We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solimar Inn Suites
Nearby Hotels
$143
$121
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa del Sol Resort(Zihuatanejo)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$120
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
$272
$185
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Casa Que Canta(Zihuatanejo)
$445
$432
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
$62
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aura del Mar Hotel(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$110
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
$180
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$328
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalina Beach Resort(Zihuatanejo)(Great Value!)
$48
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
47
13
4
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
13
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe perfect place to stayminute walkbed was very comfortableyear after yearedisonkitchenettetiamexico
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 66 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2009

After spending many years staying in Ixtapa my husband and I decided to stay in Zihua for a change. We stayed at the Hotel Solimar for 11 days starting Feb.10. It is a great hotel tucked into a residential neighborhood. The hotel is a great value and we would stay there again. The suites look out over a small park where there are always birds to enjoy. The rooms are very clean and confortable. We only used the air conditioning twice due to the great breeze that we had both day and night. We did not do alot of cooking but the kitchenette worked out great to cook shirmp that we bought at the local market. The pool was clean and just the right temperature for cooling off from the warm Zihua sun and the pool area is great for relaxing with a good book. Although we did not take a laptop there were several other guests using the WiFi around the pool. The hotel is very safe and secure and I never felt a need to lock up anything as I have in the larger hotels. With only 12 suites you soon make new friends with all of the other guests. Edison the owner is a fantastic host. He will meet your every request and always does so with a smile! Take the time to sit and chat with him as he is very knowledgable about the area and will be able to answer any of your questions about Ixtapa/Zihua or Mexico in general. This is a family owned hotel with everyone living on the property, all are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is easy walking distance to anything you would want in Zihua and if you don't feel up to walking take a bus it is an adventure waiting to be taken. We would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickandDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We picked this place because we had a chance to look it over the year before. It is safe, clean, friendly, and in the best location possible for those who want to be in Zihuat, close to the markets, bakery, laundry, restaurants and beaches. We were able to walk everywhere. Senor Edison and his family are SO HELPFUL with whatever you need. They watch the entrance night and day so your things are very safe. The little pool is great for a cool down right there at the hotel. The rooms are dated but roomy, light, and clean. The two burner stove is adequate and you can rent extra appliances such as coffee makers and blenders. We will come right back here next time we come.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We went to Zihuatanejo on the recommendation of a friend and one of the highlights was staying at the Hotel Solimar. Edison and his family were wonderful hosts -- incredibly helpful and accommodating. The location is good -- we walked easily everywhere we wanted to go -- even Playa La Ropa took only about 20 minutes. When we return, this will be our hotel of choice. It is well-maintained -- clean, comfortable and secure -- at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeALion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We loved the location of this small Mexican Hotel...a delightful walk to the beaches, markets and downtown area. Thanks to Edison and his family we felt welcome and safe. Edison’s excellent English and knowledge about Zihuatanejo was very helpful in answering our many questions. The sparkling pool was a great place to cool down after long walks as well as a nice spot to sit and read. The pool/ garden area was a great spot to share travel information with other likeminded travellers. For being in a city, the hotel is very quiet. The rooms are clean, but basic...keeping in mind this is a Mexican hotel not a 5 star North American hotel. For this we enjoyed our stay and felt it was a good value. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GSCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

I visited Zihuatanejo to film the underwater sealife and I wanted a secure hotel where I knew my camera equipment would be safe. Thanks to Edison and his wonderful family I never worried when I left the equipment in my room. There is always someone watching the front door and the whole family works together to make sure their guests are happy. Unfortunately I do not speak Spanish but fortunately Edison speaks perfect English so communication was no problem. The rooms are quite nice considering the affordable rates. I really like Hotel Solimar Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ritchybra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews