We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Mexicana Hotel
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Lovely in almost every way. Beach stunning, food delicious, very clean room and grounds, and the service very good. Only draw back for us was the limited space for a quiet place to relax on the beach. Even getting up at 5:30 am to secure a spot you were still packed in with other people under one palapa. Because my husband and I were there for the quiet this was a small distraction and would honestly be the only reason not to return. The ocean was perfect and we spent a large amount of our time just floating. You simply cannot beat the beach massage. I had 4 in one week! Lucy at Lilly's tent near la perla was an outstanding masseuse.

We had so much fun and were so enchanted with the area, playa la Ropa is a superb beach and we will definitely be returning to the area next winter.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank tph92981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 322 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Service before arrival- not very helpful. Asked if they could provide a cot- they said they couldn't guarantee it and could only confirm when we book in. Asked if they could buy a couple of cartons of soya milk for our son who is allergic to milk. They said it would be a bit difficult and they doubted it would be possible. We asked for the name of a shop which might sell soya milk and the phone number- they told us to call directory enquiries.

On arrival: we had booked a room with sea view and king size bed. We got a room with "garden view"- view of the restaurant roof and other people's balconies when you stepped outside. We were told that the cot (which was available after all) wouldn't fit in a room with king size bed so we would have a room with two doubles, but the beds were about 3/4 of the size of a normal double so we ended up using one each. The cot bed was a small travel cot which we were handed to set up ourselves. No sheets were provided so we had to ask for them.

First impression of the room: hadn't been cleaned properly. A good deal of hair had been left over the floor from the mop. There was a used band aid stuck on the top of the low wall separating the shower from the toilet.
No fridge/mini bar. Aircon took a good couple of hours to effectively cool the room. It was 28 degrees at 9pm at night with Aircon set to 19!
Bathroom door has no lock.
Good sized safe in room but operated with key.

Pools are cleaned and treated regularly

Tours are incredibly overpriced. Interestingly when we lost interest in the tour to el refugio de potosi as it was too expensive, the price started to decrease until it was half the original price we had been quoted! By that time we were put off by the pushiness and the focus on money rather than trying to cater to what we actually wanted. A couple of the prices we were quoted in between were still high because the driver refused to take off the cost of eating for 2 hours at a restaurant which we weren't interested in.

The rooms: we were moved to a different room with a much better view (ie no longer of a roof) half way through our stay. This room had Aircon that worked properly, a bathroom with a lock on the door and the toilet flushed properly.

Internet (wifi) available in communal areas but not in rooms and charged at 30 pesos for 1 hour (continuous) or 100 pesos for 24 hours (you can log in and out at your leisure). Fast connection but it does not reach the majority of the rooms. Our room was near the entrance to the restaurant and we found we could get a connection on one side of our balcony as the Internet access point isat the palapa right byThe Restaurant. There are plugs for pcs but no computers provided by the hotel.

If you are travelling with an infant or toddler you may be interested to know that we were actually able to get reception on our baby monitor at the first table as you enter the restaurant, which meant that we could put our 2 year old to bed and have an unexpectedly leisurely dinner! As we weren't big fans of the food though, after this initial discovery we found a restaurant with better food, got takeaway and ate it on sunbeds by the internet palapa. (see my reviews for restaurant Azucenas and Elvira).

Restaurant- dinner acceptable but a bit pricey. Most dishes around 130-70 some 230 pesos.
Service is very slow and waiters are very hit and miss. Overall the food was very average. We had breakfast included which meant anything listed under the heading Desayuno Americano: hot cakes or waffles; a choice of eggs prepared in a variety of ways (we tried most of them- none of them particularly noteworthy. The huevos a la oaxaquena were quite good although I had to ask for the tortillas. Chilaquilles were very good although if you want eggs or chicken with it there is An extra charge of nearly 60 pesos! Not so much if you translate to pounds but when you consider that you can get a main meal for that much in a non-commercial restaurant, and that the whole breakfast itself including drinks and fruit is charged at £99 it seems quite cheeky.

Don't think we ever got a smile from the waiters in the week we were there even though we had breakfast and often lunch there every day and our 2 year old tried to wave and say hello. :(

If you are travelling with toddlers you should note that even though the hotel knows there are three of you, food for the toddler is not included automatically. They can provide a (small) portion of cornflakes or frosties with milk or chocomilk and some fruit for 41 pesos.

Beautiful big orange sunsets from playa la ropa

One of the waiters told us that summer is off peak here because it gets unbearably hot. January was perfect and it is apparently good until April, although you should try to avoid Semana Santa (Easter bank holiday in Mexico) when a lot of Mexican families hit the beaches and they become very crowded.

Toilet by the restaurant was clean and had soap and hand towels but strangely both toilets had swing doors which you couldn't lock and which didn't really meet when they closed so they left quite a chink. You had to stick your feet out under the door to show the toilet was occupied! There also isn't much leg room so probably not great for anyone who is tall or who has above average length legs! I am 5"7 and my knees nearly touched the doors.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Takora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We, 2 couples, stayed here a week, and totally enjoyed our time there. We had rooms that did not face the ocean, and they were lovely & clean, sound proof, with typical Mexican hard beds. The rooms are very basic....no fridge...but you are not probably going to spend much time in your room. Breakfast was included in our package, and we could pick off the menu, which is extensive for breakfast, with lots of typical Mexican foods. The food was wonderful, and plentiful, the servers were friendly and efficient. The other couple ate dinner here one evening, and it was very good as well.

It was so nice to be right on the beach, with access to palapas and shade, although there was not an abundance of extra loungers, as most people seem to "mark their territory" early. There are 3 pools, one in the front, and they were clean...not overly large, but also not used much.

There are a lot of clients that return year after year, and I can see why...everyone is so friendly, and the atmosphere is very laid back....if you are looking for a party, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank green4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Three girlfriends and I stayed at this quaint hotel in January (we are in our early 30's). Surprisingly, we were the youngest travelers by far! Mostly a middle to older age crowd, which was fine by us as we were looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation, although, we got many dirty looks at first as if, "who are you coming to our territory?" That subsided as the days went on and most people were friendly. Location is great, right on the beach. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had an issue with our air conditioner not working two nights in a row, but within 20 minutes of calling the front desk, someone diligently worked on it until it was fixed, which was appreciated in the 90+ degree heat and humidity! Restaurant was decent. Pool was nice. We took a cab in to town each night for dinner (only about $5 each way total). Overall, a good experience and we would consider coming back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Absjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were forunate in that the first room offered to us was perfect. #1407 has an obstructed ocean view, obstructions being a couple of pillars from adjoining balconies and [palm trees. and overlooked all pools. No extra charge. #1401 also has a partial view, no charge. Hope they will still be available to us next year. I almost hesitate to review good places, not wanting them to be too full to accomodate me!
We found the restaurant to be just OK but could have been our selection off the menu and not always knowing what we were ordering. To be fair, we only ate one breakfast and supper there, the first night & first morning. We did have them cook up our sailfish catch, for a 'catered' party for 6 and it was wonderful!
The walk to town seems daunting the first time out but is actually quite easy. We always left via the steps at the north end of the beach and at the Irma you have several choices of how to proceed. The main road being the least favorable to us. Watch your step, day & night, sidewalk conditions a huge liability! We always taxied back as we were usually carrying something. Never used the bus, this trip, but it was easy & cheap last year when we visited la Ropa for just the day. We spent two weeks at Barra de Potosi last year. Loved both places for differant reasons.
Somehow I missed the lady fruit vendor until the last couple of days. She has fabulous pineapple. Much better than any we had on fruit plates in restaurants. Not sure I would buy the strawberries but felt that anything peeled would be OK.
Always meant to check out the Villas Las Azucenas or Casa Iquana just up the street, thinking they may be cheaper, and allow us to stay longer. Both very close to the beach and all restauants are set up to accomodate you for the day, if consuming. No towel games that way. You can't really blame the hotel for misbehaviour of the guests. The staff has other things to do than time towel placements. We used our loungers extensively and always removed our towels if going to town. We often pointed others who were searching for a spot, to loungers that had been unoccopied despite towels and never saw any confrontations.
Yes the beds are hard. Again, just never got around to asking for a foam topper but they are available. I folded the unneeded polar fleece blanket in three and slept on that, helped alot. And the beds didn't seem hard until the 2nd week. Go figure!
We asked for a left over cooler the first day, a tip we learned on this forum, and had one in our room next time we went in. Bar staff is accomodating for small amounts of ice and sometimes refused our offered tip. We would take them two large ziplock bags and they worked well. Large bags of ice are available close by and only $12 pesos at the Commercial Mexicana.
The comments about slow service, in all restuartants, are relative. If we were in a hurry, such as our last lunch before leaving for the airport, we told the waiter and all was fine. Some travelloers do not know that in Mexico, your check/bill is not brought to you until asked for.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends, unless they are 5 stars snobs and we don't have many friends who are! We met many people there and the vast majority were happy with their choice.
Location, beach front & centre is perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank needshendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel several times many years ago, and have also stayed in Ixtapa and several other places in Mexico, and beyond. You must really define what you want in a vacation before you book anywhere.

This was not an all-inclusive vacation, and does not provide endless activities and entertainment. It is a low rise hotel right on one of the most beautiful beaches in Mexico. When you dress for dinner, you walk to the restaurants next door barefoot in the sand, you sit at the beach surrounded by candlelit lanterns and eat excellent Mexican food - grilled Huachinango (red snapper) ceviche, tortilla soup.

Zhiuatanejo is a traditional Mexican town that sits on a bay, with 4 beaches - one in town, Madera beach which has a seawalk, La Ropa - the largest and most beautiful where our hotel is situated and Las Gatas accessed by water taxi. You can walk into town(20 Minutes & hilly), or take the bus for less than $1.00 or taxi $4.00 (5 min). In town there are beach front restaurants, a huge Mercado (market with fruit/spices/ sandals etc), banks with ABM's including a Scotiabank, lots of shops, pastry shops and a craft market. There are a couple of beautiful carpet shops selling traditional hand made carpets (Ciela Zapoteca).

For dining La Ropa beach has several good restaurants of note Paty's Marimar beside the Villa Mexicana Hotel, with excellent food, great Margaritas, a yoga studio and a spa offering massages and reflexology (app $25/hr) Our hotel provides open air massages as well. I had a great massage for 300 ($25) - well worth it!

The restaurants in town were very good - try the wonderful green posole soup and delightful tamales at Any's, the chile relleno and fish tirita at Lety's across the bridge, or the huevos rancheros at any breakfast spot.
Also excellent as a refreshment order the juices - freshly pureed mango, orange or pineapple. The cold beer served in the bottle with lime is very good as well (Pacifico). There are a cluster of good restaurants before you get into town on calle Adelita just beside the canal. This can be accessed from the seawalk on Madera beach, or by bus heading into town.

The hotel has been updated and now has 3 pools. We always seemed to find a lounger and there is lots of shade from the palapas and palm trees. The rooms facing the ocean and the pool areas are nice - the ground level rooms haves terraces, and the upper level rooms have balconies and are a little more private. The rooms are clean and comfortable. A bottle of water is provided daily, there is a hair blow dryer and TV . There is a safe in the room (refundable deposit required) The hotel has a good restaurant, provides free coffee between 7-8 a.m. (no coffee maker in the room), 2 for 1 happy hour and free wi fi at a circle in the pool area which is a good opportunity to connect with other guests. There were a couple of families with young children, but most of the crowd was the almost retired age group. We met many Canadians/Americans who winter here. La Ropa beach is quiet and informal with no huge high rise hotels. The beach strip is accessed by walking only. I suggest ordering and buying pesos at your bank before you leave home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JZener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our first stay here and we have already reserved for two weeks next January. The rooms are simple, clean and adequate; no furniture other than the mattress. Not a luxury property, but great for the price. Nice towels, could use a few more hangers. As others have said, the beds are hard (no box spring, only the mattress on a cement platform). But you don't spend much time in your room. We purchased a styrofoam cooler for beverages to keep in our room. There should be someway to reuse these, maybe pay for it at the hotel, then get a refund if you turn it in in good condition. We just gave ours to someone who wasn't leaving. The hotel provides you with 1 bottle of water each day. The wi-fi is free in an area between the infinity pool and the restaurant.

I agree with other reviews I've read in regards to trying to get an ocean view room. We were told when we checked in on Monday that we would be put on a list. We happened to find a couple we knew were leaving on Thursday, so we went to the desk and we were told (Tuesday) we could have their room on Thursday. We checked with the desk on Wednesday evening and were assured it was all set for tomorrow. On Thursday morning when we went to the desk, we were told it was booked ahead of time for a wedding and they did not have any ocean view rooms available. It took getting the manager involved for them to give us a different ocean view room. I know that everyone wants an ocean view room, but they really do need to have a fair system to avoid this problem. For next year's reservation, we signed a book and put down actual room numbers we would like to request. We'll see if that does any good. The staff is mostly friendly and helpful, especially Eloisa at the front desk, who gave us her email address to confirm next year's reservation.

The location is absolutely the best! Like everyone has said, the location is absolutely perfect on Playa La Ropa. Every restaurant along the beach has wonderful food. We actually ate dinner at Villa Mexicana's Resturant 3 times! The bacon wrapped shrimp were that good. Happy hour is great with 2 for 1 drinks from 5-7. Perfect for watching the sunset. They do have a problem with people leaving their beach towels on chairs to reserve them, then they sit empty all day and thus have no chairs available for people needing them. If everyone only used the chairs when they actually were there, there would be enough for everyone. The hotel has a statement in the rooms that towels will be removed from chairs, but it's not enforced and there's no deposit required for the towels. The other guests at the hotel are mostly middle aged and friendly Americans and Canadians and most are repeat customers.

You can easily walk the length of the beach. The walk into town is a little bit of a hike on a hot day, but the bus is really cheap (6.5 pesos per person) and only a 2 block walk away. We were able to walk to Playa Las Gatas from the hotel. You go to the left to the end of the beach, onto a dirt path, then on a trail along the shore over rocks; be sure to wear some shoes as it could be slippery and hard on the feet.

A highlight on our last night was releasing 70 baby sea turtles into the ocean at sunset. We were sitting in the restaurant and the manager, Zandra, came and asked us if we would like to help release the turtles. Their nest had been found the previous night by the hotel staff and the turtles were rescued so they could be safely released into the ocean. It was something I will never forget. One week was not enough. I can't wait to come back next year for two weeks.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the extra cost! Be persistent to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#65 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
16 reviews
1 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#40 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
1 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#44 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Paraiso
Hotel Villas Paraiso
#21 of 23 in Ixtapa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mexicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mexicana Hotel

Address: Playa La Ropa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $123 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Mexicana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Mexicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mexicana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing