We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Otilia's Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 326 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: This restaurant is located on a small cove and can only be reached by water taxi from the pier. There are about 10 restaurants on this isolated cove. They have no actual address, no electricty, no telephone and all food/beverages are brought in by the water taxi's. Otilia's is mentioned many times under Things to Do on the Zihua Forum under "Las Gatas" and should be listed under Restaurants. This is a very popular place with great food and fantastic location. You can enjoy your meal with your feet in the sand and the very clear ocean water a few yards away. Snorkeling is also available from the white sand beach.
White Rock, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Otilia's is the place to go when visiting Las Gatas! Great food . . amazing service . . . Franco will look after your every need and question. Franco made sure we were well looked after . . taking pictures . . .putting our chairs in the water . . giving us advice for adventures in the Zihuatenejo vicinity . . he wants you want to fully enjoy your time at Las Gatas! Otilia's is a MUST! Never had such attentive service!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheBrew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    23
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great service”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is our go to place when we go over to Las Gatas. It is at the end of the beach, the next to last place. As you walk by all of the other places, and they are trying to get you to stop, you tell them you are going to see Franco. They all say "Oh, Franco, he's the bandido!" which is hilarious. Franco has been at Otilia forever, and he's very popular. They make the best limonada I have ever had, I think about it all year until I go back. The beers are a pretty good deal, but make sure to ask for extra ice or they won't be that cold. The food is good and fresh. Make sure you take pesos, as they will only give you a 10 pesos to the dollar exchange. And double check your bill, the owner sometimes charges you for an extra bucket of beer that you didn't have, but if you show Franco he takes care of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must Destination in Zihua”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A visit to Zihua is not complete without a visit to Restaurante Otilia at Playa Las Gatas where you will be welcomed by El Capitan of Las Gatas - Franco. After disembarking from the boat you must walk in front of all of the beach restaurants and be subject to the gauntlet of invitations to anchor at each of them. If you politely respond to each offer with "tiene reservacion con Franco" your restauranteur will acknowledge Franco with the respect that he is due and you be on your way to the hot pink tablecloths of Otilia. Franco is a legend at Las Gatas and for good reason. Not only will he provide wit and charm, but he will make sure that you have what you need, whether it be water sports equipment, beverages, wonderfully prepared beach lunches or advice on your love life, to have the most fun and relaxing experience in Zihua. And at the end of the day, he will even arrange for his friend to provide a private boat trip across Zihua Bay. Franco will ensure that the highlight of your visit to Zihua is the day you spend as his guest at Las Gatas. By the way, it is absolutely the best place to swim in Zihua. On you next visit to Zihua, you will definitely return to Las Gatas to visit Franco because you know that he will give you the royal treatment and all will be "peachy keen."

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZihuaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Spot on the Beach”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Franko (over on Las Gatos beach) gave us great service while we enjoyed an afternoon of leisure. He was fun and very attentive. Food was great (especially loved the coconut shrimp)!

Helpful?
Thank ittybittyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, MN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a hightlight of our trip!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Franco always treats us so well that we have continued to return to Otilia's year after year! The Coconut Shrimp is amazing and we were given a lesson in how to make the dipping sauce for it. We try to get there around 10-10:30 so that we can get the area on the beach under the tree. We are already looking forward to seeing Franco next year! He cracks us up with his one liners, "Peachy Keen", "Groovy", "Okey Dokey". He provides the entertainment free of charge!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestlyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otilia's Restaurant also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Otilia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing