We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
cuernavaca, mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Sitting at the pool watching my kids enjoying themselves on the water slide . We will definitely be back. The rooms are Beautiful, beds are comfortable( hard to find in hotels) jacuzzi and hammock on all the balconies. Food is very good but a little overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    112
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
118
267
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was our second trip back to Brisas del Mar. It did not disappoint! Just as thrilled the second time around - and even better because they now include breakfast!

COMPARISON: We went over to Playa La Ropa one afternoon to visit friends that were staying at VILLA MEXICANA - they were paying slightly more for a much smaller room, uncomfortable beds, and none of the attention/quality/details of Brisas del Mar. The only advantage at La Ropa is that most hotels are on the same level as the ocean, so there are no stairs to climb. HOTEL VICEROY is similar in quality to Brisas del Mar, but double the price. So, without a doubt, BRISAS DEL MAR is still our #1 choice in Zihuatanejo.

NEW FOOD CHOICE: We found a great little restaurant called COCINA ECONOMICA DONA LICHA (Calle Cocos #8). Delicious food at an incredible price! We paid about US$6 per person for a great fish or shrimp dinner. Try the "filete al mojo de ajo" if you like garlic. Also, the "house special" is a "cecina" (slightly salty, tender skirt steak) dinner which was delicious. My daughter loved the breaded shrimp. Pozole on Thursday was also a great value. Get a "jarra" (pitcher) of icy, cold fresh limeade to cool off. (Directions: Drive/walk down to the "glorieta" or roundabout. Go one block past Oxxo, turn right, go to the end of the street, turn right and you're there!)

Room Tip: If you don't plan on using the jacuzzi, the Jr. Suites (w/o jacuzzi) are a great value. Every r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The personnel was friendly, the price was decent, the views were amazing, the entire hotel was very clean. The well thought and beautiful architecture provided for room privacy. Loved the private terraces, the restaurant, the bar with the fabulous view of the bay.
What can I say... I fell in love with this place, and will be back. I am so glad I found this hotel right in Zihuatanejo. A paradise.
Gracias.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerMrsHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband, 13 year old son and I stayed here one night before our Time-share week in Ixtapa. What a treat! The views of Zihuatenajo Bay were outstanding. The room... was sufficient and had a great balconey with a large jacuzzi tub on it.

Lovely grounds... great pool with a waterslide.

Continental Breakfast was included for two of us. Served beachside. My husband ordered off the menu and he enjoyed his breakfast too.

Walked to town twice during our short stay... Once to have my favorite dish, Mochajete, at Bandidos, and then a morning walk to the town of Zihuatenajo. Used both the beach and the streets.

The hotel was kind and let us enjoy our room an additional hour so that we could clean up after our pool time before we had to head out to Ixtapa.

Many steps in this hotel, that might be a consideration for some... but was not an issue with my family.


Really enjoyed this property and would recommend it for the price point, location and quality and we would come back.

Room Tip: We chose a room with the Jacuzzi on the balcony, it was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

You can spend a lifetime checking out online reviews of places. If you decide on Brisas del Mar I think you will be very happy with your decision.

Location-wise it takes up a hillside all the way down to the beach. So your room has an incredible view of the water, yet you still have access to chairs, etc. on beach level. This was important to us as many hotels in the area are located above the water with no direct beach access. The hotel is located on Playa Madera, which is smaller than Playa La Ropa (about a 10 minute walk away), but is also less crowded with salespeople, etc. It's about a 15 minute walk to town, where you can really get a feel for life in Zihua.

The rooms are Mexican-style-rustic-chic I'd say. Lots of detailed stone work on the floor. Handmade bed adornments. The hotel entry and walkways are rich with plant-life, statuary, a waterfall. Extremely clean. There are quite a few stairs so if you are elderly or have bad knees (or certainly if you are in a wheelchair) this might not be the place for you.

Service was prompt, friendly, effective.

Food was way better than I was expecting. It's expensive for the area, but typical price for US.

Free access to kayaks, computers, book exchange area, gym. They have massage available.

You do get what you pay for. This was the most expensive place I've stayed in Zihua and also the most comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Brisas del Mar mid January of this year. My husband had always wanted to check out Zihatanejo and so after doing some research we decided to stay at Brisas del Mar. I had reservations about our trip to Mexico in general as we have a toddler and our second child was just 5 months old at the time we travelled. We are pretty avid travellers, however; and we have travelled many times with our oldest in tow. Our trip was for 8 nights and we reserved one of their family friendly suites.
Our overall experience was fantastic! First Zihuatanejo was wonderful. a lazy Mexican fishing town with breathtaking views from the beach and lots of things to keep you occupied. We found fantastic food nearby the hotel (la Perla Negra was just down the street) and between eating there, having fish tacos on the beach, and the complimentary breakfast as part of our booking at Brisas del Mar we were set! The staff at the hotel are so friendly and truly want to make your stay unforgetable. The hotel is perched overlooking the bay and is really spectacular, you have the feeling you are staying at a five star hotel for a mid-range price. The accommodations are very good for what you pay... I will say that the family suites are a bit dark where we were, but there are two that are on the upper level that are not. They book out early, but one could certainly ask for them when booking. The layout in the room was perfect for us, our toddler got the kid beds which was lovingly turned down for her each night and we had a mexican style cradle for our little one. The deck and views from every room is spectacular!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Zihua. I think when our kids are a bit older (and both walking) we would book here again. The notes from others on the stairs are accurate and while I did not mind it in the least, if you are travelling with babies or older people it can be a little precarious especially since you will be going from your room to pool or beach or restaurant several times a day. We did feel a little like pack mules from time to time carting stuff up and down stairs, but with little ones that tends to happen anyway especially when travelling. Overall, I highly recommend this place and Zihuatanejo. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a family suite in one of the upper levels, they are not so dark in the hall entryway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktq180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

All the rooms have ocean views. There's a lot of stairs through out the property. It's right on the beach and just a few minutes walk from the town center. Excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
5.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Property: Aura del Mar Hotel
Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing