We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable, comfortable, convenient”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dependable, comfortable, convenient”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

You can spend a lifetime checking out online reviews of places. If you decide on Brisas del Mar I think you will be very happy with your decision.

Location-wise it takes up a hillside all the way down to the beach. So your room has an incredible view of the water, yet you still have access to chairs, etc. on beach level. This was important to us as many hotels in the area are located above the water with no direct beach access. The hotel is located on Playa Madera, which is smaller than Playa La Ropa (about a 10 minute walk away), but is also less crowded with salespeople, etc. It's about a 15 minute walk to town, where you can really get a feel for life in Zihua.

The rooms are Mexican-style-rustic-chic I'd say. Lots of detailed stone work on the floor. Handmade bed adornments. The hotel entry and walkways are rich with plant-life, statuary, a waterfall. Extremely clean. There are quite a few stairs so if you are elderly or have bad knees (or certainly if you are in a wheelchair) this might not be the place for you.

Service was prompt, friendly, effective.

Food was way better than I was expecting. It's expensive for the area, but typical price for US.

Free access to kayaks, computers, book exchange area, gym. They have massage available.

You do get what you pay for. This was the most expensive place I've stayed in Zihua and also the most comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacherhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    112
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
118
267
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Brisas del Mar mid January of this year. My husband had always wanted to check out Zihatanejo and so after doing some research we decided to stay at Brisas del Mar. I had reservations about our trip to Mexico in general as we have a toddler and our second child was just 5 months old at the time we travelled. We are pretty avid travellers, however; and we have travelled many times with our oldest in tow. Our trip was for 8 nights and we reserved one of their family friendly suites.
Our overall experience was fantastic! First Zihuatanejo was wonderful. a lazy Mexican fishing town with breathtaking views from the beach and lots of things to keep you occupied. We found fantastic food nearby the hotel (la Perla Negra was just down the street) and between eating there, having fish tacos on the beach, and the complimentary breakfast as part of our booking at Brisas del Mar we were set! The staff at the hotel are so friendly and truly want to make your stay unforgetable. The hotel is perched overlooking the bay and is really spectacular, you have the feeling you are staying at a five star hotel for a mid-range price. The accommodations are very good for what you pay... I will say that the family suites are a bit dark where we were, but there are two that are on the upper level that are not. They book out early, but one could certainly ask for them when booking. The layout in the room was perfect for us, our toddler got the kid beds which was lovingly turned down for her each night and we had a mexican style cradle for our little one. The deck and views from every room is spectacular!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Zihua. I think when our kids are a bit older (and both walking) we would book here again. The notes from others on the stairs are accurate and while I did not mind it in the least, if you are travelling with babies or older people it can be a little precarious especially since you will be going from your room to pool or beach or restaurant several times a day. We did feel a little like pack mules from time to time carting stuff up and down stairs, but with little ones that tends to happen anyway especially when travelling. Overall, I highly recommend this place and Zihuatanejo. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a family suite in one of the upper levels, they are not so dark in the hall entryway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktq180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

All the rooms have ocean views. There's a lot of stairs through out the property. It's right on the beach and just a few minutes walk from the town center. Excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I just got back from a week the Brisas and couldn't been happier. The place and the people were excellent. I ate the restaurant and the food was delicious and reasonable. I heard about this hotel from Trip Advisor and I've never been disappointed. Thanks so much from making my vacation great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently spent a week at Brisas del Mar. Loved every minute of it. It wildly exceeded our expectations as we have traveled extensively in Mexico and sometimes hotels do not live up to standards.

We were looking for a "Mexican" hotel in a Mexican neighborhood, at least this trip. We also wanted something nice and on the beach. Coffeemaker, refrigerator, hair dryer, safe came in very handy. They provided very good coffee; better than the Folgers we drink at home.

The room, bathroom and balcony were huge. The view from the balcony was worth the trip. We spent a good bit of time there.

Everything was in good shape and of good quality. I would compare this hotel to any nice hotel I have stayed anywhere.

The location of the place is perfect. We could walk to anywhere we wanted to go in a few minutes. You can walk to "El Centro" via the scenic sidewalk or take the streets. They would call a taxi for you from the taxi stand down the street and you could go anywhere in minutes for about $2. There were taxis all over the place eveywhere.

There is a little store across the street with a very nice lady. Sells just about anything you would want.

The restaurant is a step up in quality and price than some but we enjoyed it. The view of the waves breaking on the rocks was incredible. I thought it was worth the price, which was not high by our standards.

What makes this place very special are the people that work there. All were very nice people that wanted to make your stay enjoyable. It is a nice place that we plan on going back to, many times.

There are steps to the beach, pool and restaurant. I am 60 and did not have any trouble but might cause trouble if you had problems. They had room service available so you did not have to use any steps from the floor we were on, unless you wanted to go down to the beach. We wore the steps out, even in the rain, as we stayed on the move.

Will be glad to answer any questions or be of help.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MexicoBob25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, FL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just returned from another awesome stay at Brisas Del Mar. This time we were lucky enough to have friends come along and we stayed in the Noyoltzi Suite. I’ve uploaded pictures of this Suite because I couldn’t find any pictures on the internet.

First off I simply can’t say enough about how much we enjoy staying at Brisas Del Mar. It is hard to describe the experience but simply put it can be very relaxing or as adventurous as you desire. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool, the beach and the common areas were really nice.

We loved the Noyoltzi Suite. If you want to go with a group this is the way to go. It is basically three separate small suites with a huge common area that is a kitchen, dining and living room area. The one suite is a little small but was absolutely perfect for our 13 year old son. The small suite had a nice sitting area, a little bed room area and a private bath. We enjoyed the common areas so much that we ended up spending a lot of time just hanging out there where on our previous trip we were always at the beach. The Noyoltzi Suite and common area was our own little place where we could look out at the rest of the world.

We go in June and it is hot. But we almost have the whole place to ourselves. It is very quiet. There may have only been a couple of other rooms rented out the whole time we were there. It was a surprise to walk past the pool or go to the beach and see another person. It may be hot in June but you can always cool off in the pool, ocean or air conditioning!

We made several trips to the Market which is always a lot of fun. We got some bread, cheese and fresh fruit for snacking. I also made a trip down to the fish market to see the fishermen bring in their catch. This is the type of stuff you see on the travel channel.

We ate several meals at the hotel but also ventured to places on the beach. Pretty much every place had good points; we didn’t have a bad meal anyplace.

On Sunday we went to the local fiesta and got some excellent street food. It is well worth checking out.

Our friends went diving and had a great time. We all ventured over to Los Gato beach for a day.

Overall we had an excellent stay where we were made to feel special by the staff. We are already discussing when we will go back again!

Room Tip: It is hot in June but it is the slow season so there will not be a lot of people. We prefer no crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigeldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaTac, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We did a bit of research before booking this hotel. We knew we wanted to be on La Madera beach with beach access. From when we stepped in the door and was greated with bottled water to them calling a cab for us to leave we never regretted our decision. It is extremely well maintained and beautiful, the staff are great ...very friendly, knowledgable and attentive. They also have real mattresses, for those of you that are familiar with the typical mexican mattresses you'll appreciate what I'm talking about. the view from the balconies are exactly as stated, they cannot be any better. one tidbit that we did not know untill the end of the week was, they actually have a beach menus with some smaller items to choose from, which we would have used so just ask you will not regret staying here

Room Tip: we were in 111 and thought we were in heaven :')
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjsl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#8 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#6 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Property: Aura del Mar Hotel
Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing