We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Trip”
Review of La Quinta Troppo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Quinta Troppo
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd vacation at Troppo. We love Troppo so much we brought along 3 other couples this trip. Troppo and her staff did not disappoint. Everyone loved their rooms though one couple who opted for the non air conditioned suite did move to the suite
with air half way through the stay.
We all put Lee and his wonderful staff to the test. From the airport transfer upon arrival to the hunt for fine wines and cigars to the lovely first night dinner prepared by Margarita the cook.
If you are looking for a lovely intimate inn with first class service Troppo is where you should be.

Room Tip: We have stayed in Serena and Tucanes and both are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much Kathy. You have been very kind a wonderful promoter of La Quinta Troppo.
We all appreciate that very much. At this time, all I can add is that we wish you and your family all the best, good health, fun, happiness, prosperity and long life.
Happy 2014!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

We celebrated our 20 yr anniversary and this place is a gem. Amazing view of the Playa La Ropa. Lee and the staff are amazing....great meals and will go the extra mile to make sure everything is perfect. A caraffe of gourmet coffee is delivered to your door every morning at 8:00am so your day starts at your own pace. It is a short walk to a stunning beach at Playa La Ropa and great restaurants on the beach. It is fun to take a 5 minute cab to a quaint downtown but we enjoyed our private romantic villa and access to the beach much better. Breakfasts were fresh fruit and pastries followed by gourmet options with eggs and sausage,etc. Fresh squeezed orange juice. They have a private pool just perfect for cooling off and having a drink...and they have great bartender and also the chef is amazing with the detail she puts into each meal. I have never stayed in a place so special in my life and we will most certainly be back! Can't wait!

Room Tip: La Sirena is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjosewinetasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind words in the review of La Quinta Troppo.
Did you know we have a very special SPECIAL for a 21st anniversary?
Just kidding, but you know we will always have a SPECIAL for our beloved friends and repeat guests.
Wishing you healthy, happy and prosperous 2014!!!
Hasta pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent our honeymoon there 10 years ago and had a great stay. We returned for our anniversary this November and Lee and the staff gave us another exceptional stay. The rooms and grounds are in top condition. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast each morning. It's only a minute walk to the best beach we have ever been to. See you next year, Don & Andrea

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Hello Andrea and Don.
Happy New Year! Thank you very much for visiting us again and for your kind review.
We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I am so thankful that we stayed at La Quinta Troppo! This was our first time to visit Mexico and were just blown away by the great hospitality of the staff and Lee! Our room was perfect, with great views of the mountain and the surrounding beaches. I liked the porch outside the bedroom, it was perfect for hanging out and catching up on emails.The place was walking distance to the beaches and had easy access to taxi cabs when we decided to go to town. What I liked best about La Quinta Troppo was that it felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you. You know, during the last few years it has been a challenge to convince "old Mexico fans" to come visit, because of the negative press our country has been getting. The fact that you have never before been in Mexico and trusted our invitation and advise is very much appreciated. And I am happy we were able to share with you the experience of the friendly, hospitable and service oriented Mexican people. Zihuatanejo is a wonderful place and fortunately our American and Canadian friends a rediscovering Zihuatanejo and La Quinta Troppo.
Thank you for your visit and your kind review. Esta es su casa.
Happy 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at La Quinta Troppo in May, and absolutely loved it. This hotel was an exceptional value for the level of luxury and service that you get. The service was amazing- the staff are very friendly and attentive. Our room was large and we loved to spend evenings out on the patio in the hammock- just be sure to bring bug spray! We loved the luxurious details, like having fresh ground, organic coffee left outside your room every morning for you to enjoy on the patio. The complementary continental breakfast consisted of fruit and pastry/breads and was very good. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk down the hill to La Playa Ropa. While some reviews we read said that the hill is too steep to climb up on the way back to the hotel, we had no problems at all and never took a taxi back from the beach. Overall, one of our favorite locations that we definitely plan to come back to some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Neptuno, and would definitely recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you kindly for your review and comments.
We all at La Quinta Troppo hope you come to visit us again soon and wish you a happy, healthy, prosperous and fortunate 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent a week at Troppo in May 2013. We were looking for a place to unwind that was quiet, romantic and what I would call "barefoot luxury". We hate the big air conditioned beach resorts and hoped that Troppo would turn out to be a little paradise. It was in every way and our expectations were exceeded. From our initial inquiry to Lee via Email to throughout our stay, everyone there was very nice and took great care of us. Erica is fabulous as the Manager and she makes you feel like you are welcomed into her home. The owner, Lee, is wonderful, and has done a great job with the people there. They have stayed with him, which says a lot about how a place operates. The breakfasts and lunches are wonderfully prepared and you have a variety of things to choose from. They give you great advice on where to go for dinner (lots of good choices close by) or you could opt to stay in and have a light bite there. All you have to do is ask, and they will take care of you. Our room was fabulously romantic- with open doors and windows and a magnificent view of the bay above La Ropa beach. We never needed air conditioning. It is a positive that the place is about 5 minutes up from the beach as it catches the ocean breezes, and the beach is wonderful, but very busy and noisy. I had initially been looking for a place right on the beach, but am really glad I chose Troppo. We left happy and feeling lucky that we had made some new friends at Troppo. We plan to go back again! They have spa services available, but we did not try them. They arranged for my husband to use the fitness center at a larger hotel a few steps away, and it was perfect.

Room Tip: The open air rooms are wonderful- try it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

I am very happy that we met your expectations and especially regarding one important comment your made:
"It is a positive that the place is about 5 minutes up from the beach as it catches the ocean breezes, and the beach is wonderful, but very busy and noisy. I had initially been looking for a place right on the beach, but am really glad I chose Troppo."
Although few of our guests mention this in the review, I believe it is a central regarding the quality of the experience.
Thank you once more, come back soon and have a great 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here in January this year, after an absence of 5-6 yrs, and if possible, it is better than ever. Some of the same efficient friendly staff, (Erika, great to see you again!!) The charismatic new owner Lee adds his European charm and flair to La Quinta, making our stay memorable. We felt like we were living in our own staffed private villa. The setting is magnificent, the town of Zihuantanejo reminds one of how Mexico used to be, friendly helpful locals, delightful dining, charming children playing in the town courtyard. We never felt unsafe at any time, we went to restaurants and walked around town in the evenings, with no fear whatsoever. We plan to go back, taking our grown children, spouses and grandchild, so they can experience perfection.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful, private and luxurious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee K, Owner at La Quinta Troppo, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank your for your kind words regarding our staff and the hotel. I especially appreciate your comment regarding the town and ambiance in Zihuatanejo. As the say: "You hit the nail on the head!" You might not know, but the first ever sea faring expeditons from The Americas across the Pacific ocean left from Zihuatanejo almost 500 years ago. The town has history, flair and charm!
We all at La Quinta Troppo with you a very happy 2014!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#22 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
148 reviews
0 mi away
La Villa Luz
La Villa Luz
#29 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Cuitlateca
Casa Cuitlateca
#28 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
Villa Guadalupe Hotel
#45 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
33 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#65 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Troppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Troppo

Address: Playa la Ropa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#11 Spa Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $190 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Troppo 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Troppo is a designer boutique hotel overlooking the beautiful bay of Zihuatanejo, La Ropa and Las Gatas beaches. We provide privacy and tropical luxury in a 9 suite hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Quinta Troppo Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Hotel Zihuatanejo
La Quinta Zihuatanejo
Zihuatanejo La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing