We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family effort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant El Arrayan

Restaurant El Arrayan
Ranked #4 of 317 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: It is located on a street with more options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We have a small garden on the other side of the street where we located some of our tables, the area is characterised by the fact that most people walk down the road as it is a closed and there are few vehicles, it is very quiet And the sea, the square and the main market are only a few meters away. Restaurant "The Arrayán" account with service of breakfast and lunch hours of 08:30 to 16:00 hours, and from October to April Dinner service stretching up to the 22:00 hours. Attended by their owners. Thank you for your preference! It is a pleasure to serve you!!! Now is open friday and saturday grill dinner.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

You can tell this business means a lot to the owner. He is there making the food right in front of you. His whole family are also there working along side him. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is perfect especially if live music happens to be there and the service is wonderful. The family owned and operated restaurant makes you feel special. The chef/owner was even dancing in the streets with his clientelle. You don't see that everyday!

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    51
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, AB
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Great value and food. Get there early for dinner as it is small and fills up quickly. Had the fish tacos and they were fabulous. Great flavours. My husband had the mahi mahi and it was great too. Appears all family members are involved in the business. Highly recommend El Arrayan.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
316 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Succulent, perfectly cooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Having read the excellent reviews on Trip Adviser we decided to try this little restaurant and were not disappointed. In fact we strolled past one night to see what it looked like and stopped for a margarita and watched Mauricio cooking on the BBQ - everything looked fantastic and we were impressed. At this time all the tables were taken, so we reserved a table for the following week. Fortunate because when we arrived all the tables, except our reserved one, had been taken.

Our food was excellent. I had the fish tacos, which were succulent and tender - the fish was tuna and the whole dish was fresh and fragrant with a subtle taste of lime. My husband had the coconut prawns with mango sauce - again perfectly cooked. We also had pina coladas to before our meal, which had been made to perfection.

Mauricio and his family who serve the food are charming and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and they create a great atmosphere. This restaurant is definitely a great addition to the restaurant scene in Zihua. There are only a small number of tables, so either go early or book. This is definitely a restaurant not to be missed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just returned from 2 weeks in Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Other guests at our resort told us that this place had the best fish tacos. So we headed there to try them out. They were fabulous...solid chucks of fish, a slice of cactus, and a slice of cheese (not sure what kinds, but it did not melt and get runny). It was very tasty with a sweet pineapple (I think) sauce. We decided to try out their breakfast the next day since the fish tacos were so tastey. We had a great breakfast...a fruit platter with yogurt (banana, payaya - so good, mango, pineapple, melon), Mexican style scrambled eggs with bacon on the side, but their coffee was the best we have had in Zihua. The owner said he gets it from people who grow the coffee high in the mountains around Acapulco. Their bano was so clean and cheery with plenty of toilet paper. The owner was very friendly and explained too about a special tree he has the has the most unique flowers that come out in the evening. They take just minutes to open and they look like little fiber optic trees. The flowers only last for 15 hours and then they fall off.

This restaurant in on a newly constructed street. When we were in Zihua 2 years ago, this street was under construction. It runs parallel to the canal on the bay side. The prices are great too...less than on the water front restaurants. Well worth your while to locate this gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Queenbrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveleth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small restaurant, great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

My party of six was invited by friends to join them at one of their favorite places to eat in Z, and they certainly didn't disappoint! Mauricio and his family did a wonderful job of giving us a great dining experience. Despite a limited menu, everything we ordered was done to perfection on Mauricio's grill.

You are dining outdoors on the sidewalk/patio, but that just adds to the experience. Include the tree that has the large blossoms virtually pop out at you at dusk and you have a wonderful dinner!

We will be adding El Arrayan to our list of annual be-backs!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Arrayan also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Restaurant El Arrayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing