of droppings found each day which we assumed were from mice. I had to clean them up and sanitize the kitchen counters each morning before the rest of the family could start breakfast preparation. Also, we lined the bed in the 3rd BR with aluminum foil to keep the mice from leaving presents on the bed. After a few days of us all being there, they did seem to stay away more often than not.
Overall, this place was amazing. The location is great - walking distance to the beach and many restaurants (depending on your age and physical ability). The property is gorgeous. If booking for a larger party we would definitely consider booking this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2017
Wow, the critters seem to have an affection for you! I had no idea that there had been such an invasion: on the other hand it is part of the whole tropical/open air experience , which I personally would not trade for a hermetically sealed hotel room.

Thank you for writing such a great review. I too think the Zihua Penthouse is worthy of many WOW's. Glad your family thought so too!

Thanks for being such great guests and please join us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_PDX1
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Penthouse”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is truly a fabulous penthouse, with wonderful (stunning)l views from each room, especially from the open air living space (family room, kitchen, and eating area). While the pictures shown are great, we found the penthouse to be even more beautifull. The unit has all the comforts of home.

Harriet was absolutely wonderful in helping wtih the reservation, answering all questions and facility our stay.

I look forward to coming back and staying here again.

One concern to consider: This resort is in the hills. Walking anywhere from the resort wil involve steps and/or hills. We were fine with this, but for some this my be a concern.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Dear Bill_PDX1,
Thank you so much for your five star review! We are always thrilled when folks have a good time: we try very hard to make the vacation easy, comfortable and pleasurable. With that in mind we tried supply all the comforts of home plus spectacular views and a different pool!
Thank you and please do come stay with us again.
Kind regards,
HARRIET
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinWW
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is the place to rent”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

From beginning to end, this was the perfect rental. The leasing manager, Harriet, was incredibly fast to respond, easy to work with and made the process very simple. This penthouse has it all - WiFi, fully loaded kitchen, laundry facilities, dipping pool in the living room, secure elevator access, three comfortable bedrooms and baths, two infinity pools on property but above it all, absolutely stunning views. There would be days that we didn't leave the penthouse because the views are so spectacular. The photos you see don't even do it justice. It's difficult to show how incredible the views and unit are.

This unit is within easy walking distance to the beautiful Playa La Ropa (8 minutes), downtown Zihuatanejo (15 minutes) and numerous restaurants. If you'd rather, you can take a taxi but it's fun to explore too.

Eliezer, concierge, and Sonia, housekeeping, are both wonderful and on staff full-time. So helpful and friendly. Eliezer even stocked up the fridge with our favorite foods prior to our arrival so we were ready to go as soon as we stepped in the door.

We have booked vacation rentals for years and this one easily tops our list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: WiFi at the infinity pool on the property didn't exist
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2016
RobinWW,
Thank you so much for styaing with us. I am very happy that your last minute change of plans allowed you to stay with us. It was serendipity. We agree that the photos just cannot take in the sweep and expanse of the views and just how comfortable such an elegant large condo can feel.

We are blessed with an excellent staff.

Harriet
Booking Manager

Thanks for taking the time to let other travelers know just how great the Zihua Penthouse is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The condo, the view, closeness to La Ropa beach and Zihuatanejo, taxi's at your door usually before you can get downstairs, Concierge Eliezer taking excellent care of his guests, daily maid service by Sonia who was superb, what is not to like.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quick walk to the beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2016
Thank you Keith! Indeed! What is not to like?
Thanks for letting other folks know about how great the Zihua Penthouse is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieKayC
Covington, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect View, Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was the most beautiful condo I've stayed in. Being from the Pacific Northwest, we were a bit worried about the open air living area and that it would be to hot for us. It turned out to be perfect, the breeze from up that high cooled us more than any other location in Zihuatanejo. The condo was amazing - a huge space for 2 couples and it provided everything we needed. We enjoyed using the small private infinity pool from sun-up to after sun-down. The only downside is that it was about a 5-10 minute steep walk to the beach; but it would have cost significantly more to have stayed in a place as nice with as good a view and been closer to the beach. I would highly recommend this condo to any adult group looking to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Private pool, great view, open air living room
Liked least: 5 minute walk from the beach
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
We could not agree more about the open air living room! That is tropical living at its best, with the high ceilings to catch the breeze off the ocean, what could be better? We are happy that you all had such an amazing and relaxing trip and hope to see you again soon.

Harriet,
Booking manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2014
Hi Jenny-

Wow. Your photos are fantastic and make me want to be back in Zihua right now-oh, wait- I AM going on Sunday! Lucky me! It is truly a place of magic. it keeps drawing us back under its spell.

Thank you so much for your great review. I do think the kitchen is better equipped than many home kitchens. Patricia, the owner, loves to cook and it shows. And please, let me know if there are any things I should add to my guide: I try, but it is hard to keep up to date.

And thank you for being such terrific guests. We take great pride in helping folks have the best vacation experience.

Warm regards,
Harriet,
Booking Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria B.C.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 23, 2014
Carol and Cameron-
Thanks for being such great guests! We appreciate the feedback, as we try to make improvements to the guest experience. I also think that Casa que Ve al Mar has the most beautiful grounds and the best pool!

Harriet
Booking manager

From the owners:

Patricia and I are delighted you had a great time. You obviously share our reading tastes!!
We try to incorporate the suggestions of our guests - they have certainly increased our enjoyment
of the Penthouse. We agree that flowers are good! We hope our future guests continue to enjoy the
Penthouse as much as we do.

Robert & Patricia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing