We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous Zihua find!”
Review of Carmelitas Cafe

Carmelitas Cafe
Ranked #2 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family business for over 20 years we were located within the Airport Zihuatanejo, the business was called "Snack Bar - El Mirador"; but in 2008 we decided to leave the anonymity and moved to town with a new "Carmelite Cafe" concept. The mission of Carmen and Don Jesus was always clear, offer our customers the best dining experience in Zihuatanejo. During these years we have been aware of the importance of treating our guests like family. We pride ourselves everyday to trust Cafe Carmelites to treat at home; therefore, we insist that the recipes of Mrs. Carmelita, always keep the flavor of the Mexican family kitchen. We will always have an eye to providing the best quality in each of our dishes; leaving aside, a friendly smile and a humble to serve our customers heart. We cook for you like for our own home, without shortcuts, no frills, with love.
Sammamish
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fabulous Zihua find!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've been coming to Zihua for 8 years and had never even heard of this restaurant. A friend of ours found it on Trip Advisor and we decided to give it a try. So glad we did.
We walked the first time, and took a taxi the second time. Taxi drivers know the restaurant, so even though it is off the beaten track, you can easily find it by taxi.
They serve fresh yummy juices. Their hotcakes (order flat style if you have a kid that likes traditional pancakes) are delicious, better than any pancake I've made or ordered. I ordered chiliquiles with chicken and green sauce. Fabulous. Another time I ordered chili rellones- order the ones with fresh cheese. Fabulous.
Finally, the ricotta cheese dip that they offer as a precursor to the meal is to die for. Do NOT refuse this. It is to die for. Don't be afraid to ask for the pastry basket so you can choose a yummy pastry or two.
Carmelita came to our table the second time we visited. She made my daughter a flower bracelet. So thoughtful.
Be aware they don't take credit cards...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theSels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    85
    28
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Glad I Found It”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

It wasn't easy to find, but I am very glad we did. We had the ribs, which were excellent, and a suggestion from our waiter for some authentic Mexican food, chiles rellenos, was also excellent. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It wasn't busy so we had nice conversations with them. If you're trying to find it, ask for directions to the mini supermarket El Cacahuate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wondrful food,great service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

If your looking for great mexican food visit this resturant.The food is wonderful and the service is excepional.The whole experince is great from start to finish.Tacos de pollo,chiles rellano and the enchiladas are very tasty.Had a sample of the pork ribs,those will be next on our list.Carmelita's is a hidden gem,it is about half a block from Papa Loca.Try it out.Doris and sisters from Sask.Canada

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNITED STATES
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“We finally found it!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We wandered around a few days prior trying to find this place and when we finally did we enjoyed it. My Mexican eggs and beans were so good. The salsa they place on your table so good. Three varieties to choose from.

It's a family run business and the owner was right there making sure we enjoyed our meal. Such a beautiful smile. Her son is taking after her in attentiveness.

Nice clean bathrooms.

A gal making fresh tortilla's on the outdoor grill. Love atmosphere with plants and celling fans quieting the area you forget you are almost on the street. They did a nice job of tucking this place in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MARYANN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“definately the best of local cuisine”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited this place after several other foodie tourists told us not to miss it.
and they were right.
It is authentic, clean and the staff go out of their way to be friendly and welcoming.
It was also nice that it did not feel at all like a tourist trap...lots of local people as well, which is usually a good sign.
We first went there the day before leaving and liked it so much we returned the same day our airplane was taking off.
Didn't have enough pesos left and there was no problem paying in canandian dollars.
It is a bit hard to find...but we just asked the bus driver to let us off close to "Super el Cacahuate" which every local person seems to be familiar with. Then he pointed in the direction we need to go and it was a 3 minute walk from there. The surrounding area is semi-industrial with a lot of car dealerships and several car washes(one right next door).
In spite of this, once inside there are plants everywhere and it feels like a garden.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlene a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelitas Cafe also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Carmelitas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing