We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Las Gatas

Playa Las Gatas
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Las Gatas Kayaking and Snorkeling Tour
Ranked #4 of 59 things to do in Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Nurse Shark Beach" is a fun beach to explore and reachable only by boat.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Visit Franco near the end of the beach . His place has pink umbrellas. Tell him Jeff and Tamara sent you. Have the piña colada and the chempechana. The best!,,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelchickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    173
    101
    32
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Loved this beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited several beaches during our short stay in January 2013, but this one was my personal favorite. It's small, so it could get pretty crowded; however, it wasn't on a Tuesday when we were there. We took a water taxi over at around 10:30 or so. We walked up the beach past several restaurants, enticing customers in with the promise of shade and a free lounge chair. We finally stopped at 3 Coconuts and settled in. As long as you buy some drinks and/or food, you use the chairs and shade for free, so that worked out fine.

Once we were situated, we went out for a snorkel. The Pacific coast isn't great for snorkeling, but we had a good time paddling around the rocks just off the shore. Saw a skate and a number of bright fish - plus got some exercise! Afterwards we had some lunch at the restaurant. Typical beach fare - quesadillas, huachinago, tacos, and cheap beer.

About 3 we'd had enough sun, so walked back to the taxi and rode back to town. A very pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank donco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Such a short water taxi ride away. Beautiful clear warm water. So many restaurants. We always sat and ate at chez Arnoldo which I have also reviewed. For the price of lunch you can sit in one of the lounges with umbrella all day. I believe this would be true of all restaurants. Lots of locals enjoying time with their families. We loved it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful day at the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

On our third of five glorious days in Zihuatanejo, we took the 40 peso/pp boat ride from the pier in El Centro to Playa Las Gatas. The ride is under 10 minutes, the water reasonably calm - we went around 10am to avoid whatever 'crowds' there might be. Fortunately for us (but unfortunately for businesses on the beach) there were few people on a late January Tuesday.

Based on a recommendation to 'find the place with the fuscia colored tablecloths' from another couple at our hotel, we ambled past 10 or so places (each with a guy stationed on the beach, inviting us to 'have a seat, amigos") until reaching Otilia's towards the western end. Franko (he's been mentioned in other reviews) greeted us and was a FANTASTIC host. The guy has been doing this for decades and knows how to treat customers right - there when you need him, not too pushy, great conversation at times - but still he lets you relax and soak in sun and surf all the same.

The lunch and drinks we had were very good (coconut shrimp, fresh toptopos, salsas, cervezas, a ridiculously ornate pina colada (in pineapple)). The sun angles were lovely and the views across the bay were as well. We are not snorkelers, but we enjoyed the warm waters for occasional soaking and splashing - all in all spent about 5 hours here in the most relaxing way.

The only demerit I give (why 4 stars and not 5) is the beach itself is LOADED with coral and sharp rocks, both of which make wading with shoes or sandals a MUST. We met a group of 4 who almost turned around and left on the first boat back to town once they tried going into the water. We were OK, but only after being shown a 'clearer' path, one with alittle more sand than rock. So be prepared...

Otherwise, enjoy the sun, the gentle surf, the uncrowded beach (there were relatively few vendors strolling and hawking their wares) and look for shady palapas and good service such as we found at Otilia's.

¡Salud!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank msubulldog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little beach, lunch at Otillia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Ask for Franko....great waiter. A nice day in the shade or sun, nice for lunch at Otillia. It is almost at the end of the strip of seafood restaurants. Clean bathrooms, shower. Do a little snorkeling...not great but fun. bring water shoes and your mask. You can sit in the water. Very safe for kids too. Mucho quieta! and

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Las Gatas also viewed

 
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo
 

Been to Playa Las Gatas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing