We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good Value, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Ranked #27 of 56 Zihuatanejo B&B and Inns
Riverside California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great location, Good Value, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed at the Solimar Inn for 3 nights, March 28-31, 2010. I did a lot of reading about hotels in Zihuatanejo (including this site) before choosing this hotel. I was traveling with my parents (both had surgery recently) and needed a location with not too many steps, close to restaurants and shopping. After our 3 night stay, I was most happy with our choice to stay at the Solimar Inn. I speak very little Spanish, so it was also helpful to stay at a location where some English was spoken. Edison (the manager) lived in the U.S. for many years, so his English is perfect. This was very helpful, as I have stayed places before, and it can be disappointing when you cannot speak the language, and therefore, are somewhat disappointed with the service/stay.

We took the bus (VW van) from the airport for only 10 pesos for person. The bus we rode actually dropped us off only steps from the hotel. I took another bus to "CENTRO" later in the stay and that route ended a couple blocks and around the corner, but was very close.

Because my parents had recently had surgery, I asked Edison if we could please have rooms on the lowest floor possible. When we arrived he had rooms on the very lowest floor (one flight of stairs up, as there are none on the ground floor), and our rooms were right next to each other. The rooms were quite large, in my opinion. We stayed in the larger G suite, which included one queen sized bed (very low to the ground on concrete), one single bed, and a couch with two large seats (on concrete). This room could have easily accommodated 5 people, as the couch cushions were quite large. All the beds are quite firm, as all except the single bed were on concrete.

The room included an air conditioner. It is set to one temperature and never got as cold as I probably would have liked, but it was pleasant. During the day I closed the curtains when we were out of the room (with the air off) and it was very pleasant when we returned. The refrigerator was set to one temperature also, and it kept everything very COLD. Each room as a small balcony, most overlooking a very small park. This park was generally very quiet, and very pleasant.

We did not use the kitchenette, but there were plates, silverware, glasses, etc. and pans etc. for cooking. The TV had about 40-50 channels... about 10-15 had English speaking stations... CNN I believe and the rest were pretty much just movie channels. I did not watch the TV at all during the stay, as were were busy touring the city.

If staying for a few days I would find an extension cord and adapter helpful...many of the outlets would not accept my cords with the larger prong, and the outlets only have the 2 prongs (rather than the three that most of our appliances have these days).

If you like using wash clothes, I would advise bringing your own...I have found it typical in Mexico to have these not provided in the hotel rooms, so I generally bring my own. Our rooms did not have washclothes.

I originally wished to have an ocean front or ocean view hotel, but was very happy with the Solimar Inn. It was only about 4 blocks from the Municipal Beach, only about 5 minutes walk. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner on the restaurants along the sidewalk next to the beach. The hotel is only about 2 blocks from major banks, and close to markets and stores. All in all I was quite happy with the location, even though it was not on the beach. Playa La Madera (beach) is only about 5 additional minutes further than the walk to the Municipal Beach. Playa La Ropa (beach) is only about 5 minutes by taxi (which is only $5.00 US).

The pool is very small, and we did not use it, but it was always clean. The night security guy closes the front door about 11:00 p.m., and he cleans the pool each night.

As it says on the website, the internet is only available near the pool and front desk. I had to learn where it worked best, but after I figured it out, I was quite happy with it.

All in all, my favorite parts of this small economical hotel are the location close to shopping and the beach, and the fact that English is spoken. The rooms are quite roomy, clean, but would be considered quite budget/plain to a modern US hotel. We were very happy with our stay at the Solimar Inn and would definitely return here on a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bran1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

The fact that most hotels in Zihua are running at about 30% occupancy this year while the Solimar is full says it all. The rooms are large with well-equipped kitchenettes. The market and supermarket are just a few blocks away and there are many restaurants close by. You couldn't ask for more friendly and accommodating staff. There's a pool in a nice courtyard and Playa Madera is a short walk from the hotel. It's easy to see why many guests return year after year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Comfortable, spacious apartments, with that Mexican feel. Great enclosed, private pool, surrounded by small waterways and beautiful plants.

Staff are wonderful, Eddison is a great host, offering a unique inside to Mexican lifestyle. Beaches are in walking distance or a short taxi ride away as are restaurants and bars.

Perfect location, friendly family atmosphere and good accommodation.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

If you are looking for the most wonderful place in beautiful Zihaut, this is it. Great airy bright rooms, gorgeous courtyard filled with luscious plants and inviting pool. Edison, the manager here is most welcoming and is eager to please.
Location is wonderful. There is a fresh food market one block away as well as a local grocery store Stall owners and store employees are very patient with us English speaking tourists They are very patient and helpful. Two more blocks and you are in Centro, with shops restaurants and beaches.

You will not be disappointed when you pick Solimar as your home in Zihuat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This family run business was very accomodating. Including late check out for a 3:00AM flight! We enjoyed having an english speaking contact and everyone else tolerated our learning to speak spanish. Anything we needed they were quick to respond to. We found the location ideal. Next trip with the help of the staff we will be enjoying using the local transportion all the time. We were close to local transport, easy to connect with taxi's. The market and restaurants were close by, and shopping for those who like it was but a couple of blocks away.

Surprise of the trip. When our flight was delayed and we were placed in an all inclusive in Ixtapa for the night, our teenage daughter commented that she was very glad we stayed where we did as she much preferred Hotel Solimar. Two weeks in the all inclusive she said would have driven her crazy!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thechamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We chose Hotel Solimar online. Edison, the owner, is wonderful to work with. This is
a family owned property and much personal attention is given to the guests. Questions?
Just ask , and they'll be answered. Bakery,laundry, and internet within a block. Close to downtown and La Madera beach. Security and locked doors at night. We felt very safe, even walking downtown and to Playa Principal, both day and night. We stayed 3 weeks and our only disappointment was having to leave. Oregon's been cold and wet ever since we got home. The apartment is complete and spacious. Excellent maid service--every day.
Lovely balcony with view to the hills behind and the park below. And one of the best
highlights--very reasonable. The air conditioner was very useful and the bed was
very comfortable. La Madera Beach, open markets, indoor grocery. They're all close to Solimar. A great little hotel in a lovely town--Zihautanejo!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrCAROLYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2009

This was the second time we stayed at Solimar Inn. If you like small and quaint you will love it there. Everyone is so nice. You get to know the other people staying there since there are only 12 units. The pool is a nice gathering place to meet the other guests. Many of the guests are people that return year after year. The location is great. Close to everything. Great restaurants, shops and bakery. The beach is a short walk of about 3 or 4 blocks. And when you are on the beach it is not crowded at all. Edison has all the information you need to get around town and see and do what ever you want. We felt safe at all times where ever we went in Zihuatanejo. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#26 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
48 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#20 of 22 in Ixtapa
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#39 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solimar Inn Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solimar Inn Suites

Property: Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Address: Higos # 4 (Plaza Los Faroles), Zihuatanejo CP40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Solimar Inn Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four levels Mediterranean style building with only 12 comfortable and nicely decorated suites from 430 to 540 square feet (40 to 50 m2) plus terrace area. Suites have bedroom, living-dining room, private bath, kitchenette (optional), air conditioner, fan, phone and cable TV 32"LED. Swimming pool, WiFi. We are considered a "Hotel with Charm". Allow us to give you our personal and friendly attention. We look forward to see you!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Solimar Inn Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing