We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our thoughts”
Review of Casa Adriana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Adriana
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our thoughts”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Ann and I stayed here at the end of December. Great location. Moments to downtown, seconds to the beach. Quiet, comfortable, impressive ocean-view. Superior mattress on the bed was appreciated. Enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and sitting area. Staff was friendly and helpful with daily service. Property was secure. This place has a lot going for it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Turn_right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Adriana. Our junior suite had 2 beds and a small, well furnished kitchen on the ocean view balcony. There was even a blender to make smoothies. Playa Madera is just down the stairs, and it's an easy walk to town or Playa Ropa. Lucy and her staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2nothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We chose the hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and were very pleased we did. We had an appartment with a king sized bed and a single bed in it, a kitchen and a very large verandah with an amazing view over the ocean.

The appartment was in very good condition, well maintained and well furnished. This is not 5 star luxury, but it is very homely, very comfortable and extremely charming.

I can only agree with all the other reviewers that Lucy and her family were very kind, accomodating and helpful - making sure that you get the most from your stay in their appartments.

The beaches and town centre of Zihuatanego are only a few minutes walk away from the apartment and, even late at night, you never feel unsafe.

If I had to make some less positive comment I would advise that you woudn't want to stay here if you weren't too mobile - there is quite a challenging climb to Casa Adriana (and most other hotels along the coast) from the beach / town centre. However, taxi's in the town are plentiful and cheap if you felt the need to use one.

A tip - The taxis from the airport are expensive compared to all other taxis in the area (USD30 for a 15 minute journey). The only way we found to avoid this was to take a bus from outside the airport into Zihuatanego centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We are currently staying at Casa Adriana. Lucy and her family have been extremely accommodating to our needs. We have been coming to Zihua for 25 years and have stayed in a variety of accommodations and have found Casa Adriana excellent and well set up. We have enjoyed the beautiful view off the cute deck with the outdoor kitchen. We will definitely return to Casa Adriana when returning to Zihua.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDH124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have visited Zihua many times and this is our second stay at Casa Adriana. This is a lovely hotel with a fabulous view and location. There is a misconception in the US that it is not safe here but that is untrue. This is Mexico at it's finest. We stayed at a large resort in Cancun a few months ago and it was a waste of our money and time. This is the place to be! Lucy and staff are wonderful!!

Room Tip: Number 11 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryjon4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

we have just returned from another great vacation at the casa. lucy and the staff are perfect. we felt perfectfully safe and lucy is very accomadating. the mexican decor is charming. the location is absolutely the best it is a very short and picturesque walk to the restaurants and shops. we like to eat in and out and the mercado is great for fresh vegetables fruit vegetables seafood and meats. also lucy is very quick to email you in regards to reservations etc the views from your room are magnificent and the sounds of the waves are also very relaxing the beach is steps away and very nice for swimming i would highly recommend this quaint and charming casa i always shed tears when it is time to leave

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrybrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We arrived at Casa Adraina and waited 30 minutes outside on a dead end street for the owner, Lucy to show up. While we waited we watched workmen lifting 5 gallon pails of sand by rope pully up to the third floor. There is no lobby or common area in this facility that we could see. She explained that it was her lunch break as an apology for her delay. Somewhere in a tripadvisor reveiw I read that there was 24 hour security. If that were the case I should have been able to get into the room as I had wired funds to hold the room reservation.

Our 2nd floor room (I think it was #5)had an air conditioned bedroom, living area with small kitchenette and a very roomy balcony with a bay view, although some trees were blocking a view to the south. The place was not as clean as other small hotels we have stayed in in Mexico and in general lacked the fit and finish of a well maintained establishment. After checking in we asked to be directed to a nearby spot for a late lunch. Lucy recommended grabbing a bite at la Casa Vieja. It was just down the hill and had delicious food and tart flavorfull Magaritas.
We started to notice some of the issues with the room: The folding exterior door to the patio could not be locked so our room could not be secured from the veranda. With security being an issue in Mexico, I would expect to be able to secure the living area from the outside.The interior doors that close off the air conditioned bedroom from the open aire living area could be closed with a wood latch but would swing open if not latched. Fixing this is just a matter of a few minutes with a chisel to rehang the doors. We had to prop a stool against the door so we could let the room cool off without constantly locking each other out of the bedroom. Veranda and view are nice however the seating is very low and as a result you need to stand up to enjoy the view. Standard height seating would be appropriate so that you can enjoy an unobstructed view of the bay while sitting outside. Low slung chairs are not the way to go. I will say the bamboo sofa did provide a nice to sleep outside on a cool night.
During the first evening evening we noticed that the air condioning unit was starting to drip into the room. We started putting towels on the floor but by morning there was a quater inch of water covering the bedroom floor. Luggage was wet, shoes were wet and every time we left the room we walked through standing water.
Just when we though it couldn't get worse at 8:00 AM the contruction noise started upstairs. BANG BANG BANG. That was the last straw. I left my girlfriend in the room while I walked down madera beach looking for vacancies. Fortunatly I was directed to La Quinta Don Andres on the south end of La Madera. This place was perfect and would recommend to anyone. I am thankfull that they saved our vacation.

When I returned to collect girlfriend and luggage Lucy did offer to call us a cab (at our expense) and thankfully I did not have to argue about money since I had only paid for one night up front. She offered(another excuse) the explanation that she did not know when the construction was going to start. Maybe that big pile of sand that the workman were hauling to the third floor as she checked us in might have tipped her off that the contruction job was starting to commence. I don't expect things to be prefect as it is after all...Mexico. I have been to Mexico 10 times and had every level of accomodation from camping on the beach to small hotels to all-inclusives (only once.) We rent cars and drive the country side and enjoy the local food so our expectations are not unrealistic.

The standing water in the bedroom can happen at any time however an inkeeper has the responsibility to keep guests in the loop if undergoing contruction. Especially in a small hotel when they are building right above us. There are lots of small hotels on La Madera beach. This one would be my last choice.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side of Madera beach for better views and easier access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterBob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.9 mi away
Villas San Sebastian
Villas San Sebastian
#33 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Raul 3 Marias
#70 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#46 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#38 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Adriana

Property: Casa Adriana
Address: Calle Eva Semano de Lopez Mateos | Col. La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Adriana has 4 rooms and 9 Junior Suites and all of them are with ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Adriana Zihuatanejo
Casa Adriana Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing