We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pozole and more”
Review of Restaurant La Bocana - CLOSED

Restaurant La Bocana
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant LA BOCANA is very well located at La Ropa Area in Zihuatanejo. Is a very nice place surrounded by a gorgeus garden. The place is very clean and attended by the owners.Our kitchen is based on Traditional & Regional Dishes and Mexican Cuisine. We offer Sea Food as well. Don't miss our POZOLE THURSDAYS, an old tradition of the State of Guerrero. This day we offer special Regional Dishes.LA BOCANA IS THE MOST TRADITIONAL RESTAURANT IN TOWN, OPEN SINCE 1965.La Bocana is a MUST GO.Open everyday but Tuesdays.La Bocana offers BREAKFAST, BRUNCH AND DINNER. At LA BOCANA we are ready to serve and please you.... El Restaurant LA BOCANA se encuentra convenientemente localizado en el area de LA ROPA, en el area de playas. No tenemos frente de playa.Es un lugar muy bonito y rodeado de vegetacion y un agradable jardin que hace que el lugar permanezca fresco. La Bocana esta siempre atendido por sus propietarios. Nuestra cocina se especializa en comida regional mexicana y mariscos frescos. No debe perderse nuestro Tradicional JUEVES DE POZOLE. El Restaurant LA BOCANA es el mas tradicional de Zihuatanejo, abierto desde 1965, siempre con una excelente reputacion. LA BOCANA hoy por hoy, es una visita obligada.En LA BOCANA ofrecemos DESAYUNOS, COMIDAS Y CENAS todos los dias con excepcion de los MARTES que nos vamos de pesca.En LA BOCANA estamos para servirles.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We first came here in January for pozole on Thursday. Having been to at least 10 different places in Ixtapa Zihuatanejo for pozole over the years, this was our favorite. We came back in May for a repeat and were not disappointed. Then we returned for their special paella, served on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays; you must call the day before to order. This was a big delicious meal with each ingredient cooked exactly right. Service, atmosphere and food are all really nice here. Ted and Pat, Tarrytown, New York

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uncleteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantLaBocana, Propietario at Restaurant La Bocana, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thanks for your nice review.
At LA BOCANA we are very glad you liked our place.
We feel very proud to read comments like this.
We hope to see you again shortly.
Our POZOLE is THE BEST IN TOWN, that's what the mayoritie of our costumers are saying.
Thank you very much for visiting LA BOCANA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 90 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

After reading some of the reviews we wanted to try La Bocana for dinner: Big mistake! Because like many real mexican restaurants they seem to close early and we stood at closed gates. So we tried a day later for lunch. We were impressed about the good choice of breakfast they offer for reasonable prices. The restaurant is very clean and pleasant with good service. They offered only 4 different choices for lunch for 60-70 pesos, all very original mexican dishes (for example beef tongue or "chicharron en salsa verde") that are maybe not for all tastes. The food was delicious and the presentation nice. They also have some good natural juices. Still it was a bit frustrating to see that they offer the real good stuff (Pozole and Co.) only on Thursdays. No seafood or fish were on the menu or offered to us, but that you find anyways in all the other places in Zihua.
If you know what to expect you will not be disappointed, but it is original simple food, nothing fancy or luxurious, no fish, not a big choice, but still excellent and not a tourist rip-off as some other places

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dominik w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantLaBocana, Propietario at Restaurant La Bocana, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Que tal Gazpacho99:
I want to thank you for your generous comments.
We are very glad you liked and enjoyed LA BOCANA.
We are sure we will be opening for dinner this november. It will be very nice to us having you at one of our tables.
What LA BOCANA offers so far is:
1.- BREAKFAST everyday
2.- SEA FOOD & MEXICAN CUISINE everyday but thursdays (Fish included)
3.- POZOLE (ONLY THURSDAYS at 2 P.M.)
You can check our menu at LA BOCANA WebSite
Please come back soon to LA BOCANA, it will be a plessure to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

As owners of a boutique hotel, La Villa, in Zihuatanejo we pride ourselves in recommending to our guests what we feel is some of the best in town. La Bocana hits the mark. And it is right around the corner from us. Fabulous fresh food, great presentation, wonderful service, soft music playing, friendly staff, priced right and the owners, Ricardo & Mely are gracious wonderful hosts. La Bocana not be missed... One the area local favorites, Pozole, served on Thursdays. No longer do we refer to the day as Thursday/Jueves, but forever dubbed Pozole-day. Our guests thank us over and over for recommending La Bocana with many returning on travel day to savor one more meal before heading home. See you soon! Valerie & Larry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantLaBocana, Propietario at Restaurant La Bocana, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Valerie and Larry:
Thank you very much for your commnets and for all your costumers you've send to our place.
It is very nice to us having your approval, this encourages us to move forward.
LA BOCANA will be open for dinner this November. We are preparing a selected menu to offer to you and your fiends and costumers.
Thanks again..!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A relaxing environment which features excellent food and outstanding service. The prices combine to make La Bocana a favorite breakfast and lunch spot for my family and many of neighbors and friends living in ZIhuatanejo Bay.
Last Thursday we joined some friends for "Pozole", " Tostadas de TInga" and "Chicken Tacos", we were impressed withthe flavor and amount of food we received.
Ricardo and his wife are very attentive hosts and I'm sure they are going to be very successful at this new location of La Bocana in the La Ropa area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamespatricksports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantLaBocana, Propietario at Restaurant La Bocana, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

We loved to hear you liked and enjoyed LA BOCANA.
We are working very hard in order to be better and better every day.
We are expecting to be open for dinner this november and we will be very glad to serve you again soon.
Thanks again for your generous comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was delighted to meet a friend at this "new to me" restaurant, close to where I often stay.

I went for breakfast and was so impressed that I returned for lunch with my partner the next day.
Great food, great value.
I look forward to being able to eat dinner here sometime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robo1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantLaBocana, Propietario at Restaurant La Bocana, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Thanks for your comments.
At LA BOCANA we are working hard to improve every day.
LA BOCANA will be open for dinner this november and we will be very glad to see you again soon.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Bocana also viewed

 
Playa Blanca, Zihuatanejo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing