We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation at the Villas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas San Sebastian
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed February 27, 2007

We are three friends who just returned from a great trip to Zihuatanejo. Staying at the Villas San Sebastian was definitely the highlight - and thanks to all the previous reviewers for directing us to this delightful hotel! If you want a beautiful place very close to Playa La Ropa (by far the nicest beach in Zihua) and would rather skip the touristy/all-inclusive feel of the big hotels, this is the place for you. It's also quite affordable, esp since having a kitchen saved us eating out for every meal.

We stayed for a week and though we spent a lot of time at the beach, having adventures in town, and exploring the area, we always delighted in returning to our villa for a siesta in the hammock, to cook or make some yummy frozen drinks in the open air kitchenette, or take a dip in the small but sparkling and never-crowded pool. The owner and staff were extraordinarily helpful and friendly, without being at all intrusive. Mario, Jose, and Feli made our stay wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Highly recommended!

- Diana, Jeannie, and Laura
New York and Boston

p.s. on restaurants and activities in Zihua - we had an old (2003) guidebook with us and there are a few things the book recommended that we definitely wouldn't do again: Los Gatos beach - not good swimming, overpriced food, weird neo-colonial vibe; Coconuts - was much more expensive than guidebook said, total tourist scene and food pretty lousy for the prices; Mercado des Artisans - basically a cruise ship mall with the same trinkets you can get for less (and with less hassling) a few blocks away. We liked going into town, but even though all 3 of us like walking, the walk is not pleasant and taking the bus, which is only 5 pesos and stops right outside the Villas San Sebastian, was definitely the way to go. Things we definitely WOULD do again: Eat pozole at Tamales y Atoles Any; buy fresh fruits, delicious ripe avocados, and all kinds of supplies at the local mercado (the farmer's market, on the other side of town from the tourist market); have sundown cocktails and snacks at Rossy restaurant on the south end of La Ropa (tiritas, a kind of fish-strip ceviche, were tasty and shareable); get on a boat in Zihua to Manzanillo beach for snorkeling.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank dqframey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Villas San Sebastian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2007

We stayed with four family members in late December 2006 and had a wonderful time. We booked into units 2-3, which have 3 bedrooms total. The 2-bedroom unit has a large patio/kitchen area, which we found to be a great gathering place. The rooms were large, clean and well-maintained. The owner, Luis Valle and his assistant Mario couldn't have been more helpful. Luis found us a masseuse that came to the unit and gave private massages on our screened-in porch. Mario gave us excellent restaurant suggestions and was very helpful generally. The condos are located about a 3 minute walk from La Ropa beach, but we also liked the pool area, which we generally had to ourselves. The views are beautiful from the units and taxis were plentiful. We paid $360/night for the 2-bedroom and $270/night for the one-bedroom (Christmas rates). There was daily maid service. We went to Comercial Mexicana (about a 5 minute cab ride) to do our shopping for breakfast and lunch--this is a large Costco-like store with a great selection and a wonderful bakery. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank traveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

I am a travel agent from New Jersey. I have been in the travel industry for fifteen years and have never traveled to Zihuatanejo.
After some research I had decided that I would like to stay at the Villas San Sebastian, and this turned out to be the best choice that I could have made.
San Sebastian is the perfect place for an intimate, personalized, vacation. Mr. Valle was wonderful to work with and Mario who is on his staff could not have been more accommodating or personal. He really took an interest in us and our stay. I was really disappointed when I left because he was not there for us to say good-bye.
The Villas are located on cliff with spectacular views of La Ropa . This hotel stills books the old fashioned way and does not use credit cards, it is such a pleasure to stay at an intimate resort that is not commerical.
My guest and I were very lucky because we spent the first 4 nights in the villas as the only guest. It was like having our own private villa.
As a travel agent I will reccommened the Villas as one of the best hidden secrets of Zihuatanejo. For not only it value but beauty.
Denise D
Wayne, NJ

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

my boyfriend and i just came back from an 8 day stay at villas san sebastian in zihuatanejo. we originally reserved unit #6 (supposedly their smallest room), but because we were there in august (their low season), Luis, the owner of the premises, offered to upgrade our room to unit #1. we lucked out. unit #1 was bigger. but then, all of the villas' rooms have great views of the entire zihuatanejo bay because the villas is situated on a nice hill. each unit also has a kitchen equipped with a fridge and stove ... and a hammock. the small staff at villas san sebastian was really friendly. mario provided us with a list of interesting places to visit and eat shortly after we arrived. when we were there, we were the only people at the villas, so we had the pool all to ourselves. playa la ropa is a short 2 minute walk from the villas. on the way to the beach, we walk pass villa del sol, the much more expensive resort, but without the view. the taxi stand is also close by, so transportation is very convenient. for those who want to try the local bus, the bus stop is just right outside villas san sebastian. my boyfriend and i were really grateful that villas san sebastian has air conditioning, which we used nonstop. all in all, our stay was very pleasant. for the price we paid it was definitely worth it. we couldn't imagine paying twice as much for the same location for a place such as villa del sol.

Stayed: July 2006
6  Thank gmcpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2006

If you love sunsets, sunrises, panaramic bay views, and complete relaxation, this is the place for you. The open-air living area is roomy and the small kitchen has everything you'll need for making coffee, smoothies/cocktails, and simple cooking. The air conditioned bedroom and bathroom are comfortable and just right for napping and reading if it gets too warm in the afternoons. And unit 9 at the top of the property is far enough above the street so it's quiet (we saw the unit next door as well, and it's equally nice.) Luis and Mario were friendly and very accomodating - Mario even offered to take us to Troncones for the same price as a taxi -he speaks excellent English and is quite knowledgable, so it was like having a private tour guide. The pool is pleasant and fine for swimming laps. We loved the location too - a 2-3 minute walk to the beach & restaurants. The local bus stops right outside frequently, as do endless taxis to take you to town (bus only 60 cents, taxi 3.00.) There are definitely lots of stairs, but Jose met us when we arrived and carried our luggage up to #9, and one of the cleaning ladies magically appeared to help us carry several bags of groceries one day. However if anyone has trouble walking (or small mobile children), you should stay on the lowest level.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank modine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stayed at the villas the last week of March 2006. We were two couples who stayed in villa #2. After our flight we were greeted by Mario waiting to check us into the villas. Our 7 night stay was wonderful. We looked out over La Ropa Beach. It was a 5 minute walk to the beach and restaurants. We each had our own room with bath and shared the outdoor kitchen and dining area. Our rooms were very private and we always had the pool area to ourselves. The grounds are very well kept and spotless. The staff was friendly and helpful. Mario took us on a tour of the outlying areas one day...a highlight of our trip. Taxi service came by every 3 minutes or so to take us into town. A small "window" store next door to get some basic food, eggs, tortillas. We felt we were truly in paradise! One reminder...you are spending most of your waking hours outside! How terrific can that be? One note: The villas are on several levels with stairs to climb. The top villas have spectacular views. Ours wasn't that bad though!

6  Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2004

We stayed in villa #9 for 6 terrific nights. Though we found the small staff to be gracious and more than willing to help with whatever we needed, I suppose that if you want constant pampering and sophisticated service, you might be a bit disappointed. But if you're even slightly independent and the idea of a small, well-maintained condo with an unbeatable view that almost allows you to feel like you live there is your idea of the perfect beach accommodation, you'll love this place.
Considering that we could stroll to the 5-star Hotel Villa Del Sol and La Casa Que Canta hotels, as well as a multitude of lower-key restaurants and bars on the nearby Playa La Ropa, the absence of an on-site restaurant or bar was a non-issue. In fact, we loved the fact that we could go grocery shopping in town and then enjoy coffee, breakfast, cocktails and even sandwiched on our beautiful terrace, which came equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, two-burner stove, supply of purefied water and even dishes and flatware. If you don't mind a lot of stairs, villas 8 and 9 appeared to be the most recently constructed and luxurious. They also have the best views.
We'll be back.

16  Thank YorkieFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#38 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arena Suites
Arena Suites
#44 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#42 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas San Sebastian

Address: Blvd Escenico Playa La Ropa | Lot 112, Zihuatanejo 40895, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $73 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villas San Sebastian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive villas and condominiums offer you the perfect accommodation for your vacation getaway. Each is unique in its layout, and tastefully decorated with an authentic Mexican flavor. From our beautiful, convenient setting you can walk to the lovely Playa La Ropa. Or take a seaside stroll into El Centro along the winding Paseo del Pescador. Visit the bustling City Pier or take in the Archeological Museum. Amble through the quaint village of downtown Zihuatanejo, with its colorful old buildings and cobblestone streets, and enjoy the many charming craft and clothing shops, fine jewelry stores and wonderful restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villas San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas San Sebastian Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel San Sebastian
San Sebastian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing