We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of El Mediterraneo

El Mediterraneo
Ranked #47 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: the front as a bar , and tables for drinking or for lunch or super and also people watch, and also a garden in the back of the restaurant Mediterranean style open air .
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Have had many dinners at El Mediterraneo this winter and loved everything about the place, the food, the service and the atmosphere!! From the Tuna Sushimi to the Filet Mignon it has all been perfect!!!!!

Thank you so much, Julian and staff

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank inzihua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    32
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Enjoyable”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

First of all, the entrance and patio lounge immediately invite you into the main restaurant, which is not only lovely, but romantic. The host, Julian, is very charming and pleasant and really enjoys welcoming and chatting with the customers,which made us feel at home. Julian enjoyed describing how each dish was prepared for presentation. I enjoyed it so much, as did each of my friends. We hope to return before we leave for another enjoyable and tasty meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mediterraneo - Moved but still wonderful food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Mediterraneo has moved next door to the Catholic Church downtown. Even though it is in a different location it still has some of the best food in town. Whether you are there for their tasty tuna, one of their many shrimp dishes or something Italian the cooks and the wonderful staff there will not let you down. Julian is there to assist with anything you need and make sure your evening is perfect. I even like the new location when I thought I would not. Part of the new location is facing the street with a bar look and behind is a fabulous private garden with plants and trees. Makes you sure you are in Mexico. You will not be disappointed in this new location and it's great menu.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank zihuagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Things have got even better!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Mediterraneo moved locations and things have got even better. The food - service have always been great. Now add in the bar setting, the back patio, the great artwork, soothing music and we have Z-ambience Mediterraneo-style. Owner Julian always puts a smile on our faces and we can't wait until our next visit to see him, raise our glass in a toast to Mediterraneo while perusing the menu for our next great meal (lunch or dinner). We always recommend Mediterreano to our guests of La Villa, a boutique hotel, in Zihuatanejo and they come back with big thanks each time; now that is testimonial in itself. Cheers!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

There are a handful of places in Zihuantanejo that are on the “do not miss” list, and El Mediterraneo is definitely one of them. My wife and I have been frequenting this place for a couple years now because the service and quality of food are exceptional. My favorite dish there is the tuna sashimi, but I have never had anything that I was disappointed with. They have moved and are now located on Calle Cinco de Mayo in Old Zihua. There is a quaint little courtyard in the back and several tables up front, but no matter where you sit, you will enjoy the experience, as there are no peddlers allowed inside. For you art lovers, there are beautiful paintings throughout, and most of them are for sale. So, do yourself a favor and make this one of your dining choices while staying in the Zihantanejo/Ixtapa area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrylka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mediterraneo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to El Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing