We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Setting”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Another delightful stay at this boutique hotel. Staff always greets with a smile and so very attentive. We were traveling with our son, daughter in law and 16 month old grand daughter and we were welcomed every where and felt very much at home. Yes there are stairs but wow the views are so worth it. The property is very tropical with fountains, hand carved furniture and local art work everywhere. The location of this hotel is perfect for a walk into town. We never felt rushed at the restaurant and again the view spectacular. Our family enjoyed the pool and the slide and it was very clean, as is the entire hotel. You won't regret choosing Aura del Mar for your stay in Zihau. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torrencetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 566 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

we stayed here just last week and were very impressed with this hotel. Yes we did have 112 steps from the beach to our room but we knew that going in. Our room was just as we thought it was going to be and even passed our expectations. The only drawback would be that our neighbors next door could look into our balcony. And when they smoked out side it would come over to us.
The staff are great and so friendly and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend this to you and your family. I even went down their water slide...

Room Tip: I would pick a room just up from pool or close to pool if you have problem with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We love this place. When you come to the entrance you may think oh,oh. Then you walk into the lobby and see the most beautiful view. The hotel is intimate and personal. Carlos will help you with tours, recommendations car rentals. The rooms are large, clean and all have a great ocean view. It's walking distance to tons of restaurants and stores. The beach great and pool fantastic. A very child friendly place also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've been coming to Zihuatanejo for ten or eleven years and for the last four, we've been coming here. This will be our destination from now on. The staff now remember us and we are treated royally. Breakfast included is a great deal.

Room Tip: Not under the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiminmexico2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been coming to Zihuatanejo for more than 5 years. We have stayed in Troncones, Playa La Ropa etc. There is no better address than Playa La Madera and THE Hotel on Playa La Madera is Aura Del Mar. We are discerning travellers and this hotel has never disappointed. Unlike some photos of accomodations the ones posted for Aura Del Mar do not do justice to the reality. Very clean and impeccably maintaned.
It has become our second home. Janet, Miguel, Carlos, Francisco. Alexandro, Jaqueline, with them you are in good and kind hands. Highest reccomendation.
Cameron and Carol Marie Crofton Victoria B.C.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony over looking Playa Madera no bad choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We vacationed late November-late December. A month in this lovely hotel is heaven. Our stay is made restful by the entire staff...Janet, Miguel, Alejandro, Carlos--front desk. Check-in is quick. After several years coming here, our room keys are merely placed in our hands, breakfast vouchers, cool face towels and cold water--not in this order...we go to our room. Alicia takes care of daily housekeeping; she is thorough. Restaurant staff is attentive, food is good, and the view amazing. We are already planning our return trip. So lucky to have a place where everyone welcomes you back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great...stayed in three rooms this year, our choice. All are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We too were there in early December and stayed at the Aura del Mar. Excellent authentic mexican hotel. Great service, super clean and the location could not be better. It includes breakfast which is lovely and is served at their beachside open air restaurant. I have been to most of the major mexican cities both in and not in all inclusives and Zihautanejo is by far the nicest town I have visited. It is layed back, very family orientated and has great restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher up better views but lots of stairs. All rooms have a view though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
0.5 mi away
Catalina Beach Resort
Catalina Beach Resort
#37 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
195 reviews
3 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Best Value Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $124 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing