We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable, small staff”
Review of La Gula

La Gula
Ranked #31 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitable, small staff”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Taking the last table we found a busy and hospitable small staff. Alas, my shrimp dish was delicious and my partner's fish was a bit dried out. This inconsistency may have been due to just two staff including the hostess/owner and three in the open kitchen.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnniesFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    19
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely, thoughtfully prepared food ... a must try in Zihua!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

La Gula is located on the 2nd floor of a building in the older part of Zihuatanejo. When we went, there was considerable construction on the road, but the restaurant was largely unaffected due to it's 2nd floor spot. It's a small but pretty open-air restaurant, with a very authentic feel. There were kids playing soccer down on the street below, and the vibe was very relaxed and comfortable. The food was fantastic. We started with tortilla soup and the grilled vegetable salad. The tortilla soup was the best rendition of it I've ever had - clear broth with crispy pork skins, over avocado and chile husks - so delicious! The salad was beautiful and great as well. For dinner, we had the mahi mahi in banana leaf and the skirt steak mole. I am still thinking about that steak! It was a bit more 'done' than we asked for, but this wasn't a problem because it was so tender. It was spicy and sweet, the mole perfectly prepared. The mahi was a bit dry, but still tasty. They have a decent wine list, and the service is quiet but friendly. Definitely a different and delicious experience - well worth searching it out!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Fro dinner that is extraordinary go up one flight of stairs to La Gula. I have been here approximately 5 times. The food never disappoints. Good variety of fish and one of the places in town that I order a steak. Let me clairfy about the steak. Zihua is not a place to order steak for two reasons. First, Zihua is an old fishing town, hence order fish of some kind. Second- for some reason almost ALL the cuts of beef are about 1/2 inch thick and cooked until you can use them for the soles of your shoes. Doesn't matter how rare you order it. La Gula is the exception to the rule. You can order yourself a good steak here. One thing- they should change their chairs- small wooden chairs start to grind on you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GregoryOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
219 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Artful and good food, no view”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This "slow food" restaurant excelled in its presentation. The dishes used unique combinations of ingredients - for example - ceviche presented on jicama. The restaurant seats about 50 people. The night we were there , a party of 26 arrived, but it didn't change the tone, noise level (which was very quiet), or atmosphere. There is a full bar and daiquiris and margaritas were very good. While it advertised "slow food", service was appropriate and we didn't feel like we waited too long. We went for Valentine's Day and the mood was appropriate. It is on the second floor, with no handicapped accessibility. This open air restaurant overlooks the street and there is no view except the homes across the street. Dinner for two, including shared appetizer and drinks was around $50.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricy”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our first night in Zihua we went to La Gula (translation "The Glutton") This was a great experience but it took about 3 hrs from start to finish. We were greeted and asked about our drinks...my wife opted for wine and me , the usual cerveza. you are given plenty of time between courses and you have time to converse. Everything is prepared in an open kitchen.
There is no rush by the chefs either. The food was excellent. The waiter was on alone and had several tables going at any given time but he was handling it efficently.
Overall I would say it was a fine dining experience.
The only down side was the prices...ouch. Much more than us senior's usually pay.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gula also viewed

 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Gula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing