We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aura del Mar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
$445
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$143
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$66
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Beach Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$151
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$328
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$124
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveler rating
441
117
12
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
117
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadera beachjacuzzi on the balconymaster suitehotel restaurantlounge chairswalk into townno elevatorwedding plannerbeautiful hotelloved this hotelsitting areaview of the baysmall hoteldowntown zihuatanejogreat poolcevichealways felt safe
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 574 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here with friends for 9 days in early December in the Zihuatanejo suite. I have been to stay in all inclusives several times now and realize there were several things I wanted to get away from.

Pros for Aura del Mar:
1. no time share
2. no blaring poolside music
3. no wrist bands proclaiming you are not entitled to half the benefits.
4. no fighting over beach chairs (although we were there at a quieter time)
5. no rock hard mexican beds
6. no extra charge for wifi
7. no mediocre food or service

This place was just a really mellow, small and charming hotel with excellent unobtrusive service and great views. The prices do reflect this.

As stated in previous reviews there are a lot of stairs and no elevator and in the heat (91F/31C) they can be really daunting. There was a beach front walk way to Zihuatanejo at took about 10 minutes to walk .

Room Tip: We were in a room just above the pool. one flt of stairs to pool, one more to beach/breakfast, so less stairs overall
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thunderingfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

LOVELY CONVENIENT LOCATION. GREAT BEACH. HELPFUL STAFF.
Our room was very nice, beds comfy. Nice computer access via wifi or terminal. Good lounging areas.

Older place but classy. The pipes sing a bit. But everything is functional and balconies are nice.

Room Tip: Lots of tough stay. Ask for a room lower down if your knees are old.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a charming, welcoming boutique hotel that makes you feel like family. The entire staff was exceptional - they could give lessons on outstanding customer service! The views of the bay are great and the atmosphere is very romantic. Our room was very comfortable and our balcony was wonderful - from the hammock to the tub. Its not all that impressive from the street, but don't let that fool you. Once inside you've got to like it. The rooms cascade down the slope of the hill looking over the bay. The pool and restaurant are down several steps close to the beach. The beach area is very nice. My wife had problems with the steps so she could not walk down to these areas but was able to sit up in the lounge/cocktail area and enjoy the view. For those who find the steps difficult, an option is to have someone drive you down to the lower level. One can walk into town and the marina but it is a pretty good hike. Taking a taxi is no problem. From the bed art to the great margueritas, you will feel special and may not want to leave!

Room Tip: Just e-mail the hotel in advance and let them know what you are looking for. They will knock themselves out trying to accommodate you. I sent an e-mail in advance, requesting a room without steps and it was done. They also followed up to be sure it was to our liking.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

For those of you who like pampered simplicity: Aura del Mar is a comfortable boutique hotel with the right amenities for travelers who like to explore on their own and return to the comforts of home+. The staff is friendly and super-accommodating. We admired the floral murals arranged on our beds each morning and the good advice for food and adventure nearby offered at the front desk. Similarly, the wait staff in the dining room knew our names after our first visit and was willing to adjust the menu in any way that suited us. The large rooms are immaculate and well-furnished with regional carved chests and tables and very comfortable sofas and beds, top notch linens and towels, local art. A renovated, older hotel, the tiled bathrooms are not state of the art but are beautiful and more than adequate. The dining room, open to the beach, is great for breakfast and good for lunch or dinner. There are many restaurants close to the hotel and in Zihua, a less than five minute walk. There is also a very nice pool and pool area. The one caveat for this hotel is that there is no elevator and the walk downstairs to dinner and the pool, depending on how high up one stays can be demanding for anyone whose walking is problematic. I am somewhat arthritic and found the stairs (well lit, good bannisters, beautiful plants in the atrium-like space) only a little challenging, and our beautiful suite at the top with its open living space and huge balconies well worth the climb. My daughters and I were so taken with this hotel, the beach, the location that we plan to come back every year.

Room Tip: We were four adults and found the large suite with the central space open to the outdoors and the air-conditioned bedrooms just right.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After staying one week at an all-inclusive resort in Ixtapa for a wedding, we came here and were so incredibly happy with the decision. It was exquisite and such a welcome relief. A complete 180 from the all-inclusive.

The scale of Aura del Mar was very intimate. And although they have quite a few rooms, it all feels very private. The architecture and decor has been thoughtfully considered. They got all the details right. Our rooms was fantastic. Large and overlooking the beach. We came with our one-year-old daughter and spent lots of time in the room with naps and early bed times. But we didn't mind spending time in our room or on our balcony. The whole resort felt like a little Oasis. It was nice to be on Madera beach too. It's a much smaller and more intimate beach area compared to La Ropa.

We ate quite a bit of food at the restaurant. It was pricy compared to eating at many of the local restaurants but it was so convenient and delicious that it was hard not to. Expertly prepared and presented. Tasty too.

We had a fantastic stay. A warm and relaxing 3-night stay. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metric145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews