We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit”

El Refugio de Potosi
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Nature Tour: Lagoon Boat Ride and Visit to El Refugio de Potosi Wildlife Refuge
Ranked #17 of 59 things to do in Zihuatanejo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Now closed.
Denver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was a nice getaway from the beach and to see how special the wildlife is around this area. The staff are very knowledgeable and seem passionate about their jobs. Please donate so this great little gem can keep educating others!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    17
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
243 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Such a great example of wildlife conservation!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Out of our week long stay in Zihua this was one of my most favorite activities we did! I wasn't expecting much to the place, but its really amazing. First go up the lookout tower to see a 360 degree view of ocean, lagoon and mountains. Then take the guided tour. All of the animals are either rescues or for mating purposes and they all have large clean habitats. The guides are very knowledgeable and will take the time to answer any questions or to just let you sit and observe the animals. The animals we saw were iguanas, porcupine (so cute!), armadillo, humming birds, parrots, spiders, snakes, turtles, etc. I wish them all the luck in their efforts!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Must see, best place to experience the local wildlife”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We went to the Refugio as part of our Ixtapa Adventours tour to Barra de Potosi'. We had an excellent guide (Javier) who walked us through Refugio and told us alot about all the animals. The exhibits were spacious and clean for the animals, which is of outmost importance. Many of the animals were injured or former pets that wouldn't be able to adapt back in the wild so they now had a caring environment. So this wasn't a zoo, which I have mixed feelings about. Rather, a true refuge for animals needing it. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. Don't miss the Mexican dwarf porcupine, Lala, the sweetest little animal. And the baby amardillo.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Up close and personal”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We went to the refuge as part of Adventours' Adventure in Potosi. I was most surprised by the variety of birds they were caring for: parrots, hawks, eagles, and a pigmy owl. This wasn't like a zoo where you were blocked off from really experiencing the animals up-close. But it was safe and obvious that the animals were treated with respect and care. At only 3 years old, this refuge will obviously grow to be a substantial sanctuary for the wildlife of Mexico.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank acopernicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paseo por el refugio potosi”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

this is the best place for enjoy your vacation on this area is very natural expereince whit animal and birds

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jose manuel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Refugio de Potosi also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Refugio de Potosi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing