We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food...unfortunately they were out of Al Pastor”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Papa Loca

La Papa Loca
Ranked #40 of 320 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A lot of places claim to be for the "locals" but this place actually is where they eat. The name means "crazy potato" in English and that is their speciality. Huge baked potato's filled with buttter, sour cream, cheese and then a variety of meats. Their tacos al pastor and pico de gallo are the best I've ever tasted. Nothing on the menu is more than $50 peso's or about $4usd. Very popular spot with the locals and tourist's that want to experience authentic Mexican food..
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food...unfortunately they were out of Al Pastor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good food...especially their unique potatoes. I came for the Al Pastor, but they didn't have any when we arrived. They were just loading the spit with another batch.

My wife was a little turned off by the cooks (they cook right out in the open) that had plenty of cross-contamination opportunities. We know it goes on probably at many restaurants in Mexico...but seeing right before you eat is disconcerting.

That said, I'd probably try it again for the Al Pastor and the taters.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfpmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you like potatoes, don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Located near El Centro, this is a "hole in the wall" that serve a huge variety of stuffed potatos. Very popular, and very, very inexpensive. We ate here 2 or 3 times - always good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy spuds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Yummy. This place was fabulous! Very good food with a great price! All their specials can be made spud style or with tortillas. The potatoes were excellent. We ate here last week with a party of 11, with 5 kids! No margs, but plenty of beer. My only thing I didn't like was it is right on the main street, which was loud and not the best... The food made up for it! You have to try it, you won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNMexicoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worlds Best Potatoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Huge baked potatoe which is mashed when you get it. Variety of meat or vegetable toppings. This sidewalk cafe's clientele is 50% local.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Telnouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Disappointing tacos al pastor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were so looking forward to eating tacos al pastor here, as they are one of our favourite things to eat in Mexico. However, not at La Papa Loca....they just weren't very good. We actually can get better ones in our little Canadian city. The sauces on the table didn't appeal to me either. While they are very cheap at 5 for 20 pesos, be aware that they are very tiny tacos, not the usual size.

Papa Loca was very busy and bustling when we were there, but we did get a seat immediately. The ambiance is not good, basically it felt like you were sitting in a parking lot with the busy street just a few feet away. I like street taco stands, but this seemed worse.

Service was great, friendly and efficient. I should have tried the baked potatoes.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Papa Loca also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Papa Loca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing