We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Shrimp I have ever tasted!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariscos Chendo

Mariscos Chendo
Ranked #58 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp I have ever tasted!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Zihuatanejo is our favorite place because of the food and the people. Chendos is a perfect example of fantastic food--- the coconut shrimp are amazing and warm and welcoming service. The bacon wrapped chipolte shrimp were my husband's favorite. The prices and service are fantastic. Two shrimp dinners with enough left for lunch for me the next day, and 3 beers under 300 pesos!! We rarely repeat a restaurant as we were only there 7 days---but had to go back a second time for that coconut shrimp!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank encantagatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Really cute place, food was fine but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We went here based on the raves from other reviewers. I had to try the coconut shrimp. It was very tasty but like a heart attack with the breading 3:1 to the shrimp and some cream cheese filling and creamy dip. The stuffed fish was also good but had so much breading on it. The service was very kind and atmosphere generally quaint but there has got to be fresher, healthier options in zihuatenejo. (?)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really good - recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We went because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. There was no one else in the restaurant, everyone is suffering due to the street being dug up. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal! We couldn't make up our minds about which shrimp dish to order so the lovely young lady serving us said, why not try them all? We did and were very impressed. The coconut prawns were on a level with others, but the nut encrusted and shrimp in red sauce were to die for. The family cooks, serves, and cares for their customers. The prices are great. We will definately return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickey1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coconut Shrimp was the BEST we ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Imagine Coconut Shrimp with a spoonful of cream cheese inside and then dipped in Pina Colada sauce. It was so good my mouth waters thinking about it. My husband also had Seafood Pasta. There was a cream sauce on the spaghetti and then shrimp, octopus, crab meat and lobster over it. On another night he tried Stuffed Mahi Mahi. It was shrimp and lobster rolled up in the fish and then deep-fried. I stayed with the Coconut Shrimp all 3 times we were there. The restaurant is run by a very lovely family. The daughters wait tables and help their mother cook the food. The street leading to it was being paved while we were there but it was still easy to get there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Probably the best shrimp we have ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We ate lunch here twice during our stay and would have eaten there even more often if we had found it earlier in our stay. We had the shrimp platter with nine shrimp. There were three wrapped in bacon with a chipotle sauce, three with walnuts and a maple flavored dipping sauce and three with coconut and a coconut milk dipping sauce. The margaritas here were some of the best we found too. I probably won't be able to recreate the preparation but plan to try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeanfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariscos Chendo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to Mariscos Chendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing