We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“la gula has a brother”
Review of La Gula

La Gula
Ranked #30 of 324 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
mtnview
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“la gula has a brother”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

the wonderful couple responsible for La Gula in playa madeira have now given a second, even more exciting option. just opened across the marina bridge up the hill from Lety's is casa bahia.
now one can savor the wonderful flavors of la gula while feasting on a panoramic view of beautiful zihua bay. with chef pepe at the helm providing some favorites and some great new dishes, the slow, delicious prparations now shine with a view. our new choice for special fine dining in zihua...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    19
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really wonderful”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

La Gula is located just off Playa Madera beach in a residential area, on the second floor of the building. The tile work on the stairs was really attractive and the dining room had a view of the street and residences which was very interesting. The food was very well done, they are "slow food proponents" and it is obvious that care and attention is paid to the ingredients. The stuffed chicken leg was delicious, and the salad of young coconut with hearts of palm was delicious and the presentation by lovely. Well worth going to, and the washrooms, spotless and a toilet seat! Obviously the owner is paying attention to the details. Go!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Zihuatanejo”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Real food made the traditional way everything was super fresh, tasty and delicate. We were surprise by the high creativity and quality of the food.
After 2 weeks in Ixtapa and Zihuatanejo we can definitely say that we had here out best meal. Although it has no bay view the place is very charming.
Recommended 100%

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aroberttissot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“so disappointing!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The dining setting is lovely, even with no view. Our waiter had trouble understanding my (not too bad) attempts at Spanish and our English, which is fine in an inexpensive restaurant. At these prices, you want to be understood. My husband had the shrimp medallion, which was so salty he sent it back as inedible. The owner told us that all the shrimp from the supplier that day was salty, and she would speak to him. He ordered another dish, which we have now forgotten - not memorable. I had the stuffed chicken leg, which was perfectly cooked and tender, but the flavors of the curry, apple, and stuffing just did not go together. And the plantain fritter was terrible.
Overall, I see no reason to go back for another try at these prices. I'd rather spend my money at Kau Kan, with its fabulous food and view.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chefnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If La Gula were in Portland, Oregon (our home), there would be lines out the door every night. The food is simply that good. And, as good as the food is, the presentation and the service are every bit as wonderful.

The Gigot de Gallina is a perfect metaphor for La Gula. Deboned sauteed chicken legs, stuffed with vegetables sauteed with rosemary and olive oil, are served on a sauce bed made from curry, coconut and apple. Off to one side is a plantain croquette, though like no croquette you've ever seen. The plantain and herbs are delicately shaped into a pear, quickly cooked, and then garnished with a basil sprig that looks for all the world like pear leaves. Completely delicious, with unexpected and entirely satisfactory pairings of ingredients, all turned into a work of art. That's La Gula.

Over the last five years we've been able to visit La Gula three times, with every visit better than the first (which was marvelous). We've been to most of the high-end restaurants in Zihua over the years. To be sure, some have breathtaking views and more upscale settings. No one, though, has better food or a more wonderful dining experience. A bonus -- live music, great art on the walls, and authentic Mexican decor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catullus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gula also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Gula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing