We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic Spot in Zihuatanejo”

Espuma Mediterraneo
Ranked #6 of 263 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mediterenean style, A la carte menu , This magic place combines good food and exquisite architectural design, result of the careful handling between the wood and stone materials native from the region.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is the most beautiful view and romantic spot in all of Zihuat. And the food is as amazing as the view. This place is a must during your stay. Nina and Reid

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reidcallanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

Overlooking the bay atop Playa del Ropa in Zihuatenejo, softly dim lights & New Age music, a continuous showing of the beautiful film Ashes &Snow, are all the perfect dramatic backdrop for a
culinary experience. The restaurant now offers a la carte selections in addition to the five course prix fixe menu. The selections include a nice variety of fish, meats and seafood. My lamb chops were perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. My friends loved the shrimp in chipotle sauce, and my husband enjoyed pork loin seasoned with lemongrass. I highly recommend the banana biscuit dessert. The service was professional and friendly. Espuma makes for a wonderful evening in Zihua.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

A beautiful place, amazing views and ambience, great service but......... the most important part is the food! Not great; soup and salads were good but entrees disappointing; plates were cold, food luke warm and the steak was tasty but tough and the pork overcooked. Lamb and fish was delicious but both luke warm. We were asked if we would like water, we said yes but did not expect to be served with water from Fiji that was 110p a bottle per person! Thats gouging and leaves a bad taste in your mouth. They don't advertise it but our neighbours were repeat visitors and had ordinary bottled water and brought their own wine and paid a corkage fee. Was a good evening but would not go again, they blotted their copy book!

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

You HAVE to go to Espuma on your trip to Zihuatanejo. We did the fixed price 5 course meal and every plate was delicious. We made it there just in time for the beautiful sunset and then enjoyed our dinner with a view of the ships in the bay and the hills lit up for the evening.

The host was gracious and made sure everything was taking care of (even my request of no shellfish).

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KaylaRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

2 years ago we walked by Espuma as it was being built. Last year we had heard from people at our hotel that the place was expensive and not as good. This year we heard that they had changed their pricing. And we saw that it was highly rated in Tripadvisor. So we gave it a try and were definitely not disappointed on any level.

We had eaten at it's sister restaurant Tentaciones last year (and gave it a rave review). I don't remember what I paid last year but I think that Espuma is in the same price range. The menu offers ala carte dining as well as a prix fixe "tasting menu" for 695 pesos (I think). We opted for the latter. This tasting menu allowed us to chose one offering from each of (I think) 6 courses. The serving portions for each course were a bit smaller than the norm - but definitely adequate (not tiny). And the quality of the food was superb.

Since Espuma is a bit down the hillside, the view - although wonderful - isn't as nice as up the hill at Tentaciones.

One last comment - we are from chicago, and find that the price at Espuma is lower than what we are used to pay for meals of comparable quality in Chicago. The bill for two of us - with tip and lots of wine was $190 (dollars not pesos). Definitely more than nearly all of the restaurants in Zihua. But for a meal of comparable quality and ambiance in Chicago we are used to much more. (Not that we do this more than maybe 3 times a year at home.) So we didn't find this to be outrageous at all.

Date of visit: January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dktenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espuma Mediterraneo also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
Zihuatanejo, Zihuatanejo de Azueta
 

Been to Espuma Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing