We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private little piece of paradise”
Review of Casa Cuitlateca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cuitlateca
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We could not have been more amazed by Casa Cuitlateca. They communicated well by email prior to our arrival, had a staff member waiting at the airport to secure us a taxi, and provided the most fantastic service for our entire stay. Amador, Ricardo, and Elena all went above and beyond. Amador helped me practice my Spanish / arranged private transportation to El Refugio de Potosi, Barra de Potosi, and the Xihuacan Museum & Archaeological Site / made a special local "cure" beverage for my husband when he fell ill from bad abalone at a restaurant in Potosi / mixed up some incredible cocktails / and provided great company. Ricardo was also great company and even made us churros from scratch one night because he knew we were craving them. Elena and Silvia, the chefs, create the most wonderful meals in their beautiful little open-air kitchen: tiritas (fish "cooked" in lime juice), mahi-mahi filets, and so much more. The vegetables are all disinfected, so we had the pleasure of eating quite a few salads as well (a rarity in Mexico!). The complimentary breakfast included every morning is so much more than you would expect: as many items as you want from a great menu, including huevos rancheros, waffles, and just about everything in between. As other travelers have mentioned, the location is amazing. The hotel sits high on the hillside overlooking the whole of Zihuatanejo bay. There isn't a better place in the whole area to watch the sun set, and at Casa Cuitlateca, you can watch from your private balcony, from the deck while eating dinner, or even from the fresh-water infinity pool with a cocktail in hand. A variety of local wildlife enhance the experience even more, with encounters ranging from geckos, frogs, and large goldfish to chachalacas, hummingbirds - and even a crab! The hike to and from town is quite steep, but with the amount of decadent food and drink we consumed on this trip, we needed and appreciated the exercise. We had no idea just how wonderful Casa Cuitlateca would be, and it didn't sink in until about the second or third day that we really had found paradise. We were so lucky and can't WAIT to go back. On this visit, we stayed in the Oaxaca room, which we loved, and we look forward to staying in the new Jalisco room next time. Every room is beautiful and well-appointed. You will have everything you could ever need during your time at Casa Cuitlateca. The management should hang onto Amador, Ricardo, and Elena - they are the very best and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: We chose room #5, the Oaxaca. It's situated the highest and has a lovely private balcony for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennyse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Casa Cuitlateca was exactly as we expected: a nice, quiet place, perfect to spend a few days in complete relax. Of course the ideal position between playa madera y playa la ropa allows you to go down to the see or town every time you want, but I think the best is wait for the sunset in the stone swimming pool hanging over the bay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We would have given this a rating of excellent but felt we couldn't for a couple of reasons. The main reason is that our first impression was one of disappointment. We arrived at the airport, looking for our greeter. We didn't see anyone so we gathered our luggage and went outside to wait. And wait. The entire time we were outside we were being pressured by people wanting to sell us a package that included taxi service plus different adventures (snorkeling, etc). We kept telling them we were waiting for someone who was meeting us. Around a half an hour after we went outside we finally called Casa Cuitlateca. Terry, the owner, told my boyfriend that there was a mishap and the person coming to meet us had borrowed a car and then got pulled over by police and wasn't going to be able to pick us up. So we had to get a taxi and make our own way there. I understand that things can happen outside of our control but Terry had our cellphone number and didn't call us to let us know, we had to contact him. It did not create a good first impression. The only other negative thing for us is that we asked for a map, saying we needed it for Monday morning so we could find the cooking school where we had a reservation (giving 2 days notice and reminding them the day before) and we didn't receive one until after we had attended the class.

I would highly recommend this boutique hotel (as long as climbing stairs is not a problem). The location is perfect - close to 3 beaches but set up on a hill so it has a private feel to it. The service was excellent. Like others have said Amador is the best!!! as is Sylvia, Roberto, Elena, and the friendly and capable maids. The food is awesome - love the daily specials as well as the red snapper that melts in your mouth. We tried other restaurants but Casa was our favorite place to dine.

The bar is right by the infinity pool that looks out over an amazing view. During the time we were there temps were in the 90's so the pool was a welcome escape from the heat.

We ended up been shuttled between four of the rooms. This was only because the place is so popular that there was not a single room available for our entire stay (17 days). We enjoyed experiencing the different rooms but by far the Guerrero was our favorite. We would love to go back again someday, and hope to. We did not make a return reservation only because we have a number of other locations on our bucket list.

Terry went way out of his way to arrange for napkins to be hand made for us. My boyfriend loved the napkins at Casa and decided he'd love to have some made with his name on them and take them home. I ended up ordering some as well. Terry went to a lot of trouble to get them made for us and to ensure that we were happy with the end product.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

On arrival I thought it was Shangri La. Perched hi on the mountainside a few minutes away from Zihua this boutique hotel offers every amenity and service you could want. This is a warm friendly and intimate experience. You could simply sign off here with the ambience and charm of the place .The sunsets are a beautiful experience over Margueritas ! Outstanding value and top quality rooms! See you again soon Casa Cuitlateca...my new digs for the next Guitar Fest!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our first visit to this wonderful hotel but definitely not our last. As others have noted, the view and environment are lovely, the artwork and plantings intentional, everywhere you look, your eye rests on something beautiful. Terry and his staff are friendly and attentive but not at all intrusive. Silvia and Elena work wonders in the kitchen, serving up as authentic dishes as you would get in someone's home. I'm still dreaming about the pozole soup. The gala dinner was excellent, but come with an appetite! With breakfast included, it is excellent value.
The hotel is a 5 min. walk to La Ropa beach and is walking distance to everything. Highly, highly recommend this hotel to restore your soul.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cpd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have been to Zihua many times in the last twenty years and have stayed in different hotels, but none better than Casa Cuitlateca. The accommodations are exceptional in every aspect - cleanliness, privacy, comfort, quality, charm and convenience. Zihua visitors no doubt have experienced some or all of these attributes at other hotels. However, what separates Casa Cuitlateca from all of the rest is is the welcoming atmosphere created by Terry and his staff Slyvia, Elena, Amador, Alfredo, Ricardo and Yannick are there 24-7 to provide guests with exceptional, authentic Mexican cuisine and first class service in every respect and they will even help you with your Spanish if it is a little rusty. The location is very conveniently located between Playa La Ropa and down town, both of which are easily reached on foot. Oh, and did I mention that the view is spectacular from the deck where you can enjoy amazing sunsets with your favorite beverages. For first time visitors to seasoned Zihua veterans, you will be totally pleased with you stay. Whenever we arrive and walk across the swinging bridge, we feel like we are home. The best part about your Casa Cuitlateca experience is that you arrive a guest and leave a friend.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZihuaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This boutique hotel really is lovely. As others have stated, the view is spectacular, the rooms beautiful and the service and staff really good. The rooms, food and drinks also were an excellent value. I don't think that the rooms could have been any cleaner! It is a very restful and relaxing place to spend time. I spent a week here, and seldom left the property only going to town twice and out to eat three times. The pool and lounge chairs are a great place to spend time. I met some wonderful people staying there, another one of the highlights of staying at a small hotel like this.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisargold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Tentaciones Hotel
Tentaciones Hotel
#20 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
Hotel Cinco Sentidos
#27 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#29 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#37 of 77 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cuitlateca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuitlateca

Address: Camino Escenico Playa La Madera S/N | Colonia La Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $1,091 - $1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Cuitlateca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cuitlateca has just 5 suites, all stunning, four with private balcony or patio. Our hotel is known best for its intimacy and excellent, personal service. Casa Cuitlateca is the perfect place for couples looking for a romantic getaway. Relax, and let yourself be pampered by our excellent staff. We offer a fabulous ala carte breakfast, free of charge. For your convenience, we have round-the-clock food and beverage service, as well as room service at no extra charge. Come and see why Casa Cuitlateca has the highest rating (97%) on TripAdvisor for all hotels in Zihuatanejo/Ixtapa. This is not by chance. We work hard everyday to make your experience the very best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Cuitlateca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cuitlateca Zihuatanejo
Casa Cuitlateca Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing