We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Memo's Italian Restaurant

Don Memo's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #76 of 317 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We love coming here. Don is so nice and loves to visit with everyone to make sure things are fine. We managed at least 5 visits during our 6 week stay. Love the atmosphere, food is great. Large portions so we usually get two dishes and split them. Service is great. Nice location downtown and very easy to find. Just look for the building with the tower.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mngal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I visited Don Memo's on a Wednesday evening and as the main restaurant was full we were seated in "the tower" overlooking the street. Apparently we were forgotten as we sat and sat waiting for service. The thought crossed our minds to walk out but after reading good reviews and recommendations from others decided to stay. So we had to go downstairs to get a server then again go down to order another drink and eventually our meal arrived. The food was delicious but in my opinion, didn't quite make up for the lack of service. There are lots of great restaurants in Zihuatanejo with good prices and attentive service so will we return to Don Memo's? Unlikely but you never know .......

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“not quite the same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

we love the restaurant and have been many times but this time we felt something is not quite the same prices up quality down ...yes still good but something feels different just can't put my finger on it

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank horseshoeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Lasagne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We only had one week this year in Zihuat and one of the restaurants we had to return to was Don Memo’s. I know, a bit crazy to head for Lasagna when in Mexico, but who can go out for such delicious lasagna for only 80 pesos at home???? It is even better value when you consider the serving size and the fresh and tasty garlic toast that accompanies the meal. You can make it as spicy as you want with added hot sauce. We also shared a huge tomato salad to start (only 40 pesos), so glad we didn’t each order one. We don’t ever expect much of the house wine in Mexico, but were quite impressed with their Merlot selection and such a great price at only 40 pesos per glass. We were too full for desert. Luis was our young waiter and we want to say thank you for helping make our evening memorable (we were also very impressed with his English). We have never eaten anything else here, but we really can recommend the lasagna!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Lasagna in a restaurant EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I love cooking italian; and make a pretty mean lasagna and sunday gravy myself. I typically am a bit of a snob when it comes to italian restaurants because... I like mine better! That being said, Don Memo's is a Zihuat must! Such a cute little spot, Don is a piece of work- my husband ordered a Jack and Coke "Jackie Coka", and they couldn't find any Jack Daniels, so he runs to our table with a huge bottle of something else and just kept pouring! They treat you like family- very sweet. And the salad, garlic bread and lasagna were AMAZING! Seriously you need to try it. So so good. Oh! They even put an Eagles concert on TV for us... which was funny, sweet and entertaining!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCDIVERDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Memo's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Don Memo's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing