We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Special small hotel - great swimming!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arena Suites
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Special small hotel - great swimming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have just returned from our second trip to Zihuatanejo - both times we have stayed at Arena Suites on Madera Beach. It is a tidy, well located small hotel (10 rooms) which is perfect for a lazy week at the beach. The rooms are clean and all are different - we like Unit #10 with its private outside kitchen, living room and deck facing the beach with all day sun and beautiful sunsets and a great view of the harbour. My favourite part of the hotel is its own beach area and chairs and lounges so you are right on the beach - the only other hotel with this feature on this beach is Las Brisas next door. The swimming is wonderful and there are usually smooth waves and no undertow unlike so many other beaches along the west coast.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are private and 9 has a hot tub. 6,7 and 8 are lower down so only have a very few s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank margueriteOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We found Las Arenas using Trip Advisor b/c the reviews were so good, & they were spot on! The price was amazing, the location couldn't have been better, & the staff are kind & professional. Would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Senorasantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Clean rooms with a good air conditioner, a tidy and well looked after little hotel ideal four couples who like to spend a few quiet days in an authentic little town. Jogging along the pretty and quite clean beach in the morning reveals a little fish market in the centre.

Room Tip: Room nr 2 was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this large hotel room. It was great. It had a full kitchen, a bathroom and an area to get ready. It is right on the beach that is gorgeous. It is about a 5 to 10 min walk to Zihuatanejo. I would stay here again. Some of the staff don't know any english.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Portland_OregonKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I were so enchanted by the Arena Suites on our first visit in 2010 that we invited our adult children and their families to accompany us during March break this year. One family with an 8-year-old and 10-year-old took us up on our offer. The Club Madera suite was perfect for them with its two ensuite bedrooms, inside sitting area and kitchen as well as a huge deck/patio, half under cover, with table and chairs, chaise longues and hammock. We grandparents stayed below in #2 with the outdoor kitchen. Here's where we congregated after a day playing on the beach and in the surf. After an always interesting walk into the market along the seawall early in the morning, we were well provisioned to make batch after batch of guacamole and ceviche as well as barbecue meat and fish to satisfy all appetites while the kids swung in the hammock or played card games. Although these units do not have a pool, the broad, shallow beach with its gorgeous warm water and surf manageable enough for young children to use a boogie board invites everyone to swim at all hours of the day. The boogie boarding was a highlight for all three generations as was the snorkelling over at Los Gatos Beach and out at Isla Ixtapa. Thanks so much to Temo, Elizabeth and all the other staff for quickly responding to every request and making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Club Madera, #1, and #2 and #3 are charming with lots of amenities and seem to have been upgraded fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 154943Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012. As mentioned by other travelers, these units are exceptionally clean and well managed. The housecleaning staff goes overboard to make sure your your needs are met and you have everything necessary for an enjoyable stay.
The only negative point about Arena Suites is the number of stairs needed to hit the beach or climb to the street. 98 stairs from beach to street. If you have any walking, climbing, back or knee issues then I suggest you look elsewhere. After two weeks stay i could barely walk to town for dinner. Now that is the good point. Town, Zihuatanejo is only a 5 to 10 minute walk along the beach or down a nearby street recently paved. Once in town you are free to roam about with any walking difficulties. If you plan on going over to La Ropa beach you can either walk or take the local bus. Very easy to do and very close by. Cost is about 50 cent usd. one way...or a dollar round trip.
If you plan on going during January, February, or March I suggest you make reservations early because the units fill up fast or are already prebooked/and paid for from returning guests from last year. Due to this practice that Arena Suites follows it leaves little inventory available to choose from.
Needly to say but these accommendations are very popular with the Canadian and Northern USA guest.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brier, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our third time staying at Arena Suites, aka Bungalows Ley. It was wonderful walking into a clean, furnished room after a long day flying. When making our reservations we requested # 2 again but it was booked. We were quickly encouraged to reserve #10, it has the same amenities, outdoor kitchen and deck, as #2 so agreed to this. The price, location, service and attention to detail is exceptional. The owner, Gladys, has done a wonderful job keeping this "gem" up. Her staff, Temo, Elizabeth, the other maid's and David, the handyman, were always quick to assist in your need. One time David was tending the plants on the deck in front of ours. I was struggling with a burner on the stove, he quickly came and fixed it. When we needed another purified water container Temo was right there to bring it to us. What a wonderful experience waking up each morning, having coffee on our deck, watching the sunrise and greeting these wonderful people as they went about thier jobs, always with a smile. Another plus for us staying here is the walking proximity to town, the beach (who needs a pool?), La Ropa Beach and economical restaurants right in our area. The hustle and bustle of everyday life slows down here. You can sit on your deck, with an ocean view, smell the scents of Mexico and enjoy hearing the crashing of the waves along the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave and Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#42 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Adriana
Casa Adriana
#44 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta de Don Andres
La Quinta de Don Andres
#43 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
#49 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#19 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Suites

Property: Arena Suites
Address: Calle Eva Samano de Lopez Mateos s/n | Playa Madera, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Bungalows Ley)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arena Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Zihuatanejo
Ley Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing