We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind”
Review of Aura del Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aura del Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband, 13 year old son and myself spent four nights at Brisas del Mar. The weather was sunny, hot, and a bit humid. The restaurant was delicious and the service was outstanding. The pool was clean and there were always chairs and lounges available. My son loved the water slide. The room was spacious and clean, and the service was good. If we needed something in our room (like an extra pillow or blanket), it would arrive within seconds of our request. The beach, although not the biggest in the area, was nice. Some days the waves were bigger than others. However, because the surf was close to shore, the boogy boarding wasn't the best. We enjoyed walking to Zihua which was only about ten minutes from the hotel. The town was much bigger than I expected and was not just a tourist town but a real town where there was a fish market every morning and lots of natives walking around town doing their business. There were also lots of tourist shops located closer to the beach. We spent one morning at Playa las Gatos, which is only accessible by boat at the town pier. There really isn't much to do there besides lie on the lounges and do some snorkeling (which wasn't very good). We also went by taxi to Playa del la Ropa, a beautiful long beach which I highly recommend spending some time at. We spent one evening at Ixtapa, where we walked around the outdoor shopping area and had dinner. Being there confirmed that it was not the place for me. Too contrived and unnatural.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susaneobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    112
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
118
267
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

First, I don't ever rate anything the top, but we were very pleased with Brisas del Mar.
We stayed at Brisas del Mar and for us it was our first time not at an AI. We so much preferred the Brisas del Mar over all the AI we have stayed at before. They had the best beds and air conditioners we have ever experienced in Mexico. Great view from OUR OWN balcony. We even had our own iguana that would visit us once in a while. We do like to get out and experience the local flavors and their location was great for us.
As far as the staff goes, the best. Happy hour's bartender Santiago did a great job, always knew our drinks choices. The staff around the pool were there always just in the nick of time, never hounding you. We had breakfast at the hotel once. We found much better breakfasts in town. The staff at the desk were always helpful. Everyday, flowers one the bed.
But, Carlo's was the MAN. He helped set up going out for dinner and taxi's out and about. And he made sure everything was great.
I am not the best at these reviews, but I would definitely recommend the Brisas del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank otwadoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Brisas is the third hotel we have stayed at in Zihua over the last three years and our first time on Playa Medera. The steep stairs to the pool, beach and restaurant have been mentioned before and are worth a caution if you are at all lame or, like me, out of shape. The rooms and amenities are fine and the service is extremely attentive.
That said, we would return to Cinco Sentidos, correctly ranked number two here, if it was price competitive with Brisas. (It has usually been at least $100.USD per day more expensive when we have checked it out.) The Tides, even more pricey than Cinco or Brisas, is a little too groomed for our tastes and Playa Ropa, where it sits, is much more busy than Playa Medera. We especially enjoyed walking into Centro on the Malacon which has an entrance 100 yards from the beach in front of Brisas and leads its winding way along the shoreline to Playa Principal, ending right in the midst of the fishing fleet lined up on the beach. A lovely 10 minute stroll.

Room Tip: If you can be placed mid-way down the hill (and the 90+ steps to the bottom of it) you can arrive at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fosdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Lovely lovely hotel with great staff. Have happy hour on the veranda with Sacramento. Make sure to try the mango daquiris. Staff is very attentive and the rooms are clean.

Some of the side trips they offered I didn't think were worth the price. The one to the refuge you could get at a fraction of the price by just getting a taxi to take you there. Also the guy on the beach outside the hotel was cheaper and helpful if you were interested in roughing it a bit.

Room Tip: Their family room had a large king size bed and two twin beds, a kitchenette and a bathroom and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparadox4u2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel over Thanksgiving week. It was quiet and a peaceful change to all of the larger hotels we've stayed at in the past. This is more of a boutique hotel. The lobby and views from the rooms are amazing. Since it's on a hillside, I don't think there is a bad view from any room. The pool area is about halfway down the hill, with comfortable, clean chairs, hammocks and again a view to die for. The next level down is the restaurant and small bar. Service is available at the pool; you might have to just tell a waiter you'd like service. They are all great! Jacquie at the front desk was so warm, welcoming and attentive to all our needs. Our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We had plenty of storage for things and there were NO critter at all! There are a lot of steps, so if you can't manage, this is not the place for you. The restaurant and food was delicious and reasonable. You might even seek a glimpse of large sea turtles laying eggs while eating your dinner! It’s an easy, safe walk to town along the board walk. Again if you are not use to walking on uneven areas, this is not for you. The board walk needs so work and some of the lights are out. If you have a small flashlight, bring it! The rope/railing is down in some areas, so hold onto those little ones hands … and if you over indulge in town, watch your step back! All in all our trip was wonderful and had a wonderful stay! If you’d like more info on what to do/go; email me! You can walk to La Ropa from this location; again it’s a hilly hike on uneven sidewalks.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view - can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MootTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The good: A beautiful place with a gorgeous view of the bay. The staff are helpful and friendly.

The bad: We booked a year ahead of time and got bumped to another room (it was an upgrade), and our friend who has had a stroke, had to climb 77 steps to get to street level. I was really worried about him. Lots of substandard maintenance. One air conditioner failed, and later, suddenly, some type of liquid (?) came through the a light fixture onto his box of pills, destroying about $1,000 worth of meds. The kitchen was equipped with stuff you couldn't sell in a garage sale. The appliances' finishes were peeling off. Poor TV channel selection. Gaps around the window frames.

The Ugly: The last night we were there, the hotel next door had a party in front of the hotel with an unusually loud DJ with constant, thumping bass. THIS WENT ON UNTIL 4:00 AM!!!!! I asked the hotel for help, as did other guests, and the deskman, whose English apparently disappears at sundown, said he could not help, and refused to call the manager. What we got was "mañana". The next day the manager said there was nothing she could do. The same thing happened in a previous stay in the restaurant at Brisas

We have been staying here for 5 years, spending significant money due to the size of our group (usually 6-8 people). I told her we would not be back due to this treatment. She offered an apology, but nothing else in the way of compensation.

One other thing: We noticed the presence of some really scruffy looking characters on the beach (with dreadlocks, naturally)- a new feature. Also, and this really bothers me, twice in nearby restaurants, one of our party was approached by drug dealers, wanting to sell marijuana and hash. There was also a large drug bust in town while we were there. I fear the old Zihuatanejo that we love so much is going the way of other towns in Mexico

It's time to move to La Ropa Beach, in my opinion, as the owner/managers of the hotels on La Madeira no longer seem able to control what goes on in their area.

Room Tip: They change reservations frequently due to maintenance problems with rooms. They do seem ok with up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labamba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ciscogrove, Owner at Aura del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it encourages us to improve in every possible way we can. As a policy and subject to availability we always try to offer an upgrade to our repetitive guests, it is our way to show you we appreciate your loyalty. We offered The Villa Don Agustin for your stay because we considered it was a more comfortable unit for your group than the Noyoltzi Suite, considering it is located at the beach level, very close to the restaurant, the pool level and the restaurant. We thought this would make it easier for you and your friends to enjoy your vacation. I am very sorry to know that this arrangement was not agreeable to you, there was always the option of staying in the Noyoltzi Suite, the room you originally reserved, which was closer to lobby level but farther from the beach, pool and restaurant as it is located on the top floor of the hotel. Considering this factor we decided to offer you the Villa don Agustin. I deeply apologize for this misconception, our repetitive guests with health problems usually prefer to stay closer to the beach. We also offered your friend help to go up and down by car as there are streets in both sides, this offer was appreciated but declined saying that it was a good exercise for him.
I am also deeply sorry for the air conditioning that failed, as soon as was notified to us we tried to fix it but as it was late in the afternoon we could not find the broken part until next day, we offered you the room next door so you wouldn't have to be without air conditioning. This offer was kindly accepted.
We did not receive a report about liquids coming through a light fixture, if we knew we would have been able to compensate for the loss of your friends medicines. I apologize for this inconvenience. We have checked the area and we cannot find any traces of water if you can let us know where the leak was we will appreciate your kindness so we can immediately fix this problem.
We will review the channel selection and take the necessary steps to offer our guests more options and maybe try to hire Sky instead of Cable TV.
I also apologize for the noise you had the last night of your stay. We will take the necessary steps to restrict noises in the beach area. The night of the event we called the police and tried to stop the noise but unfortunately it was out of our hands. All hotels in the area are united and trying to improve the conditions of the beach, we know it is the best we have to offer you and we will keep on working so we all get the ambience we want for our families and our guests.
I apologize for our night deskman's behavior, it was unacceptable, he should have called the manager, we will find someone better suited for the job. Our manager should be available to all our guests during 24 hours of the day.
We deeply appreciate your business and loyalty, we know that if it wasn't for you our town of Zihua and all around it would not prosper the way it does and the families living here would not have the quality of life we have. We would have liked to have the opportunity to offer you a compensation for this situation, and I apologize in the name of the hotel manager for not having offered the compensation needed. She informed me of the incident and mentioned she was unable to offer the compensation because you where living in a taxi as she arrived. It is very important for us to be able to provide everything necessary to make your visit a pleasant one and in case it is not, to compensate our shortcomings.
In Brisas del Mar we take care of our guests at all times unfortunately we cannot control what goes on in other restaurants.
Hotel and restaurant owners in la Madera, la Ropa and all our beaches are working everyday to improve and control the situation related to the drugs, huge efforts are being made and we are sure this will improve.
La Ropa is a beautiful beach and many places in Zihua have also a lot to offer its visitors, I am sure you will find a nice place to come to and keep enjoying the good Zihua has to offer you.
Sincerely,
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Just returning from Hotel Brisas del Mar, I realized the best thing travelers can do for an excellent experience is pass the experience on.

As always, my wife and I have received excellent service from everyone at the hotel. This includes reception, dining, cleaning services and grounds keeping. We are always greeted with large smiles and a buenas dias.

Upon our arrival, we were graciously offered an upgrade to the uppermost suite above the reception area. Spectacular views, large living and kitchen area. I must presume that this was a thank you for the multiple stays and the additional people we have brought with us to experience Zihuatanejo.

Service - Always polite and prompt. We are pretty relaxed people, so we always like to have fun with the staff and they are more than willing to loosen up and have fun with you. We've become good friends with many of the staff for this reason alone. Wonderful people.

Value - The only reason I rate this at 4 is because we understand the difference between someone that chooses the Ixtapa experience over the Zihuatanejo experience. I think that if their prices were a bit less for rooms, food and drink, it would attract those of us that don't want the really touristy and expensive areas (little America). Its definitely a high-mid to low-high hotel, but in Zihua, it may just appear a little high-end price-wise.

Sleep Quality - Beds are soft, comfortable and clean. Plenty of pillows to find that perfect sleep or middle of the day a/c cool off lounging time.

Cleanliness - The rooms are very clean. We always choose to skip service every other day because we simply don't feel it necessary, however, its 1 phone call to reception if you need anything. More water, empty trash, TP, etc.

Location - We love the location. It's far enough from town that you don't get a lot of the noise and traffic, but close enough to town to walk in 3 or 4 times a day. You can walk along the malecon on the bay side or go the street route. Both are about the same travel time depending on where you are going. The guest beach area is nice and you can safely leave your belongings while you hop off into the ocean. The food and drink service at the beach is excellent. The beach itself is large and open with calm waves for children, depending on the time of year. The largest waves I've seen were in middle to late May.

Rooms - We've stayed in the Zihuatlan Suite, a Master Suite, Junior Suite and now the Upper Suite (not sure of the name). All of our rooms have had great views. Some are further up the hotel's terraced design layout and require a good bit of stair climbing. A little exercise isn't terrible when you're eating and drinking like a king. However, I will say, if you are older or have bad knees and want to enjoy the beach and pool area, you might request a room nearer the bottom.

Overall, we love this place. Janet, manager, Miguel, reception, Carlos, Activities, Francisco and Ibraham, reception, Bernardino, Martin, Jesus, Ivan, Wendy, dining, are all kind, professional and accommodating.

A muchas gracias gigante to Hotel Brisas del Mar.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, if you plan on tons of time on the beach and pool, stay in a room that's lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiianDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#12 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#10 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
5.7 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#7 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aura del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aura del Mar Hotel

Property: Aura del Mar Hotel
Address: Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa La Madera, Zihuatanejo, Mexico (Formerly Brisas del Mar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aura del Mar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aura del Mar is a boutique-hotel in a Mexican fishing village, known for its hospitality and privacy. It's the perfect choice to get to know Zihuatanejo, relax and enjoy the sea. We offer a privileged location at the seashore in La Madera beach. Walking distance to downtown Zihua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aura del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Del Mar Zihuatanejo
Hotel Brisas Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing