We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Getaway in Zihua!”
Review of Casa Cuitlateca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cuitlateca
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I originally decided to stay at Casa Cuitlateca because of what we read about on Trip Advisor...and let me say, we did not regret our decision one bit. We came for our honeymoon, and were looking to stay at a place that was a bit more low-key than your average resort. We were blown away by the beauty of the facility and surrounding grounds, and the room we stayed in (Guerrero) was spacious and inviting, with a deck overlooking the Zihuatanejo bay. I would definitely recommend it!

Everyone on the staff was excellent, Amador helped make our stay very memorable, and the chefs (especially Elena) were incredibly talented.

Overall we would recommend Casa Cuitlateca to ANYONE, and we would love to come back and stay there in the future ourselves. It is a gem!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a couples retreat for a week. The rooms were spectacular, best bed we've ever slept on including our own. Dinners were always good with careful detail to presentation and service. The infinity pool put the stay over the top. We will return next year and hope to see Amador, hands down the best employee the Casa has! Short walk down to playa la ropa. Don't waste your time thinking about other fancier place, this has it all.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I recently got back from a 4 night 5 day stay in Zihua at Casa Cuitlateca and it was amazing. First things first, call ahead and have the hotel arrange for you to have an operations manager meet you if you need that comfort but since the airport arranges for your taxi and price it's pretty simple and painless. Once we arrived at the hotel we were amazed by the simple quiet beauty. The hotel has 5 rooms and we quickly found out that the entire hotel was only us until Saturday afternoon and we arrived Wednesday morning. So we literally had an entire hotel and staff dedicated to us. The staff is awesome, anything you need they can provide, from drinks to a taxi or recommendations. They chilled our wine for us that we bought in town and made sure to check on us but not interfere with us just lounging and playing cards and poker.

Some of the things I loved, breakfast is included and they have a great selection, the Huevos Rancheros was awesome and so was the Omelet, I had. The pool and view are very relaxing and we spent many hours just looking over the edge and watching the hummingbirds feed in the morning and listening to the ocean. The prime spot is the little cabana next to the pool so claim it if you can because you can lay back and snooze as well as take a dip.

We stayed in the Guerrero Room and had a private huge balcony but honestly never spent any time out there due to mosquitoes. The room was cool and the A/C worked very well, my girlfriend had to get an extra comforter to keep her warm. Overall the hotel is quaint, clean and beautiful. The only thing I wish they would do is get mosquito nets for the balconies and use some bleach on the towels, they are minor complaints though. Our room was always freshly cleaned and spotless within an hour or so after we left for breakfast. The grounds are also immaculate, they really keep the place looking like a green paradise.

Dinner was awesome as well, we spent about half of our time eating out and half eating at the hotel and it's amazing how well 1 woman can cook with no extra help. The food was always fresh, hot and tasty. We had coconut shrimp and red snapper and they were always great.

La Ropa beach is about 10 minutes away on foot and the hardest part is the trip back, you have about 120 steps to go up and some serious hills to climb on the way back from the beach and that is just a fact of having a resort placed on a hillside, you get a good workout but if you are tired, just take a taxi.......also ask how much before you hop in as prices vary but only by 2 or 3 US dollars.

This was a little slice of heaven, the only thing I recommend is bring or go into town and buy lots of Off like those personal Off devices that you can wear or place on your table. Having those would have really made a difference. Overall this place is a little slice of paradise and I don't think you can go wrong.

Room Tip: Guerrero has a great view of the bay and it's a huge space but bring Off if you want to sit outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been to more than 80 countries and Casa Cuitlateca is among the top five hotels I've stayed in. With only five suites، the hotel seems like it belongs just to you when you're a guest. The service is outstanding. The food and drink are wonderful. And the rates are an incredible value in off-season (May، for example)؛ I paid $139 per night for a spectacular suite with a bay view! Just fantastic all around!

Room Tip: During my stay, I had the Guerrero suite one night and the Oaxaca suite one night. The Oaxaca has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We recently returned from a one week stay here and loved everything about it. The hotel is beautiful with great views and a wonderful infinity pool and palapa bed next to it. Very low key and unpretentious, but with great service. Our room (Guerrero) was immaculately clean, large and private with a large shaded private patio with a great view. The bed was so comfortable -loved it. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful, especially Amador and housekeeping and Elena, the chef. All provided excellent service. Breakfast was nice as you had a lot of variety to choose from and could have as little or much as you pleased. Other meals were good also, especially enchiladas verde, tortilla soup and grilled snapper. It was nice to have an on-site restaurant for the times when we didn't want to trek to the beach or into town. There is a mini spa on site and I had a massage and pedicure which were both very good. A nice alternative to the hot tents on the beach and reasonably priced. We found this to be an excellent hotel and a great value and would stay here again if in town. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Guerrero room was very private and quiet with a large, shaded private balcony to escape from the bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdcparunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

we absolutely loved our stay at casa cuitlateca! everyone was very friendly, the hotel was BEAUTIFUL and just like the pictures, and the breakfast each day was delicious! they were incredibly helpful with calling taxis for us - we walked down to play ropa (get ready for a lot of stairs and hills!) and swam in the surf, rode into town for some snacks and shopping, and went to a few nearby restaurants. my favorite part of the trip was lounging under the palapa by the pool, it was incredible. we definitely recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: the room was wonderfully air conditioned (yay!) and we actually had an interior view (michoacan was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

There was roaches in the bathroom. Which means if there are roaches here there are roaches in the kitchen. The towels and bedding are stained. The staff sits in the patio area and has lunch or a pitcher of horchata. Very casually. When I came down for breakfast I was greeted by the cook with the gold/silver in her teeth. She looked at me with such fatigue and hatred. Because she may have thought she would be getting up from her chair she was sitting in. I was determined not to eat breakfast after the morning before when she made us the most disgusting breakfast I have ever seen. Everything technically is reheated in the microwave. They need some better management. Someone who will keep their kitchen stocked with the few things they offer on their menu. There's this weird host I didn't get his name he has a blinking problem. He's creepy. He lounges around you where you can see him while you're eating. The last day we were there we decided to bipass the hustle and grind of the city. We ate there. Once again he was eating his dinnerlike many other times. He didn't bother to get up. He finished his meal. Then he waited on us. We didn't appreciate the nasty food they fed us. That's a good way to upset people. The place has a nice garden, pool, palapa, and room balcony. The service should be better, they should get new cooks, do something about the cracks on the doors, and rotate their bedding and towels. Zihuatanejo isn't too friendly to tourists by the way. All they see is money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
#27 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuitlateca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuitlateca

Address: Camino Escenico Playa La Madera S/N | Colonia La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $1,092 - $1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cuitlateca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cuitlateca has just 5 suites, all stunning, four with private balcony or patio. Our hotel is known best for its intimacy and excellent, personal service. Casa Cuitlateca is the perfect place for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Relax, and let yourself be pampered by our excellent staff. We offer a fabulous ala carte breakfast, free of charge. For your convenience, we have round-the-clock food and beverage service, as well as room service at no extra charge. Come and see why Casa Cuitlateca has the highest rating (97%) on TripAdvisor for all hotels in Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa. This is not by chance. We work hard everyday to make your experience the very best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Cuitlateca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuitlateca Zihuatanejo
Casa Cuitlateca Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing