We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of paradise”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Part of paradise”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We love this place. When you come to the entrance you may think oh,oh. Then you walk into the lobby and see the most beautiful view. The hotel is intimate and personal. Carlos will help you with tours, recommendations car rentals. The rooms are large, clean and all have a great ocean view. It's walking distance to tons of restaurants and stores. The beach great and pool fantastic. A very child friendly place also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    112
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
118
267
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Varas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've been coming to Zihuatanejo for ten or eleven years and for the last four, we've been coming here. This will be our destination from now on. The staff now remember us and we are treated royally. Breakfast included is a great deal.

Room Tip: Not under the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiminmexico2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been coming to Zihuatanejo for more than 5 years. We have stayed in Troncones, Playa La Ropa etc. There is no better address than Playa La Madera and THE Hotel on Playa La Madera is Aura Del Mar. We are discerning travellers and this hotel has never disappointed. Unlike some photos of accomodations the ones posted for Aura Del Mar do not do justice to the reality. Very clean and impeccably maintaned.
It has become our second home. Janet, Miguel, Carlos, Francisco. Alexandro, Jaqueline, with them you are in good and kind hands. Highest reccomendation.
Cameron and Carol Marie Crofton Victoria B.C.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony over looking Playa Madera no bad choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We vacationed late November-late December. A month in this lovely hotel is heaven. Our stay is made restful by the entire staff...Janet, Miguel, Alejandro, Carlos--front desk. Check-in is quick. After several years coming here, our room keys are merely placed in our hands, breakfast vouchers, cool face towels and cold water--not in this order...we go to our room. Alicia takes care of daily housekeeping; she is thorough. Restaurant staff is attentive, food is good, and the view amazing. We are already planning our return trip. So lucky to have a place where everyone welcomes you back!

Room Tip: All rooms are great...stayed in three rooms this year, our choice. All are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We too were there in early December and stayed at the Aura del Mar. Excellent authentic mexican hotel. Great service, super clean and the location could not be better. It includes breakfast which is lovely and is served at their beachside open air restaurant. I have been to most of the major mexican cities both in and not in all inclusives and Zihautanejo is by far the nicest town I have visited. It is layed back, very family orientated and has great restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher up better views but lots of stairs. All rooms have a view though
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc, canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here with friends for 9 days in early December in the Zihuatanejo suite. I have been to stay in all inclusives several times now and realize there were several things I wanted to get away from.

Pros for Aura del Mar:
1. no time share
2. no blaring poolside music
3. no wrist bands proclaiming you are not entitled to half the benefits.
4. no fighting over beach chairs (although we were there at a quieter time)
5. no rock hard mexican beds
6. no extra charge for wifi
7. no mediocre food or service

This place was just a really mellow, small and charming hotel with excellent unobtrusive service and great views. The prices do reflect this.

As stated in previous reviews there are a lot of stairs and no elevator and in the heat (91F/31C) they can be really daunting. There was a beach front walk way to Zihuatanejo at took about 10 minutes to walk .

Room Tip: We were in a room just above the pool. one flt of stairs to pool, one more to beach/breakfast, so le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
388 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

LOVELY CONVENIENT LOCATION. GREAT BEACH. HELPFUL STAFF.
Our room was very nice, beds comfy. Nice computer access via wifi or terminal. Good lounging areas.

Older place but classy. The pipes sing a bit. But everything is functional and balconies are nice.

Room Tip: Lots of tough stay. Ask for a room lower down if your knees are old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
5.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Property: Aura del Mar Hotel
Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing