We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it”
Review of Nardo's

Nardo's
Ranked #36 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Found this gem in the Calle Adelita area, just down the hill from Rufo's. Best margarita's we've ever tasted. The special was "fish stack" that was mahi-mahi rolled around a stuffing of shrimp and vegetable, topped with a cream sauce! Best meal of the week. Service was outstanding.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank obsession57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    35
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We went to Nardo's twice while in Zihuatanejo. There is some street and utility improvements in progress, so it's a bit difficult to see if they are open. It's worth the effort to get there. First, you will be greeted by Alexis who is energetic and very polite. You'll also be greeted by Ferrari and then Nardo (1). All of them do their best to assist you. Secondly, the food is outstanding. We had the Caprese salad and it is excellent, with really nice ripe tomatoes with a special oil/? dressing and basil. Nice way to start a meal. I had pasta with an assortment of seafood which was great and my wife had fettucine with very large shrimp in a white cream sauce. I enjoy wine and they have a very nice selection. It really is worth a trip to see them and a very neat little restaurant,

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billymn723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently great food and service”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have mixed feelings about bringing attention to Nardo's. The chef and everyone who works there deserve the highest praise, but it's kind of like sharing the map to hidden treasure. After sampling dozens of Zihua's restaurants during visits last year and this year, I keep returning to Nardo's as my favorite, both for the delicious food prepared by Chef Hilario and for the attentive, gracious, utterly welcoming service provided by Norma, Armando, Ferrari and Nardo, Jr. I can recommend everything on their breakfast and dinner menu with the exception of steak, which like the steak at every restaurant I've tried in Zihua, tends to be tougher than North Americans are accustomed to, even in the best cuts. Seafood, pasta and chicken dishes -- both from regular menu and in HIlario's frequent specials -- are amazingly good. Only thing holding this restaurant back is that, shortly after Nardo's moved to its new location on Calle Adelita this fall, the city began tearing up the street for repairs and reduced foot traffic past the restaurant to a trickle. I suspect that once street repairs are finished, Nardo's will lose its status as a hidden gem.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lightstream_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible food at lowest price with great service”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This outdoor restaurant under a lean to does not look like much. But the family staff is friendly, delivers great service for the superb meals, all at rock bottom prices. I had a thick piece of tuna that covered the plate and could have served two people. Wife had dorado, almost as large. Price of $40 was less than half the price of the same meal with smaller portions at a fancy restuarant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Telnouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Personal Service”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were looking at some signs on the corner from this restaurant. A gentleman asked us if we were looking for a good place to eat and recommended Nardo's. He worked there and would give us free drinks if we came. We got his name and he got ours. We did go back that night and he remembered us and remembered he had promised free drinks. We had margaritas and they were some of the best we have had. The place was quaint and small, but the 2 waiters were very friendly and called us by name all the time. They had an excellent white wine. The food was fantastic. I had coconut encrusted chicken breast stuffed with shrimp, spinach and cheese with a tamarind sauce on top. It was a wonderful meal and the tastes were fantastic. They had a bbq at the entrance when you came in. Had a wonderful starter of slices of tomatoes with cheese and basil on top in oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. Presentation was very nice. Food was reasonable. We ate there twice. Local entertainment came in which just played up by the bar and then walked around after to see if you wanted to donate to the group. They had drums and pan flutes and guitar. Very nice touch. Also nicer than having the mariachi bands walking around to each table. There is road construction on the street so it is dusty to walk down, but don't let that stop you. Lots of people came to eat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nardo's also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Nardo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing