We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood at bargain prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariscos Chendo

Mariscos Chendo
Ranked #59 of 317 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood at bargain prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had dinner here for the third year in a row. This is one of the best seafood restaurants in Zihuatanejo. First of wall, we are from Central Illinois and fresh seafood isn't available....anywhere, so to eat at a restaurant like this with these prices is spectacular. This time we both had the fish filet which was cooked to perfection. The sides of rice and fresh vegetables are also very tasty. We ate everything on our plates. We also had the ceviche for an appetizer and it is not only the biggest portion we've had in Zihuatanejo, but the best flavor also!! We each had a crepe for dessert. Wow. SO GOOD. Excellent service also. Full bar. We had a bottle of wine here and paid 100 pesos less than the same bottle at another restaurant located downtown. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maryjon4845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
124 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Went back for the Shrimp Azul....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Oh my, this is one of the absolute best pieces of food I have EVER put in my mouth!!!!! The walnut shrip and fish are wonderful also. You MUST go here and try the Shrimp Azul.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetSusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
121 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“yummy shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

this was another one of those back alley finds that was recommended to us ...we had the bacon wrapped cheese stuffed shrimp covered in a creamed chipotle sauce yummmmmm is all I can say they also brought out samples of the cocnut shrimp and walnut shrimp on the house and all I can say again is yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm will be back for sure great quack as well

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank horseshoeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We always have the shrimp and local fish along with a bottle of wine and enjoy the low key atmosphere of this family run restaurant. The service is very attentive and the food is cooked to order. We enjoy having dinner here with its mix of locals and tourists. On our last visit the earth moved thanks to a 5.1 earthquake!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyBJax_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST coconut shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This little place by the canal (which is dry this time of the year) had awesome coconut shrimp. We'll be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shjones44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Chendo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Mariscos Chendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing