We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Wine List Rip-Off”
Review of La Casa Vieja

La Casa Vieja
Ranked #57 of 322 Restaurants in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Great Wine List Rip-Off”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a bad experience at this restaurant a few years ago buy was willing to give it another try. Food is medicore at best - I had chicken and could barely finish half of it. Smothered in some tasteless cheese. Other people in the dining party had the pork chop - it was not cooked through.

But the big problem is the wine list. We were very specific about the wine we wanted from the list and confirmed with the server that would be what we ordered. When the bill came we were charged an additional $150 pesos more than the list stated.

This was the problem the last time we visited this restaurant and obviously they believe in scamming their customers on the wine.

Will never go back here again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    43
    14
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old home atmosphere”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been visiting Casa Vieja for many years and it still has its old Mexico charm.
The food still is good but not quite as good as when they first opened. Pozole Thursdays are worth a visit, as well as, their Sunday brunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Odd mix”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Food was very good, but the shrimp in my soup had pieces of shell still on. One in our group had shrimp on a shish-ka-bob that was over-cooked, almost charred. There was a musician performing, and I have never heard anything quite like a synthesizer-produced Louis Armstrong voice with a Spanish accent. You had to be there!. Wait staff was above average, especially J.R. We would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labamba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Off a main street, this is a great space, tables are not crowded, and lots of tasteful decorations. The piña colada was done well and the tortilla chips are accompanied with a very good salsa and real yummy authentic refried beans. The food was good, and came with a good variety of vegetables. They'll cook the tuna steak to your liking and they have quail. The clientele is mainly expats, the prices are high which reflect the quality of ingredients.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came for lunch and liked it so much that we came back the next day for posole. My first lunch was the tuna brochette with rice and was delicious. The posole was a little spicy for my but my husband loved it. We'll be there again next year!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Vieja also viewed

Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 
Zihuatanejo, Guerrero
 

Been to La Casa Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing