We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great service and perfect location”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My wife, 3 year-old daughter and I just spent 3 days at Brisas Del Mar in Zihua before spending a couple more days in Troncones.

From the moment, we walked into the lobby, we were blown away by the view, outstanding service and impeccably clean hotel. Everything we needed and more and a great location to get into Zihua or head over to Playa Ropa.

Our daughter loved the talking parrot and wanted to say hello to her every morning. We ordered room servie for breakfast two of the morning and also at at the restaurant for dinner one evening. LOVED the food. Excellent and a good value.

Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return if we find ourselves in Zihua again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 557 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2010

We just returned from our first trip to Zihuatanejo and stayed at the Brisas Del Mar for a week. We were blown away by the view of the Bay as we walked in the door! The setting is gorgeous and is close to everything on or near Playa Madera and downtown shopping and restaurants. Everything else is just a short cab ride away. The staff was extremely accomodating and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They called cabs for us and made sure to tell the drivers where we were going and what to charge us so we wouldn't get ripped off. The pool and palapa area were very clean, all walkways were sweeped and washed down regularly. There was even a daily towel "animal" with fresh flowers on our bed and nightly turn down service with coconut candies. The restaurant was fabulous for lunch and dinner and had again, very attentive wait staff. Our favorite find (only one other couple ever came there) was the sunset bar. The sweetest older gentleman served us our vino blanco or martini while we watched the most breath-taking sunsets. What a view! There is also free internet in a computer room, ping pong, a workout room and spa services - they have it all here! With any foreign hotel, despite the wonderful things there are quirks and you just have to find them charming: You can't use the sink water for brushing your teeth - it's non-potable. They do provide you with bottled water in your room. There are many, many steps - at least 6 flights for us just to get to the street level every morning for breakfast. Only 2 flights down to the pool, beach and restaurant for us. The steps are angled funny on certain flights so you need to take it easy and hold the railing. Don't look for right angles or finish carpenter work in your room - the worker responsible for painting, tile work, stucco was, shall we say, "creative". The bathroom had a "window" with a plantation shutter (kept closed) over the toilet with the outdoor hallway directly on the other side. You learn to whisper. The bed, although being a King, left my toes dangling over the edge (I'm 5'9"), but it was a good mattress and comfortable regardless. With all that being said, it was CHARMING. Neat, clean, and perfectly charming. We would certainly come back to the Brisas Del Mar!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSnorkelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This was our third trip to Brisas Del Mar and every time we stay at Brisas del Mar, we fall in love with it even more. The service is incredible and everyone is so accommodating and friendly. We have eaten at almost all of the restaurants in Zihua - high and low and decided that Bistro del mar is one of our favorites - the ceviches and shrimp tacos are a fave! The rooms are pretty standard, but very quaint and all with gorgeous views of the bay. The value is incredible! The staff do a great job with the pool area, but you also have a nice beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Brisas Del Mar is a beautiful boutique hotel in the Bay of Zihuatenejo. It sits right on the ocean's edge built on the slope of a hill. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with a great view of the bay, and a hammock on the balcony. This hotel is not for someone with a physical disability or parents with small children as there a lot of up and down steps to get around the hotel (I counted 62 from our room to the pool). The restaurant and the lobby bar were excellent and I can't say enough about the staff. Diana at the front desk and Federico at the bar were absolutely the best.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcombers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

I based my decision to stay here from prior trip advisor reviews. I was looking for location (beach access), cleanliness, views, food, and PRICE. I believe Brisas Del Mar incorporates all of these splendidly!
I booked it off my own travel website, and then had to change the dates of our stay due to the swine flu outbreak. Due to this change, my husband and my parents and I had the opportunity to stay in the 2 bedroom suite the first night. We loved it, but also loved our respective rooms once we moved. The pool area is very clean, as is the beachfront area (that is roped off for hotel guests). The restaurant right on the beach is also quite lovely with good food and drinks, though you can find less expensive food just a short 10 minute walk into town. The staff is extremely friendly, and will arrange cabs for you upon request. They even exchange money at the front desk, and they have two computers in the lobby area with free internet! It is old world Mexican charm with some added touches of new! Lots of stairs to get down to the pool/beach, so you best be in decent shape to stay here. My Mom had a stroke 3 years ago, and used the stairs as some serious physical therapy.
The balconies on each room have breathtaking views of the bay. We really enjoyed our stay here! I am sure there are other more "ritzy" hotels in this area--on Playa Ropa (a slightly cleaner beach area), but we loved the charm associated with Brisas Del Mar.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldmyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We didn't stay in one of the main suites as the hotel was full and took a room with living room in the Casitas across the road. It was comfortable enough - HOWEVER - the facilities at the hotel more than made up for it. Wonderful ambience and close to everything. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My husband and I spent the first few days of our honeymoon at this hotel. The views are sensation and our big, beautiful room was all we hoped for. The service was excellent and little touches made it a very special stay. The food in the restaurant is delicious especially the freshly made bread basket each morning - yummo! The location is close to town and lots of restaurants and a 10 to 15 minute walk to Playa La Ropa. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sparklita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#8 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#41 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#35 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $122 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing