We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, perfect location and friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 79 Hotels in Zihuatanejo
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hotel Catalina is a GREAT value. The location could not be better, there is a panaramic view of the ocean from just about anywhere at the resort., the restaurant is great and the staff are really friendly and helpful. I would definitley recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anna_KPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 193 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

What a steal! Great rates, super friendly staff, AMAZING location. Again, one of my favorite types of places to go- no need to go further than a short walk up the beach. There's REALLY nice rooms, and there's nice affordable rooms, so you get a great mix of people from all walks of life. The location, views, and landscape are stunning. I'll be back again and again!!!

Room Tip: The more you pay, the more you get. Even the least expensive rooms are nice enough for a travel sno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eiming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My wife and I have traveled to Mexico many times, rarely visiting the same location. Zihuatenejo is my favorite location of all. The Catalina Beach resort is a charming place with excellent views, great location and wonderful staff. I would recommend paying the upgrade to the bungalow's over the Casita's. No A/C in the Casita's and they do not get enough of a breeze in the evening to cool them down. If you don't mind sleeping in the heat, then you won't have any worries. If you are like me and need a cool place to sleep, the A/C rooms are the only way to go. We are very simplistic and don't need much else, so we were happy and new what to expect from reading other Trip Advisor reviews. The rooms are not fancy, but offer a great balcony with chase lounges and hammocks. The higher up the room, the better the view. With the better view comes a lot of stairs, but well worth it to us. The infinity pool, sunset bar and the lobby all have excellent views of LaRopa beach. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly, they were very accommodating when we upgraded to a bungalow for a reasonable fee. Breakfast was great, small selection, but still a great meal to start the day. The location was Awesome! Playa Ropa is the place to stay if you choose Zihuatenejo. The beach is fantastic, gentle surf and water for great swimming. There are many places that line the beach for food and drinks and several fantastic restaurants within walking distance. On the beach, La Perla is a must. Javier is the man to stop and see at this spot. Friendly, great host who usually sits at his spot behind the bar and plays great music playlists to listen to. There are many other beachside spots, this was our favorite. On the road of the Catalina if you walk down the road a short 5 minute walk, you will find several great places to eat. Kau Kan was fantastic with an awesome view. make reservations for the corner table, you won't be dissapointed. il mare, espuma, Puerto del so, are all within a few blocks and all very good. Each of them has great views of the area. If you want a highrise touristy vacation, go to ixtapa. If you want an old school laid back taste of Mexico, Zihuatanejo is the place. LaRopa can't be beat in this area, enjoy!

Room Tip: choose the upgrade to a bungalow or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MnBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We have been staying at the Catalina every November since 1995. Because; the Catalina has the best location on Playa La Ropa (the best beach in Zihuatanejo), the staff are wonderful, the restaurant food excellent and the Sun Set bar the perfect spot to watch the sun set. The hotel is dated but they are slowly updating the amenities without ruining its unique ambience. The Cat is our home away from home! If you can't do stairs it may not be for you but the layout adds to its charm and the exercise is great! Can't wait for Nov 2012.

Room Tip: The upper Linda Vista suites are newer and large, some of the lower casitas have been updated to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Catalina is a resort that can coast on its prime location and beautiful property. The advantages: reasonable rates. private balconies with hammocks and lounge chairs, overlooking the ocean. generous breakfast included in the rate. fridge in the room so you can keep leftovers or your own snacks/drinks/lunch. generous room size. consistently cleaned rooms. friendly accommodating service. The drawbacks: it seems like owners or mgrs have chosen to defer investment in upgrades. examples: threadbare towels and linens; rusted ceiling fans; inadequate room lights consisting of small lamps with bulbs that looked to be from 1950; beach lounge chairs in some disrepair with some cushions looking rather worn, same for the beach umbrellas, a few needed repair.

we had a wonderful visit because of the easy beach access and amazing balcony views. this made up for a lot but folks should be aware of the limitations as well.

NOTE: mgmt should be more clear that all services at the hotel include a tip. you don't need to tip for anything on your own because you are already being charged a gratuity.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank saucyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My 3rd and last stay was before Christmas, 2011. We booked our room thru a travel agent, not the hotel directly, selecting one in the mid price range. The room we were given "the hotel is full and this is all we have for you" was dirty with furniture dating from the 1960's or earlier. Water pressure in the shower (tiles caked with scum) was slim to non existent While the location is wonderful with easy beach access (that is why we keep trying to love this hotel) the views can be iffy. In all our stays here the view has been of vegetation with a bit of ocean thru the trees. We did some exploring and found several small very tidy hotels in the Madera neighborhood with better views at a much better price even during the peak Holiday travel season. If we had not prepaid for the hotel we would have moved since there were vacancies. For the value the short ten minute walk to La Ropa beach is certainly worth it. We are very flexible travelers and do not expect a lot...how much time are you in your room when on a beach vacation...but keep wondering if the other reviewers were at a different Catalina Beach Hotel given the glowing reports.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you move and and question "we are full and this is all we have"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank adventurousUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have been to Zihua 16 or 17 times over the last 25 years. For the last 5 or 6 of them, we have stayed at the Catalina. It has been maintained nicely given how long it has been here and the climate impacts that take their annual toll. The staff are wonderful and extremely helpful. The many stairs between the beach and the road are one of the things we look forward to as a workout in keeping us fit.

The hotel's restaurant (Linda Vista) has great food and service and should be a destination point for dinner for those staying elsewhere in Zihua. It has been hard for us to justify eating out with what is available at the Catalina. We were there over Thanksgiving this year and enjoyed the special T-Day meal that was exquisitely prepared and presented.

We have made a number of friends from the U.S and Canada from these stays, visiting them outside of Zihua as well as annually as we crisscross paths in the November timeframe. After enjoying the beautiful La Ropa beach in the afternoon, we transition to our room via the infinity pool and its great view of the bay. Can't say enough about this experience!

Stan & Maggie

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seamag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#14 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
Hotel Villas Las Azucenas
#38 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villas Miramar
Villas Miramar
#44 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#32 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel J.B.
Hotel J.B.
#65 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach Resort

Address: Calle Playa La Ropa s/n, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zihuatanejo
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Zihuatanejo
Price Range: $66 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Sunsets Are Seen From The Comfort Of Your Hammock ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach Hotel Zihuatanejo
Catalina Beach Zihuatanejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing