We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, close to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zihuatanejo Centro Hotel
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Creston, B.C.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean, close to beach”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the 2nd year in a row we stayed at this hotel. It is a clean, quiet hotel, right on a quiet beach. Hotel pool is kept clean, staff friendly. We stayed in suite 119 with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and living room. Patio right outside the front door, pool next to suite located on ground level.
Frustrating part is that we had to supply our own knives, none in the kitchen, also no matches to light gas stove but again we brought some with us. We brought wooden spoons, pot and frying pan with lid. Why they won't supply knife or matches I don't know. Would be nice if they put a microwave in the suite, asked last year but didn't happen. We paid $171/night during spring break, so not cheap. Beds hard but again this is only a 2.5 star hotel.
Easy 10 minute walk to down town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonCreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    10
    4
    13
See reviews for
10
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Arrived in Zihuatanejo without a clue where to stay. I was there to Fish so I found the fishing pier first. This hotel is a block and a half away. I would compare it to any motel 6 back in the U.S. It was everything I needed. None of the staff spoke English. The stairs are faster than the elevator. Hotel was clean as was my room. A $6 tip got me extra towels for the 10 days I stayed here. I felt safe leaving my cameras and computer in the room. Taxi's were always available. At about a $100 a night during High Season I felt it was a Decent room for a Decent rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
710 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The name says it all, but its not a hotel for everyone. Since we were only staying for one night we wanted a low priced centrally located hotel . If you need to stay for more than two nights and want full service, beach front access, and rooms with an oceanview then stay away from here. The room was okay, it had a TV, balcony, AC, lock box, clean small swimming pool and helpful staff. My recommendation: if you want a nice clean ocean access hotel stay in nearby Ixtapa.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The Good - can't beat this location for proximity to shopping, restaurants and the municipal beach. You are in the middle of Centro.
The Bad - everything in the room is ancient. Bathrooms are badly in need of major renovation. AC is too noisy to sleep with it on but you'll be too hot with it off. Weekends the noise from the bars can carry on until 5am.
Posted rate is $1050 peso's but the "deluxe" rooms which have a slightly larger TV and a mini fridge can be had for $650.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonic_Muffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zihuatanejo hotels

mt. sterling, ky
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We had been staying at Hotel Celeste for 2 nights at a time but moved because of noise till 5am on Fri/Sat nights. We went looking for an inexpensive hotel that had a/c and small fridge. There were hotels that were cheaper and nicer but did not offer what we were looking for. The hotel is much older. We found the staff very helpful and polite. The hotel does not have all the amenities that the new ones have. We wanted a Hotel in Centro before and after our stay at Pacifica. We love the sights and sounds of Centro and love being close to everything. We felt safe walking around at night and Sunday at the basketball court is an experience to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leftout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We were not very impressed with this hotel. Our room was adequate, clean and comfortable. However, on the weekend it becomes very noisy, various live music venues at a very close proximity. One particularly irksome matter was that we were told our breakfast was included and then we were charged. There was nothing we could do because the member of staff who had told us this was not on shift, also the communication difficulties made it difficult to complain. The location was good and there is a really good internet cafe next door.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kalikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,B.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We booked this hotel thru "Discovery Mexico".The photos they had were 20 years old! We arrived @ the hotel in the early morning after a 14 hour bus ride, expecting the room that we saw in the photo, we got "CRAP" There was mold all around the bathroom, no hot water, very dirty overall, window screen was falling out, & it was not very secure! We had trouble also with getting some kind of reciept! They had our reservation but we still had to haul out our computer, go next door (it was closed) so we had to try to find another place that made copies( it was 7:30 in the morning) & return to the hotel with a copy of our reservation?!! It was all very unfriendly! Needless to say, we only stayed there for 4 HOURS!! Big hassle & they just didn't seem to care or want to care! Stay far away from Zihuatanejo Centro!! The pool was also very, very dirty & murky!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#60 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de la Palma
Hotel Casa de la Palma
#27 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Raul 3 Marias
#71 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Las Salinas
Hotel Las Salinas
#37 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
Hotel ZihuaCaracol
#64 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#13 of 80 in Zihuatanejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zihuatanejo Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zihuatanejo Centro Hotel

Property: Zihuatanejo Centro Hotel
Address: Agustin Ramirez 2, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 80 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zihuatanejo Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Zihuatanejo Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing