We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zihuatanejo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rincon del Viajero
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Mali was very helpful in showing us places to see do in Zihuatanejo. Her mango smoothies are amazing aswell. Of course there were a lot of mosquitos, but that comes with the tropical nature of the place. We were a group of 7, boys all slept in 1 dorm and myself and another girl in a private room. Very hot at nights, outdoor shower didn't bother us. The only downfall was the toilet next to our room didn't flush for 2/3 days, so we'd have to use the bathrooms in our friends room. Other than that its close to town, and a nice place to relax

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rinee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We had mixed feelings about our stay here.

The hostal is in a nice garden setting and the communal area is nice. Nice place for a cold beer / smoothie.

We stayed in a private room. It was clean but very basic. The room was very hot at night and we heard it was the same in the dorms so if you don't handle heat well this may not be the place for you (rooms have a fan). Few mozzies and ants in the room but no biggie.

The toilet didn't flush unless we manually filled the cistern every time. The showers are outside with only a curtain and there are no hooks for your towel etc so you kind of have to dump your stuff including towels and clothes on the ground outside the shower or it will get wet.

We paid about 320 pesos for the room which seems a bit steep given how basic everything was, but in the context of zihuatanejo is probably fair. Not sure we would stay here again though.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank robby71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinalli5, Propietario at El Rincon del Viajero, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

thank you guys for your coments and been with us, even in the warmest time of the year!
yes we have a great jungler garden with naturally bugs control. even when we dont use pesticides gekos keeps moskitos under control, and ants are moving from one side to another before is raining so you'll maybe meet some lost ants in your room... but we dont kill them. they co-exist with us, and got here before we build this place... so we respect them and keeping clean the roos is our way to keep them away... even when the beach is 5 mins walking, we are about to make avaliable a zen-bath in the garden for keep us fresh. and yes sometimes things brakes the normality like the toilet issue. but not for long ... as giving our best is a priority !

we love you here and do our best always!

Mali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my boyfriend for 3nights, the place is so beautiful and peaceful! You feel like your in a jungle, and mali the owner was so nice to us! Many room choices and different prices! Such a zen town we loved it!! If you go you must try malis smoothies, theyre so good!! Thanks again, manu and karo! Xx

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Karolambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinalli5, Propietario at El Rincon del Viajero, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

thank you guys for been here and your apreciation for my self and our place. I wish you can comeback again and again!

love. Mali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A sigle women travelling Mexico, I felt at home and completely safe and happy at this place. Everyone was nice. Quiet time at 10 pm. Breakfasts were amazing. Mali was helpful and its obvious she cares about her place. So nice having a "Canadian" dog there named Troy. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaKatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Mali's place, as my friend and I would call the hostel, is by far the best place we have stayed in Mexico so far. First of all is Mali (the owner of the hostel) a first class hostess. Not only would she always have tips on where too eat cheap food, where to snorkle or where to buy groceries - she would take a real interest in every one of her guests and make sure that they felt at home. Secondly the place has a beautiful garden with many places to chill out and a bar with breakfast and drinks. All in all I can only reccomend El Rincon de Viajero if you go to Zihuatanejo!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My friend and I arrived very late at night in Zihuatanejo and ended up staying at a different hostel for one evening. After 1 evening elsewhere, we knew we needed something different. When we woke up the next morning, we took a short taxi ride to Rincon Del Viajero. We were immediately greeted by Mali, the owner and single staff member. We had originally booked just 3 nights, but ended up staying for nearly two weeks. While the amenities are not luxurious, the atmosphere is perfect. The common area includes a bar in the middle of an outdoor atrium, which is filled with a beautiful garden. Mali is the perfect host, and we felt like our experience here was closer to a home stay than it was a hostel. She took us to a beach 30 minutes away for a nice day trip. She has been very helpful with giving us directions, making recommendations on restaurants, and being a wonderful host in general. In our time here, we have met several other travelers from all over the world, and everyone seems to enjoy sitting by the bar in the evenings and sharing travel stories. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys a great host, a nice garden, and a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and felt very at home. Mali is the sweetest person. She made us feel totally comfortable and was there for all of our questions. The hostel is a sweet and simple little garden surrounded by individual rooms so there is good privacy. I also loved the open air feeling of the place. The common areas are very inviting-with amazing flowers growing everywhere. Mali made us smoothies the morning we were leaving from her stash of sooo many different kinds of fresh fruits.They were delicious.
This place is prime for going to the beach, we walked five minutes to the Playa Principal and took a cheap boat across the bay to Las Gatas. There are good places to eat close by, even for vegetarians!
I would highly recommend this hostel and hope to stay again some day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#40 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
2.3 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
83 reviews
3 mi away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
869 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bungalows Solecito
Bungalows Solecito
#2 of 5 in Barra de Potosi
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rincon del Viajero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rincon del Viajero

Address: Calle Paseo de Las Salinas 50 | Lazaro Cardenas, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $17 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical oasis with a"tranquilo" flair. We are self sustainable comunity of artists and travellers commited tocare for our health and enviroment.Travelle's nook is a home by it self for those who are looking for relaxing time or just to get over a long trip. yoga and meditation practice are avaliable everyday.our coffee sets up from 8 am. offering you vegetarian-vegan breakfast/brunch,or the catch of the day!although from noon you can refresh your self in our bio- bar with smoothies,beer,spirits or wine until 9pm. If you decide to stay more than few days ask for our art/ artcraft workshops. We are located 5 mins. Walking to the principal beach, in the traditional neifhborhood of "la noria" wellknown by the fisherman comunity and warm people.if you want to share your skills don't hesitate to ask for voluntiering! Contact us here.😉 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing