We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed January 29, 2007

This was our second trip to Zihua in January 2007 and stayed in Room 101 of VillaVera Puerto Mio. Contrary to reports, it was a lovely room--large with 2 double beds and a balcony with 2 teak lounge chairs. Everything worked perfectly. The staff could not have been more accomodating. This is the least expensive room in a resort setting and is a good buy. The rooms on floors 2, 3, and 4 are much larger yet--some with sitting rooms and balconies almost as large as the room. There is a mini-bar that you must pay for and no kitchen/cooking facilities in any unit. The grounds are beautiful and the infinity pool is to die for.

This is a small facility (23 rooms, I think) and the restaurant/bar is small too, but adequate. It is 53 steps down to the street to walk into Zihua (about 2/3 mile). If you have mobility problems, this is not the place for you. No elevator and 4 floors. We solved the uphill and stair climb up by walking into Zihua and taking a taxi home (about $4 US)

We would go back in a minute.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank AlaskagirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
107
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Before staying at Villa Vera Peurto Mio, we read the tripadvisor reviews and were hoping that the new management (Club Regina) would mean a positive experience. Unfortunately, the opposite happened.

We've travelled extensively and we've found excellent accomodations and friendly, local service in places that range from inexpensive pensions to luxury boutique hotels. The night before checking into Villa Vera, we stayed across the Zihua bay at Villa Guadalupe for $105/night in the most beautiful room overlooking the ocean. We were surprised that Villa Vera's $250+/night rooms and expecially their customer service paled in comparison (outrstay was a gift from an RCI member).

During our week-long stay, we had to change rooms three times. The first room, #102 had a toilet that wouldn't stop running and the tv was broken. In addition, the room was one of the least desirable in the entire hotel with no view or balcony. We were moved to room #407, which unfortunately is situated right above the water tanks. Since Villa Vera doesn't have water/sewer, the water trucks come several times during the day to fill the tanks (twice at 11:15pm during the 3 nights we were in #407) and their noisy pumps really disrupt the peace. We were told that it's normal for the trucks to arrive late at night - it seems like better water management could alleviate this problem. We then moved to room #401, where the air conditioner didn't work. An electrician was brought in and it finally began working at 10pm, but every time room service came, they'd turn the a/c off, which meant we returned to a room that was in the lower 90s and very uncomfortable.

Others that we talked to had other room problems - busted water pipes that required room changes late at night, inoperable refrigerators, etc. However, there were a few people who really lucked out at Villa Vera - these seemed to be the people who weren't with RCI or Regina, but those who expressed interest in purchasing into the time share. These folks were rewarded with some amazing rooms (those in the #500 numbers), with many thousand square feet each, private pools, 3 balconies, etc. Their experience was quite different from the rest of ours.

In addition to the room problems, the majority of the staff (with the exception of the PR Manager and the Concierge) simply did not seem to care about our experience.

Zihuatanejo is a lovely place and we did have a great time experiencing the local culture and cuisine. I just would strongly recommend against staying at Villa Vera and pick something with more character and an emphasis on customer service (something that's not directly correlated to price).

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank PDXAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

I think the confusion about Villa Vera stems from the fact that it used to be a very large, privately owned property. It was recently bought by Club Regina and the only part open now is the Hacienda style hotel on the hill, directly across from Las Gatas, overlooking the bay. We stayed in room 304, which was lovely. Absolutely no complaints. There is a small pool area and an open air restaurant. We found the staff to be exceptionally helpful.
On our last night, we came back from dinner to find our room lit with tea candles and decorated with flower petals. So thoughtful, and very romantic. Zihua is not Hawaii or Cancun, and Villa Vera is true Zihua; simple, charming, and relaxing.

The cobblestone path behind the hotel that leads into town is a lovely walk. It begins under lush bourganvillas, then about half way down it opens up to views of the marina. There is a good dive shop at the end of the road, then take the bridge over to Fisherman's Walk. Zihua has many great restaurants and lots of shops.

Isla Ixtapa was the best snorkeling, Las Gatas is not far behind (and much closer). Playa La Ropa has all the beach toys, and Playa Larga is remote with HUGE waves and dolphins.
If you go to Playa Larga, get dropped off at Los Ocha restaurant. Good food and people.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank 18lovetotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2006

I wanted to start off by saying that Villa Vera Puerto Mio was a beautiful Hotel! We traded our points from Club Raintree to RCI. RCI Charged me 40,000 points for the week. I went back and looked at the points in the book and they should have only charged me 21,000. I ask about this and RCI said that their was different point systems???? Well others that stayed in the hotel were charged the same amount of points for a larger room with a Deck. I am not complaining about the room just the different standards. However, what a nice time.
The hotel itself is beautiful! Staff is great, We had no bad smells like the previous writer did. We had no bugs or anything else in the room except the lovely flower arrangements. Room was very clean and well maintained. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel or the city. We had a great time. We jogged every morning and that was the time to get out. Everything begins about 10 am. We found nice restaurants, we strongly recommend Sr. Pintos. Steve was a great host and the Banana pie is to die for. Cruise boats did not affect the area much at all. We had several arrive while we were there.
No food problems and no stomach problems.
Go with an open mind and you will have the time of your life. You will meet very nice people at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

What can I say? We loved it.

We had previously been to P.V. and swore we'd never go back to Mexico, but that has all changed since our visit to Zihua. The Villa Vera Puerto Mio Hotel was beautiful. We were in room 402 and everything was perfect other than getting our luggage up the maze of stairs to our room. If stairs are a problem for you I would not recommend staying here as you can't get anywhere around the hotel without climbing numerous flights of stairs. The bed was a bit harder than we are used to but you have to expect things to be different when you are away from home.

One of the downfalls of this hotel is that there are no kitchenettes. Our room did have a small fridge which we emptied out and put our own stuff in and there was no problem with that and NO EXTRA CHARGE for it either, we just put everything back when we were leaving. It would have been nice to even have a toaster and microwave, there certainly was room for it. The restaurant food was great but it was painfully slow, so if you were hungry it seemed even longer until you received your meal, I ordered a club sandwich and it took over an hour to receive it.

The staff that were around during the day were great but at night alot of times they didn't understand english. The pool area was beautiful and we enjoyed sitting by the pool in the evenings having a couple drinks. It is a bit of a remote location and you almost have to take a cab everywhere as there is no bus service to this hotel. You could walk into Zihua as it was mostly downhill and a beautiful walk but walking back was quite a workout, I would recommend a cab. All in all this was a very nice hotel, not that I wouldn't stay there again but I would look for a place that was better located. If peace and quiet and romance is what you are after, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kirababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 26, 2006

The Villa we were given upon our arrival was not worth the one week two bedroom platinum week we had with club regina. It was a two story accommodation. The lower story was virturally unuseable. The balcony was no more than two feet wide. The furnishings were uncomfortable and did not invite one to relax. The CD player did not work. There was no TV nor refrigerator on this level. The upstairs had a magnificent view. However, the bed was set in such a way that you could not read in bed for there was no light. The outside deck was four by six with a foam pad as your place of relaxation.

By comparison the other two villas that we did see were fantastic by comparison. If you go do not take villa 406 but go for 404.

We felt that we were short changed and will be talking with Club Regina about compensation.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2006

We just returned from Zihuatanejo and had so many great experiences I just had to pass them on!
The best had to be Jarocho, a Mexican food & seafood place on the corner of Nicolas Bravo and H. Galeana. Absolutely wonderful seafood and Mexican food with impeccable service and really reasonable prices. That was followed in close second by Los Braseros, a really good taco, grilled meat place on Ejido just past Vincente Guerrero. Lots of locals, really reasonable prices and some good staff who speak english and can explain the menu. Do try the tacos pastor, which are 4 pesos each, about 4" across with the pastor pork, some cilantro and a little piece of grilled pineapple that the taco cook neatly chops off the pineapple skewered on the top of his taco meat. It's just the best way to start a meal or just have a light snack later in the evening.
Since we were staying at the Villa Vera Puerto Mio, we ate at the Altura restuarant which overlooks the pool and in the evening is a very beautiful spot with great food and reasonable prices. It is on top of a large hill overlooking the bay so has great views. It's just a short cab ride from downtown and well worth the effort. Be sure to tell your cabbie "Villa Vera Puerto Mio" One time ours just heard the Puerto Mio part and we ended up at the Marina of the same name but well down the hill from the hotel!
Every place we went was very clean and we observed our servers using very good hygiene while working and we never experienced a bit of stomach discomfort.

Helpful?
21 Thank Henribos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zihuatanejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#1 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Irma
Hotel Irma
#12 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embarc Zihuatanejo
Embarc Zihuatanejo
#11 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
506 reviews
5.3 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
Viceroy Zihuatanejo
#6 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Zihuatanejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Zihuatanejo

Property: WorldMark Zihuatanejo
Address: Paseo del Morro 5 | Col Playa Del Almacen, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico (Formerly Villa Vera Puerto Mio)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Zihuatanejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Zihuatanejo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak in the stunning scenery of Zihuatanejo Bay in Ixtapa, Mexico at WorldMark Zihuatanejo. You'll find paradise in this pacific coast retreat with spacious one-bedroom suites featuring kind-size beds, scenic bay views, private balconies, and wireless Internet access (fee applicable). Escape to Ixtapa pleasures in this intimate seaside hideaway with breathtaking coastal vistas. The resort is situated on 30 tropical acres and offers an outdoor pool, a restaurant and bar with a meal plan option, concierge, room service, laundry facilities, business center, 24-hour front desk and onsite car rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your WorldMark Zihuatanejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Vera Puerto Mio Hotel Zihuatanejo
Hotel Vera Puerto Mio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing